Final Fantasy 16 - Finally getting around to playing this one

in Hive Gaming5 months ago


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240103092625.jpg

This game is so good

break.png

Final Fantasy 7 was one of my favorite games growing up. I remember spending so many hours playing that game and just exploring every inch of the game map. I can't even imagine how many hours I put into that game back then. There was just so much to do. The Chocobo racing was a ton of fun and a great way to break up the gameplay.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240103093831.jpg

The Final Fantasy 7 Remake was ok. It didn't have the nostalgia that I was hoping for when I tried it. I think I put about 8 hours into that game before I decided to move onto something else. FF7 came out in 1997 and since then, they have released so many other Final Fantasy games, and none of them really caught my attention. I am no longer a fan of the turn based combat and some of the newer games that have tried different ways to do combat were not interesting to me at all. Then Final Fantasy 16 came along.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240102163601.jpg

The combat in FF16 is more action oriented and reminds me a lot of the Devil May Cry series with its over the top action and combos. It is fast paced and a lot of fun.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240106092644.jpg

The boss fights are insane. They have many different stages to them and they seamlessly go between the actions and cut scenes mid battle. As you are fighting these massive bosses, they have quick time events where you have to push a button in a certain amount of time to either evade, parry, or attack.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240106092415.jpg

The music during these fights is on a whole nother level than other games that are out there. The music in the Final Fantasy games have always been great, but this one really knows how to get your blood pumping.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240106092816.jpg

The graphics in this game are incredible. There is always so much going on during the fights, but it never distracts from the actual game. It also runs extremely smooth, which is nice because a lot of these new super flashy games suffer from slowdowns and choppy animations, but this game isn't one of them. There are a few times when I have noticed lower frame rates, but it was never to a point where it would make me not want to play and it only lasted for a second or two.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240106093349.jpg

One of my favorite parts of the Final Fantasy games is when you can summon large magical creatures to aid you in battle. In this game, you actually get to control those massive creatures and fight with them, and those battles are epic.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240106093623.jpg

The story of this game is pretty interesting as well. You are basically a member of a royal family that lost all of your royal titles and were sold off into slavery. Now you are fighting to find out who you are and save lots of people along the way. That is pretty much the barebones of the story without giving anything away.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240110141624.jpg

I am almost 40 hours or so into the game and I am really enjoying it. I only play for about 2-3 hours a day when I do play, so it is nice that this game is holding my attention, even though I am playing in little chunks at a time. It is hard for these larger RPGs to be able to do that.


FINAL FANTASY XVI_20240118100841.jpg

If you are a fan of the Final Fantasy series and have been thinking about getting this game, I highly recommend it. I picked it up at about 40% off and I don't regret getting it at that price point. I think I may be close to halfway through with the game, so I am definitely getting my money's worth with this one.

Sort:  

I hated FF16. Slow paced, fetch quest bonanza (for the side quests) - with really ... "Strained" voice acting.

I abandoned it, and don't see myself finishing it. I feel as though it is the worst FF game in a while, it just genuinely puts me to sleep.

That sucks that you don't like it. I've enjoyed it but I do think a lot of the side quests are just filler. Like the one where you bring food to other people in the colony. I've thought about skipping a lot of the side content, but then I would have missed getting a chocobo mount.

Oh man graphics of this game is definitely amazing. Amazing in one word. I want to try it at some point but should I start over? Like first game?

You don't need to start at the first one. The story in this is separate from all the other games. It's a lot of fun.

Really?
Eight hours? That means you love games a lot
I wonder why people will put in much time for games. Well, we love different things just like I love wrestling, lol
Enjoy!

untitled.gif

Wrestling is awesome

Wow que hermoso se ve este juego

It looks so good.

My first Final Fantasy game was FF1. I still remember the story line, very simple gameplay, actually quite difficult. I could never have imagined over a dozen sequels, since this was the FINAL fantasy.

Ya, Those old school Final Fantasy games were pretty challenging. This one is a lot easier in my opinion. But it could also be because I have gotten really good at dodging and parrying from all the Dark Souls games I have played.

I've watched so much of this game that it made me lose my interest into playing it too, lol. I guess I've spent too many hours on streams and YT videos xD

I am glad I stayed away from any of that. The story is pretty great.

Those types of games that the graphics is awesome is always great to play them and it's always fun

The graphics looks too notch. It actually quite look similar to God of war graphics

Hello derangedvisions!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You receive 🎖 2.0 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 186 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START