Project 99 Everquest - The Chessboard In Butcherblock Mountains.

Hi Everyone

In this video I am continuing my journey through classic Everquest on the Project 99 green server.

At the start of the video my Dwarf Cleric is lv 13 with a few kills to go to reach lv 14.
Snapshot_135.png

I have been camped at this undead chessboard in Butcherblock for a long time. Cleric's get a line of undead nuke spells that makes levelling on these guys pretty easy.
Snapshot_137.png

The only real challenge at this level is The Undead King who is lv 15.When we hit lv 14 we will get new spells to make fighting him easy.
Snapshot_138.png
For now I focus on burning down the pawns.
Snapshot_139.png

Snapshot_140.png

Snapshot_141.png

Grinding exp in classic Everquest is a slow process. After a few kills we need to sit down and meditate to restore our mana.

Snapshot_143.png

These undead Rooks give more exp than the pawns.
Snapshot_145.png

I guess this guys class is monk , he comes in hot with a round house kick...
Snapshot_146.png

Killing this Rook gives me enough exp to hit level 14.
Snapshot_147.png

Time to head back to the Clerics Guild in Kaladim to buy our level 14 spells. In classic Everquest we get new spells every 5 levels.
Snapshot_156.png

Expulse Undead is our new undead nuke it does around 90 points of damage which is pretty huge at this level.
Snapshot_149.png

We need to drag our new spells scrolls onto our spell book to learn them.

Snapshot_152.png

Snapshot_153.png

We got our new undead nuke as well as Smite which deals Holy Damage to any enemy type ,Bind Affinity which lets us bind our respawn point wherever we want, Symbol of Tyrnsal which is a hitpoint and armour class buff and healing which heals 100 hp.
Snapshot_155.png

I try casting my new AC and HP buff but it doesn't work , it seems I need a Cats Eye Agate to cast this spell.A very nice touch.
Snapshot_157.png

I need to purchase the Cats Eye Agate from a Gem vendor in Kaladim mines.
Snapshot_158.png

Snapshot_159.png

Heading down the mine I find the gem vendor.
Snapshot_160.png

Snapshot_162.png

I test the new spell out ,it gives me 30 hitponts and 5 AC
Snapshot_164.png

It stacks with my other hp buff which adds another 55 hp.
Snapshot_165.png

Time to head back out of the mine.
Snapshot_166.png

On my way back to the chessboard to try out the new undead nuke some high level players throw some uber buffs on me.This is one of the coolest things about classic Everquest.Players dont need to be grouped with you to buff you , high level buffs make you god like for 45 mins :).
Snapshot_167.png

Back at the chessboard I find my new undead nuke dose huge damage to these zombies.
Snapshot_169.png

Snapshot_170.png

This Rook goes down in record time.
Snapshot_171.png

The Knights are shadowknights that cast a spell called harm touch right at the start of the fight which used to take around 1/3 of my health of and made these guys a bit of a challenge.
Snapshot_173.png

With my high level buffs and new undead nuke these Knights get burned down easily.
Snapshot_174.png

Snapshot_175.png

Now I can finally take on The Undead King.Im not sure what class this guys is ,he's some sort of casters ,maybe a wizard or enchanter?
Snapshot_176.png

The King is the only chessboard Zombie that is higher level than I am , he is lv 15 .I figured this would be a tough fight....
Snapshot_177.png

Snapshot_178.png

But he burned down pretty quickly just like the Knight.
Snapshot_179.png

This spot is good for farming bone chips which can be sold to Necromancers or used to level up new characters by turning them in to the Paladin guild in Kaladim
Snapshot_180.png

With the chessboard cleared I wait for more undead to spawn. I ended up camping this spot all the way to level 17, after that the exp slowed down and it made more sense to travel to the Estate of Unrest in search of higher level undead.
Snapshot_181.png

In the next episode I will show the brutal experience I had when leaving Butcherblock mountain's and trying to cross Dagnors Cauldron to reach the estate of undead.