Hi, I'm new to Hive-Let’s Talk Gaming, 3D Art, NFTs, Crypto & The Metaverse

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Hello Hive Peeps

This is a brief post to introduce myself and to talk a bit about some of the topics that I am interested in and hoping to be talking about in some of my future posts on the Hive blockchain.

Logo 1600x1200.png

As I am sure you have guessed I am Cyber Rascal. I have a very strong interest in where things are going currently when it comes to things like Gaming, NFTs, Digital Art, Virtual Avatars, Digital Fashion, Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and what the Metaverse is or could be in the future. There is so much to discuss and it is a truly great time to be alive!

I have been a gamer and a tech enthusiast since a very young age when I was given my very first games console back in the day. I won’t say exactly how far back as I already feel old enough as it is. Let's just say it was post Space Invaders lol. I absolutely love gaming and building gaming PCs when my time and budget allow but given the recent chip fiasco my budget hasn’t allowed much for a while so when things return back to a semi-affordable state I will definitely be treating myself to a very much needed upgrade which is something that I am looking forward to documenting the building of here.

Over the years I have spent many hours hammering away at most of the titles in the Battlefield series which was a favourite of mine for quite a while but sadly I have lost a lot of interest in that with some of the more recent releases which is a point I'm sure at least some of you will agree with. For me, I felt that it started to go downhill after BF4. I remember the first time that I got to play BF1942 I was absolutely blown away by the fact that I could be driving a vehicle while a buddy was in the back of the same vehicle shooting away with a turret-mounted gun at the enemy. It was a first for me and I was hooked from that point onward.

Since then I have also spent much time playing other titles such as COD, Splinter Cell, PUBG and War Thunder, all of which have brought me much joy. When I'm not busy shooting at stuff I quite enjoy the simulation side of the gaming world. I love a good racing sim like Assetto Corsa or a good flight sim like DCS/Microsoft Flight Sim.

ftb19.jpg

VividLandscape.jpg

My most recent addiction that has been somewhat off and on for the last 8 or so years is Star Citizen the space sim from Roberts Space Industries. Some of you may know of Chris Roberts from the games he produced in the 90s like Wing Commander. Star Citizen has literally been in Alpha for the last 8 years and along with the rest of the Star Citizen community, I am wondering if it will ever manage to make it to the beta designation lol. That being said it has managed to come a very long way in recent years and has now become quite enjoyable to play. I am currently the proud owner of a Constellation Taurus and she is a real beast of a ship, of course, she isn't the biggest or the best ship in the game by far but she is mine.

970977.jpg

The Devs have managed to take the level of detail of the ships and planets in the game well beyond the realms of most others in its category. When you are flying a big ship like this it really feels like you are flying something that’s quite large and amazing. A large amount of the components inside the ships are functional and not just for show which is a really nice touch. You really feel like you own something substantial with these ships too. When you step inside you feel like you are at home. They have also done an incredible job on the design and feel of everything when it comes to the overall experience. If there are any of you out there that are as much of a sci-fi nut as me and are interested in this kind of stuff then I would say it's finally at the stage where it's now worth looking at. This will also be something that I will be sharing a fair amount of content from as there is so much groundbreaking stuff in there that is worth sharing. I would say that it’s very much on another level. Now that the recent 3.17 patch has been released a lot of the most annoying bugs have been fixed. I haven’t had the chance to try it out yet but I will be this weekend and hopefully, I will be able to capture some of that gameplay so I can share it here.

Moving away from the playing of games a bit there is a new journey that I have very recently decided to embark upon and that is to get stuck into learning Unreal Engine. I’m a complete noob when it comes to this area but nonetheless, I decided to download a copy seeing as it’s free and have a go at it to see how far I can get with zero experience. There is a massive amount of free training available thanks to the kind folks at Epic Games so why not. What’s the worst that could possibly happen? Famous last words I know! Now that I have spent some time getting to understand how to use the editor and some of its many features I think I feel confident enough to start sharing my experience along with some of the content from the small group of digital geniuses that have inspired me to get off my backside and give it a go. I’m also hoping that their incredible content and creations will also be as much of an inspiration to others as it was for me as well as be of benefit to anyone else like me who has little to no experience in this area and that is interested in giving it a shot. All I can say is that I have managed to get a lot further with it in the last few weeks than I ever thought possible but I will let you all make up your own minds on my progress in the upcoming posts that I have planned for the not too distant future. Any advice will also be very welcome.

This one is one of the Unreal projects I'm working on at the moment.

WhatsApp Image 2022-04-29 at 2.19.45 PM.jpeg

photo_2022-05-04_10-08-57.jpg

Like many gamers, I also have a very keen interest in crypto and all that comes with it and have done since back when I got stiffed by those lovely people at Mt Gox for more of my hard-earned shekels than I care to think about. We do live and learn that's for sure. I am pleased to say that things have come so far since then that sometimes it's hard to believe just how far. I do honestly believe that it is going to go on and become a very big part of the future and the way we transact whether it be online or in physical shops. When I first started messing around with Bitcoin way back then I really didn't think I would get to see what is often considered the norm now in my lifetime but here we are. Now we are standing on the precipice of what some people like to refer to as the Metaverse. I know there are a lot of mixed opinions of what that is and where it's going but I do like to marvel at the fact that as a race we have actually managed to get this far without blowing ourselves to smithereens although given recent events it's entirely possible that we are now at the smithereens chapter in our story but let's hope that cooler heads do finally manage to prevail so we can all get to see where all this is going to lead and just how bright the future can be.
I will leave it at that for now as I think I have covered enough to give you all an idea of what's to come. If you are interested in following my successes and failures on my journey please give that follow button a much-appreciated press and I will be sure to do the same in return. I look forward to meeting and chatting with you all.

Many Thanks

Cyber Rascal

Sort:  

This is a great introduction post, thank you for sharing! I hope you find joy on Hive and in the community.

Thankyou kindly. I'm very happy to finally be a part of the community.😀

Welcome to this community, here you can share everything you like about videogames, and in other communities like blockchain gaming too, but more focused on NFT games.

Thankyou for the warm welcome. Much appreciated.😀

Welcome!!!

Thankyou. Much appreciated.😀

Welcome cyberrascal42!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @cyberrascal42! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello @cyberrascal42! This is @indayclara from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome to Hive!

We have amazing Communities to explore or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. It would be better if you add a source link to the photos you used if they were taken from other sites. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Loading...