You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pitfall II: Lost Caverns

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

dude that is crazy that someone put in the time to map the entire thing screen by screen. I remember reading that the original Pitfall actually did have an ending but the people who made the game didn't think anyone would actually find it so the game just froze when you got to it. I'm not 100% sure about this but I do recall that at least original Pitfall was one of my favorite games on the 2600. It has been like 37 years since I played it but I can still hear the song in my head that it plays when you die .

Sort:  

I'm not sure about the ending to the original but it wouldn't surprise me, especially the Atari 2600 version. I played a lot of Pitfall! over the years but I don't think I ever go to the end.

well the ending was hidden. It's not like you got to a certain point to the left or right and then you were done. You had to get all the treasure in both direction and then stand in a certain place. It was more of a glitch than an ending. I've never accomplished it but only read about it.