Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice - My Worst Enemy: General Tenzen Yamauchi

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

As you can see from my profile picture and previous posts, I love the Dark Souls video game series. My fascination with Fromsoftware's games has grown even more with Elden Ring's truly brilliant debut. I've played all the games released by Fromsoftware, except for Bloodborne, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, Elden Ring, and Demon's Souls. I really love Elden Ring and I watch every video about the game with great admiration but I won't buy the game because I don't have time to spare for Elden Ring, rather I'm forcing myself not to buy the game because if I start Elden Ring I'll probably be fired from my job xD. I thought to myself and said, "If I don't have time for Elden Ring, why don't I give Sekiro a chance?"


In-game Screenshot

Yes, as you can guess, I started playing Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice. Many people who played Sekiro said that Sekiro is a much easier and faster game compared to Dark Souls games. Normally, I don't watch the gameplay videos of the games I think of playing because I'm afraid of spoilers, but I don't do this for Fromsoftware games because it is very difficult to understand the story flow they add to the games anyway, I can only learn the story by combining the Item descriptions and the additional information shared on the Wikipedia pages of the games. That's why I'm not afraid to watch gameplay videos of Fromsoftware games because I don't understand the story anyway. When I want to learn the story, I watch the videos of those who produce content on the stories of the games on YouTube, so why should I bother when there are people who are trying to learn the story for me? xD.


In-game Screenshot

Yes, that day came and I finally started playing Sekiro, I had a little difficulty against the first enemies because the game did not give any shield to our character, we both attack and defend ourselves with our sword. I can say that the fighting mechanics in the game are actually built on backstab, stealth, and parry. So, I don't know, a bit of a weird experience for someone who's played Dark Souls for years, at least if I had a useless shield, I would at least feel comfortable looking at my shield but no, they gave me a sword, just a sword and no other sword in the game. This sword is our only weapon in the whole game. Basic Dark Souls mechanics such as armors, weapons, miracles, and character stat distribution are not available in Sekiro. According to my first impressions, it is almost impossible to progress in the game without using the Stealth mechanic, so I definitely recommend using Stealth.


In-game Screenshot

If you say "I am a super crazy pro player", you can kill the enemies with parry. But if you ask me, it's a risky method because there are enemies with rifles and it's really hard to defend against them. Since I'm just starting the game, I haven't encountered many bosses in the game, but I've heard that most players quit the game in Chained Ogre miniboss fight.


Chained Ogre

After progressing a bit in the game, I finally reached Chained Ogre. Actually, it wasn't as hard as they said, but there is an enemy behind the boss right next to it, and I normally didn't notice this enemy when I first played, and Chained Ogre threw me off the cliff while I was trying to kill the enemy xD.


Cool looking goddamn General Tenzen Yamauchi

After about 10-15 tries, I killed the Chained Ogre, and, while I was flying with the grappling hook with the happiness of having killed him, General Tenzen Yamauchi, a.k.a. the most annoying miniboss of the game, suddenly appeared in front of me. Man, damn it, I spent a goddamn month trying to kill this damn creature. I've watched all the videos and tricks about this damn boss on YouTube but still couldn't kill this damn boss. I had to calm myself down so I wouldn't throw the gamepad at the wall.


In-game Screenshot

(in the screenshot you can see the skill i chose instead of Mikiri Counter.)

I researched for days and found out that I need to unlock Mikiri Counter skill to kill this damn boss but I gave all my skill points to different skills and I didn't have enough skill points to unlock Mikiri Counter, big BRUUHHHHHHH. After learning this information, I really thought of deleting my game save and starting the game from scratch because players were saying that it is very, very difficult to kill the boss without Mikiri Counter. I'm already new to Sekiro and haven't quite gotten used to it yet, and after reading these comments, I lost my confidence and opened the game to actually delete my save.


In-game screenshot and real boss & a loser ;)

I don't know what happened, but when I was about to delete the save, I entered the game and SMASHED the goddamn General Tenzen Yamauchi on my first try!!!


In-game screenshot

Yes, General Tenzen Yamauchi now knows who the real boss is (after 80-90 deaths xD). I love the sense of accomplishment that the Souls games feel after killing a boss. Damn it, man! General Tenzen Yamauchi was the toughest enemy I've ever faced and what really scares me is that it's a miniboss, I haven't even faced a boss fight yet! I really don't understand the players who say "Sekiro is easier than Dark Souls games, it's a lot of fun eheheh."


In-game screenshot sneak 100

After smashing the stupid general, this giant snake bothered me. I hid and waited for him to go, but he chose to die. I think this little snake wants to play some games, I'll give him what he wants.


In-game screenshot

And now the little snake has found out who the boss is. It's a shame he lost an eye in exchange for this information. I hope the next enemies learn from what happened to the poor general and the little snake, and they don't come against me.

For now, we've come to the end of my Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice story because I've played the game up to this point. As I continue the game, I will share new posts about Sekiro.

I really had a lot of fun preparing this post, I hope you have fun reading it too. :) I'm so glad you read my post, thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Sekiro was such a fantastic game! Definitely hard as nails, probably the hardest FromSoftware game I've played, but truly memorable. I hope you enjoy it and thanks for sharing!!

I really liked the game. I loved the art design, the boss designs, and the Ashina map. I like hard games like Dark Souls but Sekiro seems a bit too hard but that's not a problem, I think I'll get over it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about my post! :)

 2 years ago (edited) 

I beat Elden ring in148 hours but it seems that I'll probably need more to finish this game... its beautiful nonetheless.

I recommend you to play Sekiro. A completely different experience from other FromSoftware games.