Sort:  

This guys a good bloke. Real good. the same guy i was telling you about with the Catherine zeta jones look alike doctor. I wasnt about to let this guitar pickup company bend him over. Most aussies got the charm, looks and accent to melt a woman's heart. Me my American accent went over pretty well there. Most aussies think americans all sound like Texans which they then go on to imitate but it sounds nothing like Texans and more like deep south hillbillies from Alabama. Me they thought at first was Canadian. Maybe cause i didnt act like a typical yank. But also because i have a west coast accent. If youre good youll tell right away its a southern Californian accent. As it is. I look like jack black and a hobbit had a love child and i have the personality to match. Any woman interested in me wasnt because of looks but due to talent and charisma

Most aussies think americans all sound like Texans which they then go on to imitate but it sounds nothing like Texans and more like deep south hillbillies from Alabama.

This made me laugh because it's also funny to hear Americans, or anyone, attempt an Aussie accent. It's like, do you hear yourself? You sound like a retard.

Still, we encourage it as it gives us a laugh.

Aussies were forgiving of my attempts to say howsitgoin, fair dinkum? And gday. I like to think its because i used them in proper context. To be honest as long as youre not an outright wanker most aussies will take kindly to ya. Aussies are good people. Besides I've watched that docuseries on sbs housos and fat pizza i know how to like fully speak proper choco. I blend right in.

I think you hit the nail on the head...Most Aussies are good people and despite the way the country is losing its Australianess due to the influx from other countries we're generally accepting of others.

Well my take on it is this. Respect goes both ways. If you immigrate to a new country because the way they do things is better (other wise why would you be moving there) then you need to respect their culture and assimilate a little. Meet them half way. It when you move to another country just to take advantage of it and not give respect back but demand it for yourself. Then youre what pisses off australians. I could've fit in with just about anyone over there and nobody would be bitching about this damned yank who moved onto their street. I respected aussie culture as much as my own. And i was practically invited into everyone's house in the neighborhood. It got to a point people i didnt know but had obviously heard about me would wave and smile and say hello as they drove down the street and as they saw me.

Respect goes both ways. If you immigrate to a new country because the way they do things is better (other wise why would you be moving there) then you need to respect their culture and assimilate a little. Meet them half way. It when you move to another country just to take advantage of it and not give respect back but demand it for yourself. Then you're what pisses off Australians.

As a born and bred Aussie I couldn't say this better. Yes, I get pissed off with many who come here for a better life then perpetuate the same behaviours and actions that made them want to leave where they came from. I have been labelled as racist for feeling this way. I'm ok with that.

I don't expect people to discard their culture, but it must be embraced only within the law of the land and labelling me racist for speaking up in favour of my Australian way of life...Well, if a person doesn't like Australia, or wish to fit in, they are welcome to go back to their own country...Which they left because they wanted a better life in Australia.

I'm the son of an immigrant who came here legally and embraced the country as his own relinquishing his other citizenship and going all in for Australia. I don't expect that...But I expect some assimilation. Racist? Yeah whatever. :)

So i take it you dont visit Melbourne much. Its the hook turns. Its probably because of the hook turns.