Looking at old photos in my 3ds.

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

Sometimes I get impulses out of nowhere, impulses that want me to do something other than just the same stuff I do everyday, for example, "go bother your cat a little" or "go bother your friends instead".

Sometimes I indulge on them and just do something in the heat of the moment, like making a weird meme on paint for my friends to laugh at for 2 seconds and then forget about it, and other times I think it's too much trouble and don't even bother with them.

Sometimes though, when I indulge in these little impulses of mine to change the monotony of my days, I "hit" gold.

Like right now, when I turned on my 3ds and started looking through the Camera app and saw all of the diferent pictures I had taken while playing whatever games I played several years ago.

HNI_0042.JPG
I remember this one, took it on Metal Gear Solid 3D. Just look at this silly boy with his mouth open.

I know that it's pretty much a "dead" console by now but I still have games for it. It's also a very good thing to pass the time with during the many blackouts we have here, so I always keep it charged, just in case.

Thing is, I only really open it when that happens and I immediately turn it off once the power comes back, so that I can keep doing whatever it is that I was doing before.

It's thanks to these impulses that I have recently started to play more on this thing, and also thanks to them that I practically "unearthed" these pictures.

It was nice, all of those pictures reminded me of how I was and what I was doing several years past. The oldest one was taken in 2013, when I was 13.

Of course, most of these are just pictures I took of friends and family. Back then I only had 3 games, of which only one let me took pictures, it was only several years after getting my 3ds that I finally got some more (thanks to birthdays and very kind members of my family that never learned to say no to the nephew that always asks for video games).

From those first three games, the one I spent the most time on was Pokemon X.

I remember wanting to get Pokemon Y, because my best friend had X and I wanted to take advantage of having someone with a different version (there's version exclusive Pokémon).

However, because Y was like worth two more dollars than X, Mom simply told me to settle for the other one. Which sucks, because I really wanted those version exclusives.

HNI_0036.JPG
This one is a more recent picture, from Pokemon X.

My friend, proving once again how he is my greatest friend, rubbed this fact in by showing me the exclusive things on Y, which he had gotten from a friend of his and through several trades.

I didn't care of course, he was just doing it because I kicked his butt in Smash.

That was another one of the first games I had on my 3ds, a gift from Mom because of reasons I cannot properly remember, I believe it was for improving my grades or something.

My friend and I would take our 3ds to school and then proceed to try and beat each other in Smash. It was a constant back and forth, one of us would completely suck at it and be beaten senseless by the other and then things reversed once we started a new round.

That reminds me, another game I had was Tomodachi Life. This was one of those unique situations were a family member gave me (by gave me I mean gave to my mom) some money as a gift and told me to do whatever with it, I got Tomodachi Life with it.

HNI_0070.JPG
This is pretty much my Tomodachi Life experience summed in one picture.

Tomodachi Life is basically The Sims, except that instead of sims you use your Miis and instead of making them do stuff you just watch them do stuff on their own.

Basically, nothing like the sims.

It was a silly experience, I didn't know many people back then so in order to fill some blanks I put in video game characters.

HNI_0079.JPG
Here's Venom Snake, from MGSV, in a merry-go-round.

This would result in one of the most entertaining things happening; my best friend's Mii got married to his video game waifu's Mii. Which was funny to me because I made hers thinking "lol wouldn't it be funny if she friendzones you?"

That game brought a lot of weird moments too, aside from Big Boss playing in a merry-go-round and some of Miis wanting to swim in a pool of glass ornaments, there was a lot of trippy stuff in it.

Eventually Tomodachi Life was replaced by Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and boy did I love that one. Most of the pictures here are from the first town I had back then (which is sadly gone by now)

HNI_0008.JPG
For some reason, I always remember this moment.

I spent a lot of time on that town, a lot of time and dedication to make sure everything was built in the right place, I'm also pretty sure that I had gotten almost every single fossil in the museum...

Don't really remember why I deleted it. Probably got tired of it and simply deleted the town and then forgot all about it, except Eugene of course, that was one chill Koala.

HNI_0021.JPG
All that remains of that little town I spent so much time into are these pictures. They're like treasures to me.

There was also Miitopia and Monster Hunter Generations. Miitopia was something I got after seeing some people play it on youtube as I said to myself "I can make a weirder adventure than that..."

Monster Hunter on the other hand... I had just watched the trailer for that game's release and said "wait there's another one of those?"

I'm a fan of the Monster Hunter series you see, I was just too dumb to google "Monster Hunter for 3ds" and to find out there was, in fact, a Monster Hunter game on the 3ds before Generations.

I don't have any pictures of Generations, because that one doesn't let you take pictures, and I'm too afraid of... whatever the hell it is that I did on Miitopia to show it on this site.

There are things that are just too dumb for the internet.

Finally, there was also Pokemon Sun (and later on Ultra Sun), there's not a lot of pictures from this one.

HNI_0050.JPG

I'm a big fan of Pokemon too, and I've played almost every single one of the games I could get my hands on.

I have a weird relationship with those two games though, I liked Sun but disliked Ultra. Funnily enough, Ultra Sun I still have but Sun got lost somewhere...

Most of the pictures I took are of my character posing with her Pokemon. There's not that many memories here, aside from the team I built on that game, (which I felt in love with) there's not much else.

HNI_0035.JPG
This one was the star of the game. His name was Bum Bum and he was-IS the bestest boy.

...And that's it. These are just a couple of pictures Guubo took during his life and never really bothered to look back on. Until now.

I would have more pictures of the games I played if I didn't delete most of them when I was younger, I didn't see any value on them.

But now? Geez. I don't feel much just by looking at them, but if I sit down and look at each one... There's a memory there, a moment of my life I just took a picture of because I said "Why not?"

Now I wish I could go back and tell my younger, dumber self "Take more of those, they're dumb now but you'll laugh when you remember all of it"

And I wouldn't remember any of that if it weren't for these. They may be just small things, like the randomness of Tomodachi Life, the things I did in Pokemon, whatever the hell was Miitopia... but remembering all of that makes me happy.

HNI_0008.JPG

These photos are like a small time machine that bring me back to very specific (and weird) moments of my past, and I'm thankful I decided to take all of them.

Like I said, sometimes I hit gold when I pay attention to these impulses.

Now if you'll excuse me, I'll go hunt me some monsters...