Sort:  

Haha I didn't watch your previous video so I got clickbaited and came in thinking you were a Mist stan. I learned about the asset pack thing a while ago and if you follow traditional kickstarter games, this asset pack flip tactic is not a new concept.

I do think the gate is swinging too far the other way though. Asset packs exist for a reason and it's not unethical to use them, only unethical to represent it as something you made yourself. Aesthetics are second to function to most gamers so using asset packs to redirect resources to focus on really strong utility and gameplay features could be a winning strategy. Who cares if someone can clone the look when the gameplay loop is solid?

Your own perception clickbaited you.

I don't see any of these polygon pack games being successful as the market becomes flooded. It's all about longevity for me and my time. Nothing will hold the value of the token or in game assets with unoriginal games.

These packs have been out for years. What's the most popular game out now using polygon packs?

I agree with you but I still think that utility and gameplay trumps aesthetics. Long term value will not be determined by art style. It will be based on the use case. Reusing asset packs doesn't really matter because the core of the problem will be replicated as even games with original art can still be legally copied through fair use law. It's really easy to look at the asset flips and see the flawed logic of these scarcity plays. Developers need to make more compelling reasons to play these games and enhance their intrinsic properties rather than relying on scarcity to pump their extrinsic value.