Does my Limp Bizkit Theory apply to Final Fantasy?

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

image.png

This is not new for me, but not something I have ever posted here, but I have developed a theory in regards to Limp Bizkit. They have always sucked, but somehow they have just never gone away. Even when not in the mainstream, they have had a bizarrely long career. How can a band that is consistently bad still be here? I believe that Limp Bizkit has the supernatural ability to siphon off the career of other musicians they work with.

I remember Redman being a thing for a while in the more popular consciousness, though that came to an end after he did that one song with Limp Bizkit. Redman didn't go away entirely, but he certainly faded from a lot of people's minds. This was the beginning of Fred Durst's powers, and it would only grow from there. Remember a little band called Staind? Had a big hit with 'It's been a While', and after that, he did a song with Fred Durst. After that the relevance of Stained was dead. The lead singer apparently became a sup-par country singer and got some relevance recently with shitty political music (Seriously, the politics don't matter, this pretty much always comes out fucking awful). Limp Bizkit continued to soldier on.

That said, these were two careers that aren't often big in the mainstream regardless, so maybe this is all just a coincidence, right? Well my friends, in 2002 we had the biggest album of Christina Aguilera's career, Stripped. Multiple huge hits with Dirrty, Fighter, and Beautiful. The girl was on fire here, and with a history dating back even before this, you'd think she could keep going. But then she went on tour with Fred Durst and any kind of relevance she had died. Every so often she comes back featured on someone else song, but she's quickly forgotten about after that. Limp Bizkit continued making music.

There haven't been many notable collaborations with Limp Bizkit for a while, but then came Final Fantasy, where Limp Bizkit starts blaring randomly. Here is the thing, I never considered the ramifications of Fred Durst's powers were they to be applied to something outside of music. He clearly can't retroactively take away from something that is already successful, as Stripped was a success before the work with Limp, so I don't think Final Fantasy XIV is going to get hit by the curse. It is possible that it won't affect the title it's released with, Stranger in Paradise, but what are the possible effects of Final Fantasy XVI?

I did make this theory a joke a few years back, and it amused me. So seeing Limp Bizkit show up in Stranger in Paradise amuses me greatly, and I will laugh my ass off if we do see Final Fantasy start to tank with the next release. I don't want it to, but if you ever see me randomly laughing maniacally at that happening, you will know why.

Sort:  

and I will laugh my ass off if we do see Final Fantasy start to tank with the next release.

Wonderful write up. I haven't thought about Limp Bizkit in years and was unaware they still did stuff. They seemed to be incapable of doing anything wrong back in the mid 90's and some of the songs are actually pretty good.

I can't really say the same for Final Fantasy because I feel as though they have been bad for a while now. Do people even know that Crystal Chronicles got re-released? That was dead in the water right from launch. The last two majors that FF did were both duds in my book and after the 7 remake, I have written off the franchise because that was 2 in a row that they duped me on.

They need a new team or something. I dunno, but they have seriously dug this franchise through the mud and the difference between professional and user scores on most gaming review websites show that the fix is definitely in as far as how reviewers just gush over anything Square-Enix does and the public is like "WTF are they talking about? This is terrible!"

The MMO's are equally as bad. I joined up with "A Realm Reborn" at the apex of my MMO addiction and still only subbed for a month... what a pile of trash that was... a fetch quest nightmare that all the fanbois just kept saying "but but but, the endgame content is amazing!" Who the hell cares if getting to that endgame involves 2 months of grind?

I have no intention of getting involved with Final Fantasy in the future. There are so many RPG's out there that we don't need to continue to support these guys when it appears as though they are very aware of the fact that they release a mediocre product and pay off the people who get early editions to say that it is "game of the year!"

Just like Limp Bizkit, they need to hang it up but they wont because there is a dedicated army of fanbois out there that are continually hoping to revisit the great classic times when these games and LB for that matter, were actually making something good.

Gonna have to listen to some Limp Bizkit now. It's just one of those days.

I've never liked the Final Fantasy games. I wouldn't have minded if they gone away a long time ago however I love Final Fantasy XIV. One of the best MMOs I've ever played. I probably like it because it's so different from the rest. Also no turn based combat.

 3 years ago  

I thought that the whole "Limp Bizkit in Final Fantasy" was a joke; saw this meme of a scene but I still can't believe that it is actually Limp Bizkit that starts playing in there.

I have no words to express how hilarious yet awesome the fact that they did that is, though it really speaks much more about how they must have a pair of titanium to seriously have done that in a FF game of all things lmao