SHARE YOUR BATTLE Weekly Challenge! LEGIONNAIRE ALVAR

Image made via canva

OVERVIEW

Hello fellow Splinterlands fans, in this post I will talk about legendary card from Chaos Legion neutral monster. I owned this card by buying it at 7 USD at the time. Honestly speaking, I rarely use this card since most of the time I use other monster as tank.

At first, I thought neutral monster is quite great since I could use in any splinter team, but not for Legionnaire Alvar unfortunately, since this card used up to 9 mana to summon. Hence I did not use it that much. But, this card one of the few card that is anti mage tank from neutral team. So, in some rule this card probably gonna my go to card.

In the future, I hope I could use this card more since I saw a great potential in it. It have a wide range of ability to when this card is upgrade. Especially killing big mana monster with one hit because most of it ability are more toward that kind of gameplay. That all for my early insight, happy reading!

ABILITY AND STATS

The stats is quit mediocre for tank with 9 mana. But since it have anti mage ability which is Void armor. It is very useful when a monster have 9 armor plus with 7 hit points. 16 hit point is great to any team especially the one who I could summon at any team because it is from neutral team. Other than hit point, at level 1, not much damage it could offer to team at bronze level. With the help of summoner, it actually make this card better.

  • LEVEL 1
    Void Armor

    Magic attacks hit this Monster's armor before its Health
    source

  • LEVEL 2
    Giant Killer

    Does double damage against targets that cost 10 or more mana
    source

  • LEVEL 3
    Demoralize

    Reduces the Melee attack of all enemy Monsters. It only effected -1 to melee attack with more than 1 melee attack, it cannot be less than 1.
    source

  • LEVEL 4
    Deathblow

    This Monster does 2x damage if their target is the only Monster left on the enemy team
    source

RULES AND STRATEGIES

1. The rule of the match is Aim True (Melee and Ranged attacks always hit their target). Since melee and range attack giving me advantage, I decided to pick team with attack buffing summoner. Either Tarsa or General Sloan.

2. With 21 mana given, I think this is a tight room to work with. So I focus on team that have a lot of attack damage since I do not have a lot of hit point because I have less monster to choose.

3. Although I could not use dragon team, I do not think this give me problem at all. Since I've decided to go with fire or light team.

LINE UP

My team at the bottom part
I am actually surprise that my opponents choose a mage team which is earth team. Although mage is having advantage at that time, it is still a strong team and if I pick monster that is not anti mage I am probably in deep trouble.

TARSA
Tarsa gave +1 melee attack and +1 health. This is a great think since I only use melee monster. I combined melee buff with sneak monster since melee can not miss so I choose Tarsa. Also, I am more comfortable with melee attack monster more than range monster/range team.

LEGIONNAIRE ALVAR
I know that most tank weaknesses is magic attack. So, I pick Alvar since it has Void Armor and make its total hit point to 14 hit points. Which is great, since I know I am gonna struggle with team defense (hit point). With 2 melee attack, 2 speed, 8 armor and 6 hit point, Alvar is one serious tank when correctly pair with the right summoner.

SERPENTINE SPY
I pick Serpentine because of the Opportunity ability and it also dealt 2 melee damage which is great since it also receive attack buff from Tarsa. Serpentine Spy and Tenyii Striker is a one of my favorite duo for the modern format.

TENYII STRIKER
I pick Tenyii because it have great stats which are 2 melee attack, 2 speed and 6 hit points. Sneak ability make the duo even better. It goes hand in hand with my summoner and the match rule so that why I pick this monster.

THE MATCH

I am actually surprise on how fast the match ended since my first thought was it gonna be a long match since it involve a mage a team with a buff. Well, enjoy my GIF below!

ROUND 1



ROUND 2



ROUND 3


WATCH THE FULL MATCH HERE

RESULT

I am happy with result, it propelled me more on the bronze 1 league. At that time I am on 8th win streak.

MY FINAL THOUGHT

DID YOUR STRATEGY WORK?

My strategy work quite well. Because no monster from my team get knock out, I win with dominance. I really important to understand the game rule set to obtained advantage from it.

WHAT WILL YOU TRY DIFFERENTLY NEXT TIME?

Probably with different monster such as Uraeus to replace with Serpentine Spy. So my team will have two Sneak monster, but I do dealing lower damage.

DO YOU LIKE LEGIONNAIRE ALVAR? WHY OR WHY NOT?

Since I did not use Alvar that much, it is hard to tell whether I like it or not. I have more experimental to do with Alvar. For now I will remain neutral like the team element itself.

CREDITS AND RESOURCES

Image

Information

Splinterlands divider by @rqr4

Click here and join me

You and me will get a free card if you use my link!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @captain-barabosa.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks for sharing! - @ashikstd