You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rose-tinted memories - are older games really better?

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

I started playing games on an Atari 2600 but my favorite platform was probably my Commodore 64 and later my DOS based PC. I loved my NES, Super NES, TurboGrafx-16, Gamecube and Dreamcast as well. After that, I started losing interest in modern games. I think it is because most of my favorite gaming genres have died (well, they live on in the Indie world but not in AAA titles).

Where are the turn-based RPGs and strategy games (Ultima, D&D Gold Box series, Baldur's Gate)? How about the spaceflight exploration/combat games (I still want a remake or sequel to the X-Wing series of games)? How about the quirky unique titles like Worms and Lemmings? I love games from a pretty wide time period playing contemporary games from about 1983 until 200X. After that, it really started to taper off for me. Almost everything looks and feels like an FPS these days which was never my favorite genre (though I had a blast with he original Doom and later Timesplitters). I'll be honest, I've kind of stopped paying attention over the last decade or so, so maybe it has gotten better.

It's was just hard to get excited when it seemed like every major game is an FPS with more or less RPG elements. As far as modern games, I still play the latest Mario Kart and some Pokemon Go. There might be some modern driving games I would like but even those don't seem as common anymore.

I think certain genres have improved over time but I think others have just been left behind almost completely. And as has already been mentioned, i have almost 0 interest in a game as a service. I did play a couple of MMORPGs when they first became popular (it was Dark Age of Camelot and Star Wars Galaxies for me). I enjoyed them both but since I have limited time to play and may play a lot one month and none the next so a subscription based game is not ideal. Plus they both went away in pretty short order leaving me to feel that time invested is just wasted.

Having said all that, there is a wealth of independent games out there these days that cover pretty much any genre I mentioned. It's really just the mainstream AAA titles that have completely lost my interest.

Sort:  

I'd love to see a post from you about your history with platforms in detail!

Having said all that, there is a wealth of independent games out there these days that cover pretty much any genre I mentioned. It's really just the mainstream AAA titles that have completely lost my interest.

Exactly. The industry has matured. Like with movies, books, TV series, and pretty much all media, capitalism means that the mainstream stuff is rarely the best. It's the independent arena where you find quality, and the independent game industry is thriving. I agree that most mainstream AAA titles are pretty formulaic, but then again, you have a fair few high quality AAA titles as well.