Pokémon Unite - My personal feelings

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

Howdy. This is my first post on the Hive Gaming community. I am very pleased to start writing here. I won't hide, games are an important part of my life. I would like to post my feelings and tips about particular games. Forgive me if I make any mistakes, English is not my native language. Enjoy. :)

Pokémon Unite


Who hasn't played at least one game from the Pokémon universe? Surely your parents at least associate Pikachu and Pokemons. Pokemons are conquering the smartphone gaming market with their games. Today I will describe the newest of them, Pokémon Unite.

It is a MOBA game produced by TiMi Studio Group and released by The Pokémon Company in July 2021. It runs on the Unity engine and was released for smartphones and Nintendo switch. Compared to other mobile MOBA games, I think it is a very polished and interesting production.

Pokemon-Unite.jpg

I have been dealing with MOBA productions for 8 years. It all started with League of Legends, then HOTS and now Dota 2. This type of games captivated me by the rivalry and complex mechanics. I also played other MOBAs on the phone, but none of them suited me, until now....

Pokemon Unite stands out for its nice graphics and stable performance. On my Zenfone 8 with snapdragon 888 there were no problems at all. The classic mode is the 5vs5 mode. Teams score points (pokeballs) to throw into the opponent's basket. Points are earned by killing players or neutral monsters on the map. There are a total of 5 baskets for each team. Characters are divided into attackers, speedsters, all-rounders, defenders and supporter.

I really like the character development during the game. After gaining levels, we can choose the skills that suit us. Each Pokemon has a unique passive ability. Let me give you an example of Pikachu. In the first skill we have a choice of Electro Ball (self tracking skill) or Thunder (typical AoE). I think Electro Ball is more reliable, but Thunder turns out to be better when we take the second skill with stun.

Before the game we choose items and potions for our Pokémon. This allows for different builds for a particular Pokémon depending on the opponents or your own preferences. The X Attack I chose in a match increases my damage output, for an attacker it is an aggressive play. You can also play X speed if you want to play more safe.

Screenshot_20211001-201334928.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-202115861.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-202052318.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-202332311.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-202557257.jpg

If you prefer a dark map, you can set it in the settings.

Screenshot_20211001-202430037.jpg

Gameplay is great. The character and camera controls are very good for a mobile MOBA. The characters seem balanced to me so far. Skills and attacks are cast automatically or can be targeted. There are pings available which make it easy to communicate with players. The game is satisfying to play.

The menu is intuitive and the game gives us a lot of tasks for which we are rewarded. For various currencies we can buy Pokemons, clothes for our avatar, items and more. There are a lot of events and you can quickly get our favorite creatures. They are very diverse and each fulfills some role. For example, defender will be more suitable for defending the basket.

Screenshot_20211001-152135456.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-152154732.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-152140807.jpg

Screenshot_20211001-152222227.jpg

There is a player rating system in the game. If you leave the game then fair-play points are taken away. This is a nice solution to avoid uncool players.

Screenshot_20211001-201308513.jpg

Conclusion

The game is worth attention regardless of whether a person knows pokemons. It is very enjoyable for casual players and tryhards. If you're bored at work or school, it's definitely fun to play a game or two. A match lasts 10 minutes, but there is also a turbo mode that is shorter and has faster gameplay. I haven't described all the modes, but feel free to explore them already in the game. Good luck! :)

Pokemon Unite official site

Sort:  

I need to give it another try, it looked great but I’m really stranger to MOBAs so I was a little overwhelmed at first 😅

It's really worth it, you can learn the mechanics quickly :)

A lot of people seem to be enjoying this. I would probably be all over it on the Switch if I were into MOBA games.

Congratulations @barreloflaughs! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

With all the popularity it's gaining I've read a lot about this game and it's the first time I read that you can choose the dark map if you prefer, I think that's great.

I really hope in the future they will release it on PC, I would love to see how it works there.