Returnal. First playthrough of the game. / Returnal. Pierwsze przejście gry.

in Hive Gaming27 days ago

returnal eng.jpg

This time from the end to the beginning. First link = Boss fight. Last link = beginning of the recording.

I beat the game on the last day of my May vacation! As with Ixion, I defeated Ophion after midnight. And just like in that case, you have to get up for work at 5.45. Well, after all, it was worth it! The whole next day I walked as proud as a peacock. I had a perfect run. Luck was on my side, I had useful artifacts with strong synergy, the weapons were so powerful that I crushed everything in my path. If it weren't for the fact that I was very tired, it would have gone faster. In the last Biome I made very stupid mistakes. Even my girlfriend noticed that my reflexes were decreasing and that I was taking damage more and more often from simple punches. The last Biome was ironically so simple that it was more like a Tutorial for N00bs compared to what I had previously gone through. But after 4.5 hours of gameplay (three Biomes + Boss), you can get tired even with two longer and two shorter breaks. After all, this is Returnal, a game that does not forgive mistakes. And just a moment earlier I was super enthusiastic, saying to my girlfriend Asia with a smile on her face "You'll see. I'll soon get to the 6th boss and I'll kick his ass too!" I won't see Boss 6 until the end of the DLC, the opinions I referred to were incomplete. Maybe I'll get to it this weekend, as I already have a few Selene artifacts and defeated 1 mini-boss. I almost got to the second one, but R1 didn't work and I couldn't heal. Asia is a witness, I clicked several times and the first aid kit didn't work.

This is briefly about Ophion, the plot and the first ending. The second one, apparently true, will only be known after beating the game. As they said on the Internet, the final Boss is very simple compared to the previous ones. I supposedly defeated Ixion the first time, but that fight was the most demanding for me. Oh no, sorry - most immediately after Phirke. I fought the first Boss the most, and ironically, now that I'm playing through the game for the second time, I defeated him with total ease the first time. Coming back to Ophion, fighting him was a mere formality, like in the simpler games I help my girlfriend with. Well, IMO it had to be like that. I.e. he didn't have to, but to get there, you had to go through not one, but two worlds! The last Biome is supposedly simple, like in a children's game, but you also have to be careful. Two mistakes too many and you'll be sweating down your ass with fear.

As for the plot. My predictions were mostly accurate. The fact that Returnal is a game about constantly going through trauma was quite obvious from a certain stage of the game. In a sense, it is visible at the very beginning, but with every hour spent in this world, it becomes more and more visible. Each new memory, home visit, and discovery of recordings brings us closer to solving the mystery and reveals Selene's past and character. Over time, new layers and additional contexts are added. Nay! The game doesn't give us the answer directly and there are several interpretations of the plot in Returnal.

In my mind (I mean my "headcanon" - this term refers to things that were not explicitly explained in the game, series, book, anime and the author gave us a free hand to interpret), Selene lost her child in an accident, and her body, due to her sporting interests, managed to avoid death despite the massacred spine. As shown in Kengan Ashura (martial arts anime), through sports or exercise, the body reflexively performs certain movements. I can see it through my training at the gym. The same applies to car accidents. It's no coincidence that drivers tend to be the least injured. Even when they are drunk or high on drugs. The body reflexively positions itself in the most favorable way possible. Often before the brain (and sometimes completely without its participation) thinks about it. Initially, I assumed that the cause of the trauma was an abortion or the loss of a child in some other way. Don't ask me why, a few things told me so. However, I had in mind a baby, not a several-year-old child, so I guess I missed, but on the other hand, it cannot be said that it was a completely wrong shot. For some time I thought it was a story about the trauma of losing a mother (I thought Selene was her daughter) and an attempt to silence the inner pain. However, I think my first interpretation is correct. Although I still don't say this with certainty, because I am discovering new recordings that shed new light on the Housemarque game. I didn't expect to see her ambitious and arrogant side. I also didn't expect several other recordings that surprise me even more. Well, you have to keep climbing the Mount of Sisyphus.

This is not the end of my stories with Returnal. I think we're only halfway through. Well, at least I can say that I achieved something that only 14% of Returnal owners on PS5 did. I'm aiming for platinum.

returnal pol.jpg

Tym razem od końca, do początku. Pierwszy link = walka z Bossem. Ostatni link = początek nagrania.

Przeszedłem grę w ostatni dzień majowego urlopu! Podobnie jak w przypadku Ixiona, Ophion został przeze mnie pokonany po północy. No i tak jak w tamtym przypadku, o 5.45 trzeba wstać do roboty. No ale mimo wszystko, było warto! Cały następny dzień chodziłem dumny niczym paw. Miałem doskonały run. Szczęście mi sprzyjało, miałem przydatne artefakty z silną synergią, broń była tak potężna, że miażdżyłem wszystko na swojej drodze. Gdyby nie to, że byłem bardzo zmęczony, to poszłoby szybciej. W ostatnim Biomie popełniałem bardzo głupie błędy. Nawet moja dziewczyna zwróciła uwagę na spadek refleksu i coraz częstsze otrzymywanie obrażeń od prostych ciosów. Ostatni Biom jak na ironię był taki prosty, że bardziej przypominał Tutorial dla n00bów w porównaniu do tego, przez co wcześniej przeszedłem. No ale po 4.5 godzinach gry (trzy Biomy + Boss), można się zmęczyć nawet z dwiema dłuższymi i dwiema krótszymi przerwami. W końcu to Returnal, gra która nie wybacza błędów. A jeszcze chwilę wcześniej byłem mega entuzjastyczny, mówiąc do mojej dziewczyny Asi z uśmiechem na twarzy "Zobaczysz. Zaraz dojdę do 6 bossa i też mu skopię dupę!" No 6 Boss to zobaczę dopiero pod koniec DLC, opinie na które się powoływałem były niepełne. Może w ten weekend do niego dojdę, bo mam już kilka artefaktów Selene i pokonałem 1 mini-bossa. Do drugiego prawie doszedłem, ale R1 nie działało i nie mogłem się uleczyć. Asia jest świadkiem, klikałem kilka razy, a apteczka nie zadziałała.

To jeszcze krótko o Ophionie, fabule i pierwszym zakończeniu. Drugie, podobno to prawdziwe, poznam dopiero po przejściu gry. Tak jak mówili w internecie, finałowy Boss jest banalnie prosty w porównaniu z poprzednimi. Niby pokonałem Ixiona za pierwszym razem, ale tamta walka była dla mnie najbardziej wymagająca. A nie, przepraszam - najbardziej zaraz za Phirke. Najwięcej walczyłem z pierwszym Bossem i jak na ironię, jak teraz przechodzę grę po raz drugi, to pokonałem go na totalnym luzie za pierwszym razem. Wracając do Ophiona, walka z nim była czystą formalnością, jak w prostszych grach, przy których pomagam mojej dziewczynie. No ale IMO musiał taki być. Tzn. niby nie musiał, ale żeby do niego dojść, trzeba było przejść przez nie jeden, a dwa światy! Ostatni Biome jest niby prosty, jak w grze dla dzieci, ale też trzeba uważać. Dwa błędy za dużo i pot cieknie po tyłku ze strachu.

Co do fabuły. Moje przewidywania były w większości trafne. To że Returnal jest grą o nieustannym przechodzeniu traumy, było dość oczywiste od pewnego etapu gry. W sensie, widać to już na samym początku, ale z każdą godziną spędzoną w tym świecie, jest to coraz bardziej widoczne. Każde nowe wspomnienia, wizyty w domu, odnajdywanie nagrań, przybliżają nas do rozwikłania tajemnicy, odsłaniają przeszłość i charakter Selene. Z czasem dochodzą nowe warstwy, dodatkowe konteksty. Mało tego! Gra nie podaje nam wprost odpowiedzi i jest kilka interpretacji fabuły w Returnal.

W mojej głowie (mam na myśli mój headcanon - termin ten odnosi się do rzeczy, które nie zostały wprost wyjaśnione w grze, serialu, książce, anime i autor dał nam wolną rękę do interpretacji), Selene straciła swoje dziecko w wypadku, a jej ciało z uwagi na sportowe zainteresowania, potrafiło uniknąć śmierci mimo zmasakrowanego kręgosłupa. Tak jak to zostało pokazane w Kengan Ashura (anime o sztukach walki), przez sport lub ćwiczenia, ciało odruchowo wykonuje pewne ruchy. Widzę to choćby przez swój trening na siłowni. Podobnie jest też przy wypadkach samochodowych. To nie przypadek, że kierowcy zazwyczaj są najmniej ranni. Nawet jak są pijani lub naćpani narkotykami. Ciało odruchowo ustawia się w możliwie najbardziej korzystny dla siebie sposób. Często zanim mózg (a czasem totalnie bez jego udziału) o tym pomyśli. Początkowo obstawiałem, że powód traumy to aborcja lub utrata dziecka w inny sposób. Nie pytajcie czemu, kilka rzeczy mi tak podpowiadało. Miałem jednak na myśli niemowlaka, nie kilkuletnie dziecko, więc niby spudłowałem, ale z drugiej strony, nie można powiedzieć że był to totalnie błędny strzał. Przez jakiś czas myślałem, że to opowieść o traumie związaną ze stratą matki (myślałem, że Selene to jej córka) i próba uciszenia wewnętrznego bólu. Wydaje mi się jednak, że moja pierwsza interpretacja jest prawdziwa. Chociaż nadal nie mówię tego z pewnością, bo odkrywam kolejne nagrania, które rzucają nowe światło na grę studia Housemarque. Nie spodziewałem się że ujrzę jej ambitną i arogancką stronę. Tak samo nie spodziewałem się kilku innych nagrań, które zadziwiają mnie jeszcze mocniej. Cóż, trzeba się dalej wspinać w Górze Syzyfa.

To nie koniec moich opowieści z Returnalem. Chyba jesteśmy dopiero w połowie. No ale przynajmniej mogę powiedzieć, że osiągnąłem coś, czego dokonało tylko 14% posiadaczy Returnal na PS5. Zmierzam do platyny.

Sort:  

@maciejficek ta gra to liga Half Life 1. Polecam.