Is God of War Ragnarök a true sequel or just DLC

in Hive Gaminglast year (edited)

God of War Sequel.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

Is it a true sequel❓

Let's get this straight, everyone knows that Ragnarök is an amazing game. There have been numerous 10/10 reviews and it's clear that Sony's Santa Monica Studios have nailed it again.

However, people always find a way to be negative about things. That is why some gamers are expressing their opinion and believe this game to be no more than DLC for 2018's Game of the Year, God of War. Even if Ragnarök is just DLC that was repackaged into a new game, a continuation of one of the best games ever created is not a bad thing at all. However, I believe it to be more than just DLC.

IMG_1663.GIF

In today's video, I will explain why I not only think that God of War Ragnarök could bring home another Game of the Year award but also why this title is worthy of being called a true sequel. I will have some of my gameplay to go along with this, most of which is spoiler free.

IMG_1611.JPG

This is a direct continuation following the end of 2018's God of War. Kratos, Atreus aka Loki, and Mimir gather once again to explore one of the most gorgeous worlds to ever be featured in a video game. This time, their battle is to survive the impending doom of Ragnarök.

In Norse mythology, Ragnarök is a series of events, including a great battle, foretelling the death of numerous great figures (including the gods Odin, Thor, Týr, Freyr, and Loki), natural disasters, and the submersion of the world in water. After these events, the world will rise again, cleansed and fertile, the surviving and returning gods will meet and the world will be repopulated by two human survivors. Source

Fimbulwinter is a prophesied winter event in Midgard. It is a three-year-long period of heavy snow and blizzards which serves as a foreboding occurrence for Ragnarök, the total annihilation of all the Nine Realms.

Some locations return from 2018's God of War, but they usually look totally different and certainly are not just copied and pasted. There are also new realms to explore which were forever locked in the previous title. Not all realms are covered in heavy snow as you might assume. Each realm is affected differently by Fimbulwinter and you can bet there is some insane variety between all of the various realms.

IMG_1614.jpg

I've only visited 4 of the 9 realms so far, but each has had me in awe. Midgard is where Kratos' and Atreus' home is located. Svartalfheim is the home of the dwarves. Alfheim where the light and dark elves are locked in an unending conflict centered around the Temple of Light. I most recently arrived in Ironwood which is a hidden location and the home of the Giants. I still need to visit Niflheim, Jotunheim, Muspelheim, Vanaheim, Helheim, and Asgard. Who knows, maybe the game will surprise me with other locations. I've already experienced what seems like an astral plane of sorts.

There are many returning characters, but also lots of new ones. You may have seen trailers where a rather pudgy and unattractive version of Thor is featured. He is just one of many great inclusions of Norse mythology. This game may be one of the best representations of Norse mythology to ever exist. God of War goes about it in a different way than say Marvel or other movies and tv shows that rely at least somewhat on Norse mythology.

IMG_1613.JPG

Boss battles are just as epic as ever in Ragnarök, but now there are quite a few more mini-boss battles, which also pack a pretty serious punch. There is no shortage of over-the-top cinematic sequences mixed with truly engaging and powerful combat. There are some new additions to the combat which make it even more exciting than before. You even get the chance to fight as more characters than just Kratos himself. For instance, since Atreus is now older, you get the chance to control him. Let's just say his combat is much more fun than you may imagine and they do an amazing job of mixing his bow with some melee.

I'm a mere 10-15 hours into this game so far and it's expected to take anywhere from 40-60 hours to complete it 100%. That's my goal, but it will be a long battle, one that I will surely enjoy every second of.

Another thing to note is that this game can be pretty difficult if you want it to be. I'm talking extremely hard. I'm not the type to enjoy putting myself through such pain, but there are 5 difficulties that give you plenty of options in terms of self-torture. I myself have been swapping between the 2nd and 3rd difficulty, depending on whether or not I get stuck on certain boss battles.

IMG_1609.JPG

I only have a few minor gripes with the game so far. Luckily there are zero major issues and it's pretty great to see a game launch in working condition.

The first negative is that the game launched without a photo mode. The devs have said one is coming in a future patch, but no telling how long that will take. It doesn't make sense to me why there wasn't one at launch considering there was already one in 2018's title.

Secondly, some of the puzzles can be very difficult or tedious, depending on how you look at them. It's always satisfying when you figure out an intricate puzzle, but having to look up a guide on how to finish can be a bit annoying. I've had to do this multiple times already. The game will sometimes give you audio clues that are supposed to hint, but oftentimes that just isn't enough for my poor little human brain.

IMG_1653.JPG

Other than that, I am absolutely enthralled by what Is God of War Ragnarök brings to the table. I find myself attempting to put the game down for a bit, but then I'm drawn right back in by one of the next plot points. I am enjoying the storytelling in this game just as much as the combat and exploration. Everything has been weaved together so perfectly and I think the devs over at Santa Monica Studio may have earned themselves yet another Game of the Year award. The only other serious competitor for that would be Elden Ring, a game that I still haven't even played.

It's hard to say what exactly will end up happening in the story of God of War Ragnarök, but one thing is for sure, I am in it for the long haul. A game like this deserves to be played from start to finish in its entirety. It just isn't that often that a game this polished, gorgeous, and fun to play is released.

IMG_1610.JPG


Have you played any of God of War Ragnarök yet? ❄️🪓

It is a cross-gen game, meaning it is available on PS4 and PS5. I have been playing on PS5 and I can say that the game runs great in performance mode. Personally, I couldn't fathom playing this game in resolution mode, it's just so choppy that way. Another huge benefit of the PS5 version is the inclusion of some pretty cool DualSense features involving the haptics and adaptive triggers.

Leave your comments below and let me know if you think God of War Ragnarök is a true sequel or a mere DLC reshaped into a full-priced game.

Thanks for watching!




Thanks.png

Profile Footer.png

My NFTs: https://inji.com/@daltono/nfts

Daltono Ocean God.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️My YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: Daltono#5080

Sort:  

I think it’s funny that people are saying this game is just a DLC. It is way bigger than so many other AAA games being released. Like you said, it is nice to see a big game like this being released without any issues. So many games nowadays are just dumped onto the market on day one with so many game breaking flaws and it’s nice to play a game without any of those.

Just shows you how dumb some gamers are to say something like that. Hell, just people in general these days just don’t have much common sense.

I’ve not encountered one issue with this game. Most games can’t say that, even months after launch. I’ll wait for somebody to tell me something that’s wrong with this game and once they do I’ll give them a nice slap to the face 🤣

untitled.gif

untitled.gif

 last year  

How on earth is a sequel with 60+ hours of content apparently a "DLC"? 🤔🤣 People. I heard some people complaining because it hasn't really changed from the first game... but it doesn't need to be changed. It's a sequel. Familiar is good. Why break what doesn't need to be fixed?

My partner's been playing it and I've been watching. He's just left Ironwood and has awoken in the wrong home. 😅 We didn't realise there was no photomode in it until he was playing yesterday. There was this one spot and I was just, "You need to take a photo there!!!!" and yerp, no photomode.

People are insane to say this. I maybe could understand why people said that about Spider-Man Miles Morales, but even that one was such a great game with plenty of new additions. People will complain about literally anything.

I’m sure you partner is in love with the game too. This world and story is unlike any other. Hopefully photo mode arrives before I achieve 100%.

I'm not sure which one your showing in the post? is that ironwood? But fuck that view from the top is absolutely frikkin beautiful, I swear I'll pack up my things and go live there! If I could

Ironwood is the very last location in the video when I'm playing as Atreus and with the young girl Angrboða.

I just arrived in Asgard, which isn’t featured in the video… and omg is it the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen. I too would be down to pack up and live there.

I googled, and well it is available on pc by the looks of it!!! I am planning on getting it.. Laughs and it's the graphics or scenery that convinced me 😂😂😂👀

God of War 2018 is on PC, but Ragnarok isn’t and probably won’t be for several years. The God of War that is on PC is 100% worth playing though.

Atreus aka Loki

This is new to me. I didn't know Atreus stands for Loki.
God of War was kind of a fantasy from my childhood as I couldn't afford a console and there was no version available for PC and now that there are two of them available in PC, I don't wish to listen to those negative comments.

I've seen some gameplays already, this game is one of the best in 2022. And still there are some peoples who needs to bring out negative opinions.

This is something we learned towards the end of 2018's God of War. This version of Loki is certainly different than what we've come to expect from the Marvel movies.

I see. And this Loki also looks different than the trickster Loki we've seen in Marvel movies. Thanks for the update.

From what you say it definitely sounds like a new game. Or at least a really good expansion. Like the ones for the Witcher that could be called a new game. In my opinion DLC would be just some new armor or something like that. But I guess some people are never happy that is why they call it dlc.

I don't see how anybody could confuse this game as dlc. Maybe they just haven't played it long enough. It continues to get better and better. I'm mind blown by how much I love it.

 last year  

I am very interested in this kind of games, they always mark a before and after.

wao esta muy interesante este tipo de juegos siempre marcan un antes y un despues.

This is one of the most consistently great franchises in gaming.

 last year  

Coincidentally yesterday I was arguing with some stupid people on Facebook who were saying that this game is DLC. Most of the time, the people who say this are the same people who don't have a console and just repeat things people say in 20 second videos, total. I watched an entire walkthrough of Ragnarok (I did the same with the prequel at the time) and this is for sure one of the best games of this year. I'd say this year's GOTY goes to Elden or Ragnarok :)

I thought that most comments like this were either trolls or absolutely idiots.

GOTY is definitely going to be between Elden Ring and Ragnarok.

 last year  

Even though I haven't even been able to play the first GOW for PS4 (and for that matter, only had played a bit of the first trilogy's first game and Chains of Olympus), its hard to deny how much so many people have been invested in this completely new take on the franchise, and then bringing some more with all the Nordic Mythology stuff.

I've seen those complains about "this is just DLC" as well...but honestly this is still far more impressive than a lot of games that would definitely take pride in being just extra or reskinned content for sequels. And for that matter, many games from the past decades have also done stuff like that, so even I have to say that it isn't exactly a "bad" thing that these cases happen to truly be DLC; as long as the quality is great and there's that much enough content to play if it has to stand for a full game.

I feel disconnected from these kind of news often simply because I haven't really had any opportunity to be anywhere close to hardware powerful to run these (or the newest consoles), but its great to hear that this was a very great game to invest your time with :)

I understand that it is difficult for average or older hardware to run these new games. Hopefully watching gameplay videos is enough to make up for being unable to play the games you may wish to.

God of War is certainly one of the most memorable gaming franchises.

I heard of talking heads, but this guy is cool..

image.png

Kratos looks like he could do a few pullups..

the bear battle is still stands out to me.

Hulk KRATOS SMASH!!!

Mimir the head is one of my favorite characters in the game.

I think people are doing it on purpose now. This is one of the most likely games to win the game of the year award and it has great graphics and incredibly beautiful gameplay. If a gamer doesn't like this game, what game can they like?

It does seem intentional, most likely just for views. I haven't seen anybody say they don't like it, but the naysayers always think of some random stuff to be negative about.

100% love ur vids 🔥 Ragnarok looks amazing, so hype for ragnarok 👍

Thank you. I think this is probably one of my better gaming videos. Maybe I should start writing a script before I record more often.

I'm currently playing the 2018 game and I think it's wonderful, Ragnarök looks great and it doesn't look like a DLCs to me, for what I have read it is a more polish sequel as GOW2 was compared to the original 2005 game.

2018's game was such a fun time. It took me a little over 40 hours to complete everything in that one.

It feels like a safe bet, it improves some concepts of their first game but overall is really conservative, I don't think that this is a bad thing btw

I think that staying as close as possible to the previous game’s formula was the best decision. It did well for a reason.

 last year  

They're definitely doing a fantastic job with these God of War. Its always good to see Kratos fight off the giant creatures.

I used to not care much about God of War, but now it is one of my favorite games to play. This is the best yet.

there will always be those who don't like it but it seems like a great game to enjoy it

it has nothing special that it is a continuation of a previous game yes it is great it must be said

Very happy to playing this game


~~~ embed:1591780469271846914 twitter metadata:MTcyOTI4Mzg1fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzE3MjkyODM4NS9zdGF0dXMvMTU5MTc4MDQ2OTI3MTg0NjkxNHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daltono, @karlex77 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

The game does look badass man that's for sure. One of these days I might end up playing it but I can definitely appreciate the different things you mentioned like getting to play as a secondary character, being a good benefit to the game!