Indie Game Adventures: Halls of Torment

in Hive Gaming10 months ago

Hello all, let's get back to gaming blogs. Today I'm going to share my thoughts on Halls of Torment, one of the most popular games in the gaming world these days. I learned about this game thanks to @pusen, one of the leaders of our community. If you're going to play the game, there are a lot of informative videos about the game on his channel. You can go to his channel by clicking here.


resource


If we talk about the genre of the game and the game in general, we can characterize it as an independent survival, action game. It would not be wrong to go one step further and say that the game is very similar to Vampire Survivors. I usually don't like it when games are too similar to each other, but there's nothing wrong with them being inspired to make their own game. They didn't copy everything from the game exactly, on the contrary, I think Halls of Torment is like a slightly improved version of Vampire Survivors. Now that we've briefly talked about the game, let's move on to the gameplay.


All you have to do in the game is to move with the directional keys and aim with the mouse and shoot with the left click. If you don't want to do that, there are options like auto aim and auto fire. If you activate these, you can play just by moving, just like in Vampire Survivors. I've tried both, and I can say that both are quite fun.


There are many characters in the game and you can unlock them after playing the game and completing some missions. You need to do different things to unlock each character and you can find these missions by searching the internet. I don't know how hard they are because I've only played with 2 characters so far, the Swordsman and the Archer. I must say that both of them are quite fun, but Swordsman is the easier character in my opinion. Because it is easier to kill the creatures and get the experience bubbles after killing them. However, I'm sure game experts have different opinions on this. I managed to progress to level 25 with both of them.


There are also different maps in the game. The map you play by default is not very challenging. It is designed exactly for you to warm up to the game. The creatures in the second map are more challenging. In both maps, the game gets harder as time progresses. That's to be expected and you should be prepared for it. I can't comment much since I just started the game, but I feel like the game doesn't want you to pass a certain stage before you get strong enough. Because even though I did my best, I couldn't progress after a certain point. Millions of creatures are running at you from everywhere. Maybe I should watch @pusen's videos one more time :P


You should not forget to break the barrels and boxes around the game. Either gold or things for you to regenerate life come out of them. Either way, they are useful. Sometimes even more, you can get a power-up that allows you to magnetize all the experience bubbles that have fallen on the ground that you haven't collected. You'll also sometimes see things around you with arrows that, when you collect them, will give you different power-ups. In the photo above you can see that there are 4 of them. The same thing is in Vampire Survivors, but here they have different protectors. What I mean is that if you try to pick them up, a boss will appear around you and will never leave you alone, even if you get the reward. You have to kill it.


As for my general opinion about the game, I played the game for two hours straight and I never got bored, it was always fun. I kept trying new things by choosing different abilities, and I think most people who play it probably feel the same way. As for the price, the game is very cheap. You can buy the game for a few dollars or something like that. It was 20% off when I bought it. I will not comment on the music of the game because I cut it down a lot. The graphics cannot be judged in the same way, but my goal while playing a game is to have fun and since this game entertained me a lot, I will give it 9/10. Maybe I will share my final opinion with you after playing the game for 30-40 hours.

Thank you very much for reading. Have you tried this game? If so, don't forget to share your thoughts with me. I love to hear what different people think, take care and have a great day! Don't forget to play games!

Play More, Live More!

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Thank you so much for your support 🙏

I feel like they are releasing better and better Indie games, great recommendation bro, I still didn't know about their existence until I read your post hahaha.

You should subscribe to the @pusen's Youtube channel then. He changed format of his channel, I mean he rebranded it and now he is sharing any type of games 😎

It could be due to the fact, that I rarely play newer games and don't have a more current reference, but this looks like Diablo graphics-wise :).

I found it on Steam and may try it. It sure looks enticing.
!PIZZA

I think you should try it, it's definitely worth playing. I'm looking forward to reading your thoughts.

This one looks pure fun.

Maybe I will share my final opinion with you after playing the game for 30-40 hours.

That's a huge amount of time you want to give this game so you really liked it. Nice explanation.

Yeah I really liked it. I love playing indie games and support them 💯

I heard good things about India games although I only got to try Stray (I think that's a India game, correct?).
And Valheim has already proven its worth. 💯

Bro that made me laugh hard XD It's not an India game, it's indie game which means small companies made the game 😂

 10 months ago (edited) 

Oh my. Its good that you got something to laugh about but man that's a typo. I was writing Indie and somehow I misspelled it, lol.
Although I thought Indie game is originated in India 😑

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@freedomprepper(5/10) tipped @incublus

Well done @incublus! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1