Old Man Yells at Clouds (But has his heart slightly warmed) – Super Mario Wonder is the Worst Kind of Game to Review

in Hive Gaming6 months ago

image.png

It's a side scrolling Mario game with just enough twists to keep it from feeling stale, and it's really good. But I would just be repeating not only what everyone else is saying, but I could just point to reviews of older Side Scrolling Mario games and I would just be repeating that as well. I have never been one to say every game has to be unique, and I am 100% on board with games like Mario Wonder that do just enough to keep itself fresh. But my god does it make it a boring game to talk about? So instead I use this 'Old Man Yells at Clouds' to briefly rant about that, and to share an adorable story tangentially related to Mario Wonder.

I went to pick up my copy of the game, as I still do, and I was early so I waited outside the store for a bit. Also waiting to get in was a man and his daughter. What I saw was a daughter who was excited to get her hands and a new Mario game. I won't give all the details of what I heard, but essentially she even knew she would only have an hour or two to play after getting back home, but was still excited just for that.

Here I am, in my thirties, seeing a glimpse into what my childhood was like. Getting a new game, and being as excited as I possibly could to play it. And it's not just any new game, it's a new Mario game. My earliest childhood memory was getting an SNES and Super Mario World for Christmas, and I couldn't wait to sit down and play it. I have no idea if I ever played a video game before that moment, so I don't know why I was that excited for Mario in particular, but I was.

So here I am, all these years later seeing there are still kids excited about the same things. Mario has pretty much been a staple of gaming my entire life and is still here getting an entirely new generation of gamers excited. It has somehow managed to bring a little bit of warmth back to my cold dead heart.

Sort:  

what video games have managed to do in life is incredible and I share the feeling about this world, glad the heart, see how the new generations still have that appreciation and affection for games, I have not yet tried the Mario Wonder and you can see how much it has improved all this saga, but I hope to try it.

I loved reading your story and greetings!

Congratulations @dlstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!