Exploring Fallout 4: extra-dimensional sewers in Maxwell's World lead me to a massive room with hostile giant faces!

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

So far my journey into Maxwell's World has been a positive one. I have only encountered a few non-game-breaking bugs, and it has been a fun experience so far. Today, I will share the latest mission I did in this mod and it was so complicated that I was forced to look for a solution on Youtube, this level of difficulty was probably the result of an almost game-breaking bug.

Screenshot (805).png

This ghostly park as you can see is very picturesque but some parts of it feel empty. You can find a lot of enemies while walking around but not everywhere. Maybe this was done on purpose to allow players to easily preserve ammo and health resources but sometimes it feels like an incomplete work.

Screenshot (806).png

I found another haunted park attraction as I did in my previous gameplay and it was a fun battle. The fact this mod adds new enemies and weapons makes it even more intriguing.

Screenshot (807).png

As you can see in the stairs on the left side of the screen, the constant fog might be exaggerated but it certainly helps maintain the ghostly aspect.

Screenshot (809).png

The exaggerated fog effect can be more clearly see in this picture. If there is fog in the ground why not in the first steps of the stairs? I also noticed there is no sun in this place.

Screenshot (810).png

I am sure this park attraction was super fun back in the good times. But now after every turn, I am worried about encountering a new enemy.

Screenshot (811).png

This is how the park looks like from above. The rendering is acceptable but the lighting could be much better.

Screenshot (812).png

I had no idea what to encounter once I was inside this building because this mod can surprise you in every mission.

Screenshot (813).png

I found myself in this sewer-like water system which made me expect a new type of maritime enemy. This didn't happen though.

Screenshot (814).png

In some parts, I felt like going down through a toilet.

Screenshot (815).png

The water can be seen going upwards instead of downwards which means this place is outside the law of physics.

Screenshot 816.png

Finding the right way in this sewer-like system wasn't an easy task, but I knew I had to found something important after discovering faces like this one. There are very similar to the faces of the Dwarven Centurions from Skyrim.

Screenshot 817.png

When I saw one of these faces for the first time I thought it was going to speak to me but nope, they were just there like statues. And by the way, putting faces in a place like this is very strange, this is certainly the work of some type of supernatural force.

Screenshot 818.png

Here we can see different water streams going in different directions.

Screenshot 819.png

I also saw several frozen fishes when looking to the sides. The sewer-like system has several turns and it doesn't indicate you which way to go, but there are also some blocked paths.

Screenshot 820.png

The explanation behind these frozen animals and the different water streams weren't given.

Screenshot (821).png

I found what appeared to be like a way out but it turned out to be the wrong one and probably the result of another bug. It was like seeing the world from outside of it. Really strange.

Screenshot 822.png

I was able to move a bit but I was unable to interact with anything and also unable to go back. This was like being trapped in some type of extra-dimensional limbo.

Screenshot (823).png

The code used for this place must have been the one used in the ghostly highway, which in turn was the one used by the original game in a mission where you go inside the mind of a character. That's why we can see neurons all around.

Screenshot (824).png

I had to load a previous save because I was unable to come back from the limbo. I took another path and I quickly find a very macabre sighting.

Screenshot (825).png

This is another blocked pathway with frozen animals looking very scary with those intimidating teeth.

Screenshot (826).png

There were even toys in some blocked paths.

Screenshot (829).png

After trying to figure out the correct path in this strange sewer-like system I finally found the correct way out. These are the same faces I saw before with the red lighting and now they are throwing fire through their mouths.

Screenshot (830).png

This place is absolutely crazy. Check how the map looks like, it has a ship in it!

Screenshot (831).png

I really don't understand what is the nature of this place. The only thing I know is that Maxwell's World is in another dimension/reality, and this particular place is even more paranormal.

Screenshot (832).png

There were a bunch of faces and falling down was a constant risk. I needed to walk carefully and avoid the fire.

Screenshot (833).png

It was like a labyrinth but with tubes and all sort of things were floating around.

Screenshot (836).png

When I realized the magnitude of this place, it was clear to me this must be a extremely important place and that whatever came after this would be even more challenging.

Screenshot (837).png

Doing those turns was riskier than what it appeared to be. I fall to the abyss like 3 or 4 times :]

Screenshot (838).png

In this part there were 4 faces in a matter of just a few meters throwing their fire!

Screenshot (839).png

I was able to take a quick screenshot after one of my many falls.

Screenshot (840).png

This part of the world didn't render properly but that is understandable since this is a mod. Or maybe this look was done intentionally by the mod's developer, I am not sure.

Screenshot (841).png

After I was able to finally beat that part of the mission, I found myself in this cascade-like tunnel that will take me to a very special room.

Screenshot 842.png

This cascade was also extremely weird because it first felt like going down but when you came out of the water, it turns out you were going up! You can see my companion trying to get away from the water tank in the following picture.

Screenshot (843).png

After a lengthy journey I finally reached this room. The one where the objective was located. There were 5 giant faces in total. 2 on each side of the room and the main one in the front. The 4 faces on the sides thrown fire just like the face in the previous part of the mission.

Screenshot (844).png

The main face however, was much more dangerous. It had a unique shot and it was able to locate you and shoot straight to your position. There were some levers that I could move and eventually I realized these levers could open the door above the main face in the room. Behind that door is where the objective is located.

The only problem was that I was unable to actually reach that door. I tried walking in some tubes but there was a part that was simply impossible to pass. Plus, the door only opened for a few seconds and it was very frustrating. In fact, this was the most frustrating mission I have faced in Fallout 4

Screenshot (845).png

So much so, that I had to "cheat". I searched on Youtube for a solution to this mission and I found one. The solution was to shot a mini nuke into the room behind the door and that massive explosion should complete your objective. I am not even sure if this is how the mission was supposed to be completed but it worked for me.

However, since I didn't have a Fat Man with me, I had to lookout for the code to add this weapon into my inventory. Fat Mans are how mini nukes launchers are called in this game.

Before using the Fat Man I tried with a missile launcher, with grenades, even with an special firework launcher that I found in this world but none of those worked. The mini nuke did.

Screenshot (846).png

After many attempts I was finally able to shoot the mini nuke straight into the room and then the mission was completed. I was disappointed that I was forced to look for solutions on the internet and then to do some cheating to complete the mission.

I think this problem is an issue with the mod because a lot of people on the internet reported having issues with the mission as well. Luckily, there was a solution for this and I was able to complete it.

I will continue sharing my Fallout 4 exploration soon enough.

Thanks for reading!