dCity: A First Taste of Culture

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

dcity_bgs_tournament-01.png

It's been two months since I last posted about the goings on in the small town I run in dcity.io.

I've been sticking with my free-to-play strategy, letting my town's popularity attract Immigrants and Homeless while I run Weed Dispensaries to keep every one employed and Job Centers to help them try out new careers. Unfortunately, the Job Centers don't seem to actually work that well. I'm up to three total now, giving my city a supposed 18% chance (when the Jobs tax is on, which it generally is. Otherwise the chance is 9%) to convert an Immigrant or Homeless token into a more useful Citizen. But that can't really be 18% per day?! If so, then over time I should average one training every six days or so, or about five per month. But, so far, over the past few months, I have had five total trained. -- one Worker, two Workers, One Artist, and one Scientist. Those results don't seem to match the odds.

dcity_overview_31-10-20.jpg

You may notice that there are no Scientists shown in this screenshot. That's because decided to see if I could get something back from this game for my time investment, and so I made my first sale, letting a Scientist go for 0.75 Hive. Ideally, I would be able to get to some sort of critical point where I could maintain my growth while having successful Job Center trainings occur on a more regular basis and I could make a little profit from selling my specialized Citizens. I'm not there yet, but it did feel good to have a first step in that direction!

The government has changed hands several times, though I often don't even really notice, anymore. Seems like the damn War Tax is always on (10% and there aren't even any wars in the game!) This is obviously just some sort of political shenanigans to line the pockets of the defense industry at the expense of everyone else! Our most recent Overlord has been keeping overall taxes at around 30%, which is nice for my SIM income.

I do have some exciting news! dCity recently introduced a rather interesting integration with NFTs and art. There are now regular art auctions in-game, where some of the proceeds go back to players who hold Art Galleries. And if you have an Art Gallery, you can also view your collection in-game!

dcity_gallery.jpg

piece shown is my first art creation on Hive!

This is a very cool feature! I love the integration with other services to take advantage on this unique gamespace. I hope to see more things like this in the future. Maybe CryptoBrewmaster can somehow be incorporated with Brewery management!

You can read all about the new art galleries and auctions in the official announcement - https://peakd.com/hive-140217/@dcitygame/dcity-art-update

dcity_dash_31-10-20.jpg

I recently spent my hard earned SIM buying a second Weed Dispensary to give my folks something to do. So now I'm in wait and accumulate mode until I can afford another purchase -- possibly a fourth Job Center? I feel like I've already started down this path so I should continue to see if I can make it work. We'll see.

Anyway, that's all for this update. Thanks for dropping by!

Sort:  

Appreciate the update, it's cool to hear from other small city managers. I'm thinking of starting to share my own experiences with dCity. Totally agree with the percentage chance thing on training. My numbers aren't quite living up to the expected return, and with immigrants/homeless joining the city as well. I thought I was just being abysmally unlucky (as usual). Time will tell!