The most fun shitty game that took less than half an hour that I've ever played.

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

That title might be confusing you a bit. A shitty game that only took a half an hour and it's actually the most fun one that I've ever played? Yep.

I don't remember when I picked it up. It must have been in a bundle, because I'm not sure that I would have picked it up on it's own unless it was only a few cents, but I'm glad I did, even if I likely will only play it maybe once or twice. Because when I did actually play it, it was surprisingly fun.

RetroMaze

Screenshot_2021-03-05_13-25-24.png

This is the first level, so they do get a lot harder than this.

You control a small little fuzzy dot with WASD movement, holding shift to go faster. Pretty basic and easy.

The graphics aren't amazing or anything, but they do have a kind of cool electro swing look to them that reminds me of that cool ass animated song by Caravan Palace.

Sadly the music in the game is less electro swing than it is just plain electro. Pretty standard fair in many games. Not bad actually, but not some amazing soundtrack either.

Screenshot_2021-03-05_13-34-31.png
A few levels in.

Even though the graphics aren't some amazing pieces of art, they are actually pretty stylish and fit the game well.

Screenshot_2021-03-05_13-39-59.png
Somewhere around the 10th level or so.

As you can imagine the levels get considerably harder as you go on. For some odd reason I have more trouble figuring out where the exit is on some levels than making my way through the maze.

I can remember doing mazes a lot as a kid. I would do them in various books, getting maze books at the store, or playing the find the hidden object games in the Highlights magazine. I guess it's sort of a fond memory for me.

RetroMaze isn't some amazingly difficult game that takes you hours on end, or has hundreds of levels, but all the same, I found myself really enjoying it.

I don't even know how my brain manages to unravel the twisting and winding passages so easily, when I'm actually horrible at many 3D games because I always lose my way and where I am. For some reason the passages of the maze just unravel in my brain, and I can easily see the path forward. Even as the mazes get harder.

Screenshot_2021-03-05_13-53-31.png
Somewhere around the 15th level of the game.

My brain isn't immune to the difficulties of the mazes. As they get more and more difficult my brain has more and more difficulty finding it's way through the maze. Eventually I have to just start plunging my way into the maze and finding my way as I go. That's definitely not the easier way. It takes a lot longer to go through the maze when you're in it, having to reverse course as you reach dead-ends, than to just plan your path beforehand.

All the same, probably the best few cents I've spent on a game, even though I don't even remember when I bought it. Even at full price, the game is only $1 on Steam, which I think makes it well worth it. Maybe not for everyone. If you like puzzles though, keep an eye out for it on sale, as it's a bargain for a half an hour of fun or more.

Sort:  

I have so many random games in my Steam library that I’ve gotten from old Humble Bundles and the like. Sometimes I fire one up to see how it is. While most of them are quite bad there are a few gems here and there. Glad you found one you liked! Enjoyed reading this.

Yeah, same. I've picked up a lot of games that I like from Humble and Fanatical, but along with the bundles I often pick up extra games that I never end up playing. I only played this one on a whim.

Sometimes it ends up where the games you've never heard of in the bundle are the best of the bunch.

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 8000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP