Just Cause 3 - DLC's and Bugs

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

My life has a bit of irony in it, mostly because when I was 12 I was one of the people that tried to "Download more RAM", yeah, I was that stupid, and now I'm a Computer Science student, the same goes as bugs in video games, at that age I had a blind eye to every single bug I encountered, every game being "perfect", but now I already have some years of experience in QA department at a game studio, where I realized no game is perfect, maybe just the ones as simple as Tetris or Solitaire.
But sometimes bugs aren't that bad, unless, of course, they are at Cyberpunk level.

DLC

If in the previous game the DLC were only some vehicles or weapons, Just Cause 3 comes around with extra mission, locations and some story that is giving the context of what's happening in Just Cause 4.

Something that all of them have in common is the new cutscenes that differ from the ones in the main game. I'm not really sure if they didn't have the budget for motion capture, or they simply chose this style for other reasons, but the cartoonish scenes are really catchy.
cutscene.png

Sky Fortress

The first DLC have its place after the main story, where an evil company was present on the island the whole time mining Bavarium, being neutral in the fight between the military and the rebels, but killing everyone in their way to obtain the precious stone.
eden.png
A big improvement from the main story is the equipment, from the infinite parachute and wing suit, now you receive a bavarium boosted one, that can take off from the ground, shot bullets and rockets. Seems exaggerated, but this is Just Cause, and take my word, are really useful for this DLC.
video.gif
New type of enemies are also available, like multiple types of drone: attacker, protector, miner; and ground units: Black Hand soldiers with Eden tech and the best of them, this type of tank, which I named "The Cow" because it sounds like one. Also, this is my favorite unit
because it can give you a hard time, the cannon fire killing you almost instantly, but it's also very slow, allowing you to trap the damn thing with tethers.
Allow me to demonstrate:

mecha.png

mecha2.png
Still, I'm not going to say anything about the story, maybe someone reading this will want to play this without the entire story spoiled.

Mech Land Assault

This DLC is mostly taking place on a new small island North of Medici. Here you encounter Mech's, a powerful construction robot designed to manipulate gravity, which the Agency insisted on arming, the usual mistake since most of them "fell in the hands of Black's Hand".

The mech is the best way to obtain Squalo X7, being in the middle of a mountain lake without any garage nearby, you have to carry it to the ocean, being too heavy to use a helicopter, and exploding from damage if you drag it with a tank. Instead, with a mech you can just pick it up and follow the road, hoping that you don't encounter any enemy, just because the mech and the boat shard the damage received, being united in one object by the gravity gun, existing the risk of exploding.

Bavarium Sea Heist


The last DLC is taking place at a set of islands, following yet another battle with Black Hand. The boat in the image, Luchador, is actually the most important vehicle in the DLC, being the most powerful boat in the game with fast rechargeable boost and increase duration, it's the best way to complete the boat challenges. The structure is mostly the same, the mission must be unlocked by conquering certain regions, and completing secondary objectives before starting the main quest.

This DLC also contains the most powerful weapon in the entire game, and when I say powerful I mean stupidly powerful... You're basically Zeus, it's the "I won button".

If you obtain this before completing the story, even the final boss from the main story it's easy. Infinite ammunition, rechargeable, and if that wasn't enough, upgradable.

Bugs

Even through the animals in this game aren't really an important feature, being dropped here and there to give the island a little bit of extra life, the AI behind them isn't that smart, but it's enough for a deer to know how to take a taxi. I'm impressed.

animals.pngride.png

Vehicles are a main part, and you can use them until they explode, right? Well, not this airplane. After I hit a tree and exploded, I didn't die and continue my flight because of the speed until I got to the bottom of the ocean.
look ma no wings.png

Michael Jackson who?

michal jackson.pngmichael.png

And one of the hardest to obtain, I was using the bavarium wingsuit and flied straight into a rock. Nice view through.
under the world.png


Final impression

Overall the game it's a lot of fun, and even if it might feel a bit unfinished at the end, it still has its beauty, besides you only need to conquer certain bases to progress through the story, I'm just one of those persons who want 100%.
The DLC are also worth buying, but I would recommend the XXL Bundle available on Steam instead of taking them one by one, and if $30 are still too much, there are often sales available, which may give you even 1/3 of the price.


Info

Some borrowed images: 1, 2, 3


If you enjoyed what I'm writing, you should also check out: @vladalexan, @enjar

Cheers,
@cm0isa

Sort:  

The cutscenes from the dlcs were indeed weird. I was never sure if it was intentional or if they were just saving money. I accidentally did one of the dlcs early for my gameplay and got the lightning gun. That sort of ruined the rest of the game. Everything just exploded. Had to just stop using it to have a proper experience. Great post mate!

TBH, I loved the eDEN spark, it was just stupidly overpowered enough to feel like it belongs. Hell, you can call nuclear bomb airstrikes near endgame :))

It’s a really fun weapon no doubt! It was just a little silly how you could basically decimate anything without any issues with it. I ended up using it as more as a “can’t be bothered with this” weapon to just blast my way through.

I mean, you can finish the game without using it, but that power, it's tempting. Also, thanks! 😄

I did pull it out every now and then if things got rough. It was quite effective at clearing out whatever might be in the way.

I think it was the best that they didn't included in Just Cause 4.

Congratulations @cm0isa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP