Valheim - Conan The Troll Slayer!Killing a few troll's in The Black Forest,crafting troll hide armour and upgrading it to lv 2.

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Howdy gamers

These past 2 days I have been putting a lot of hours in on Valheim.

My goal before heading over to the HIVE community server was to be able to craft bronze items and upgrade them which I achieved today.

It was no small task and took many hours of exploring,mining and crafting.

To start working with bronze we need to move from the meadow biome into the Black Forest...

The first time you head into the Black Forest your likely gonna get spooked when you see a huge troll lurking behind the beautiful pine and fir trees.

Killing these trolls provides us with troll hide which we can craft into armour which makes surviving this new biome much easier.

In this video I manage to take out 4 trolls which yields 20 troll hides.Enough to craft a troll hide tunic ,troll hide pants and upgrade both of them to level 2.

So lets dive in...

Conan begins his adventure in the meadows on a beautiful sunny morning...

Snapshot_88.png

My goal here was to find tin and copper deposits in the Black Forest.It didn't take to long to find some tin which appears close to water sources.

Snapshot_90.png

Pretty much as soon as I found the tin,a huge blue troll came wandering out of the forest before I could even equip my mining pick!This was my first time seeing a troll,its pretty startling at first .Its like a scene right out of a fairytale and honestly one of the coolest things I've ever seen in an rpg...

Snapshot_89.png

My first instinct was to run from it as I didn't have any armour on and these guys can one shot you in the early game...Putting some distance between myself and the troll I figure maybe the bow is the way to kill these guys...

Snapshot_91.png

Even with basic arrows and no armour the trolls can be taken out.I hit one with a few arrows and he chased me out of the forest....

Snapshot_92.png

This troll had a tree trunk as a club which does crazy damage,the first troll killed me a few times,thankfully his health doesn't regen and you can wear it down even if you die...

Snapshot_96.png

Snapshot_97.png

Snapshot_98.png

I was curious to see what kind of damage falling a tree on the troll would do so I cut one down near him...

Snapshot_99.png

Snapshot_100.png

This tactic didn't really work and just gave him more time to get close and smash me so I decided to try taking him out with fire arrows....

Snapshot_101.png

This approach seemed the best way to wear him down,the arrows will set him on fire and burn him down over time.After running him around and pelting him with arrows he eventually bit the dust...

Snapshot_102.png

Snapshot_103.png

Snapshot_104.png

Snapshot_105.png

Snapshot_106.png

When the trolls die they turn into a big puff of lovely purple smoke and leave behind 5 hides and some coins...

Snapshot_107.png

Ok so 1 troll down ,on to the next one!This fight started at night.I restocked my fire arrows and lit up the troll and the nighttime forest...

Snapshot_109.png

Snapshot_111.png

Snapshot_113.png

Night turns to day as the fight comes to an end and the troll is on his last legs...
Snapshot_114.png

One last fire arrow ends him and he gives me an evil ,almost demonic stare as he falls...

Snapshot_117.png

Snapshot_116.png

Snapshot_118.png

Another dead troll,another lovely puff of purple smoke and 5 more troll hides!

Snapshot_122.png

Snapshot_121.png

Snapshot_123.png

Snapshot_125.png

With 2 trolls down I now have enough to craft 2 pieces of troll hide armour which will raise my armour class pretty significantly.However I need a tanning rack to do this.You need 20 pieces of leather to make the tanning rack...that's a whole lotta boar hunting...

Snapshot_126.png

Snapshot_127.png

Ok tanning rack build let's make some new armour!

Snapshot_128.png

Snapshot_129.png

Snapshot_131.png

Snapshot_132.png

Lets see how our new gear looks...

Snapshot_133.png

Snapshot_134.png

Ok with our armour class increased its time to head back into the forest,at this point I found it easier to mine copper and tin ore.When you start mining the sound of the pick will attract grey dwarves usually in groups.I crafted the stagbreaker hammer and along with my new armour it had a much easier time in the Black Forest.

I encountered 2 more trolls and felt I should kill them so I have the the hides to upgrade the armour so each piece gives 8 armour rather than 6.

Snapshot_137.png

Snapshot_143.png

Snapshot_144.png

Snapshot_150.png

Snapshot_148.png

Snapshot_147.png

Snapshot_153.png

Snapshot_154.png

You can make a troll hide cap and troll hide cape.I ended up forging a bronze helmet instead of the troll cap and I didnt feel the cape was worth making right away as it costs 10 hides and only gives 1 extra armour at lv 1.

With the 4th dead troll I had 10 extra hides...

Snapshot_158.png

Snapshot_160.png

Snapshot_163.png

Snapshot_164.png

Snapshot_165.png

Snapshot_166.png

Snapshot_168.png

Snapshot_169.png

Snapshot_170.png

Snapshot_171.png

Snapshot_172.png

Before I could upgrade the troll armour I had to upgrade my workbench to level 4, this required creating a forge to create a work bench improvement called an Adze...

Snapshot_174.png

Snapshot_175.png

With the workbench upgraded to lv 4 now we can upgrade our troll gear,woot! :)

Snapshot_176.png

Snapshot_177.png

With the troll hide upgraded and my shiny bronze helm we now have 24 armour class and I'm starting to feel like a real viking.

Snapshot_178.png

I also smelted enough bronze to make a bronze sword and bronze axe but ill talk more about the process of graduating to the bronze era in the next episode :)

Snapshot_179.png

Snapshot_181.png

Snapshot_182.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @celticheartbeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Trolls are so scary in the early game. Once you learn to dodge roll properly or just stay at range with a bow they become rather trivial. Just make sure you never seek shelter in your base when a troll is chasing you! It’ll smash it to bits.