Risk of Rain 2 is an Insane Roguelike

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I wanted to share another roguelike that I recently started to play around with. As of yet, I've only shared roguelikes that I have already pretty much mastered and I felt like that probably greatly misrepresents the genre. To be fair, even once you master a roguelike you can still die in the blink of an eye due to the crazy nature of the genre, but let's look at Risk of Rain 2 today.

You'll probably notice some pretty immediate differences. First of all this game is fully 3D as opposed to the top-down or isometric games that the genre favors. Risk of Rain 2 feels like a constant race against the clock, which also makes it the most fast paced roguelike I've played. You have to balance finding items with getting to the exit of each stage quickly, because throughout your entire run there will be a meter that you can see in the top right which is progressively making the game more and more difficult.

This is actually the furthest I have ever gotten in this game. You'll be able to see just how much the difficulty ramps up over time if you watch the video. I manage to weasel my way out of death a few times, but it finally comes for me in the end. This was a very intense run and perhaps I'll upload another video to make it look easy in the future like I've done with Binding of Isaac, Enter the Gungeon, and Hades. Hope you enjoy and until next time, much love!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Personally I preferred Risk of Rain 1, but I only played 2nd in early access. I saw they did some updates and I should give it another try :D

It's really hard to compare it to the first one honestly. I loved the first one and I really didn't like the second one at first. If you're a fan of roguelikes, my suggestion is just bang your head against it for a couple of hours until it starts to feel like it makes sense and then it starts to get pretty fun, but the learning/skill curve on this one is monstrous. Rougelikes are my favorite genre and I've played just about all of them... I have to say this is definitely one of the hardest I've come across and the learning curve will definitely frustrate a lot of people, but it seems like most people do start to like it after grinding out that initial learning curve.

My all time favorite rogue likes are Enter the gungeon and Necrodancer :D Never got tired of them and still I play them occasionally. I made a Gungeon video last year but I never ended up posting it xD

I bet you would like Space Robinson... I might make a video on it soon. It's different from gungeon but has some similarities. It's a nice charming little roguelike... I think I got 100% in around 25 hours and it didn't feel like it got boring or anything.

I haven't heard of it but it looks fun :D Looking forward to it