The new AMd Ryzen 6000 and Intel 12gen laptops are still 1 month away (at least)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

I have been looking at laptops for almost 3 months, waiting for the time to be just right to buy a good and yet affordable one. The CES 2022 introduced lots of good news for laptop users when it comes to gaming performance, but those laptops won't be out until at least February, according to manufacturers.

If we factor in the scalpers' issues and the supply chain issues, we might not even get them in the first quarter of 2022, and if we get they will probably be much more expensive than MSRP.

ryzen 6800u

The announcements from both Intel and AMD got me excited. I use my laptop on the go a lot, between work, home, and university, so power efficiency and low heat are priorities, but I would still like to game on the go on my laptop.

The AMD Ryzen 7 6800u (an APU) especially has got me excited because it promises up to 2x the performance from the previous generation integrated graphics performance, with a TDP of only 28w which is surprisingly low for an 8-core 16-thread CPU with so much integrated graphics performance!

My new year's resolution is to save more money than I did in 2021, but I really need a new laptop for work and for university, mine literally has no battery and weights over 5kg, it is almost 10 years old and although it is still relatively powerful, I don't know for how long it will keep working.

All I can do is wait, keep saving my money and see if those new laptops with powerful integrated graphics come out affordable.

Sort:  

Interesting technology. Not sure if affordable as new release but sure will start new era with integrated components.

For example I bought a mobile phone with integrated GPU with good price.

Maybe if comparing with 2021 models you can find a notebook with similar performance. If the new processor is not a must. 2x seems good. But for your games will be necessary?!

Usually integrated graphics are not expensive. But with the shortage of components and the scalpers it may be expensive.

2x the integrated graphics performance is importante because finally integrated graphics have reached low end GPU performance.

It is supposed to be cheaper than a low end CPU + GPU but for now I can only hope

I'm really excited with these new generations of CPUs, both on laptops and desktops. We're finally getting some heated competition again and this is great for the consumer. Once I moved to AMD in 2018, I never thought I'd be back on Intel, but here I am!

Be sure to send me your old laptop once you get a new one hehe, some friend communism.

Sorry, this is my backup laptop haha

If I didn’t have this one as backup when my main one stopped working I would probably have to spend more money without having time to think

It is important to always have a backup

That's a really smart thing to do. My laptop is my reserve PC. Whenever something goes wrong, and things do go wrong, I just use that instead haha.
When it's not being used, it's booting into Lubuntu so my brother can play Minecraft and watch Youtube videos.