10 Yard Fight For The NES

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hello fellow gamers! So today I want too take you way back. Back to the time when 8-Bit was darn right kick A$$! Back to 1985 to be precise. All though this game was first made for the arcades in Japan in 1983. It wasn't until 1985 that this game was ported to the NES in America.

10 Yard Fight is a vertical scrolling game. It is not licensed by the NFL, so there are no official teams, only generic ones that are named after cities, such as San Francisco, Dallas, New York, and Los Angeles.

I really thought this was a very cool way to set skill levels! Being the first time I ever played this game, I selected High School Team lol.

Thank goodness I have the Manual for this game! ;)


Something interesting that I saw while looking up some facts on this game, when this game was on the arcade you only played offense! When you scored, that is when you made it to the next level. Only when it was ported in America the defense was added.


Overall I thought this game sucked! It was just weird how the player seemed to stop running after a few yards. I am sure it is something I could overcome, and get used to if I played it more. But you can not ignore the fact that this game was the forerunner to modern football video games. This game was hot back in the day, and it led developers to make more football games. Such as Techno Bowl, then eventually Madden! So to all you Madden fans, next time you load the latest release, think about how far we have came along, and pay some respect to 10 Yard Fight!

All Pictures are mine, and some info was sourced from Wikipedia

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I pretty much exclusively play 8-bit games now. Actually I pretty much exclusively play Zelda 1 Zelda 2 dragon warrior Metroid and a few others but I mean 8-bit rocks.
I never played 10 yard fight, but my friends did. I'm not really into sports.
Anyway, good memories.

Cool! I’ll do dragon warrior next!

Now that was a game I spent a lot of time playing. Lol.
I look forward to it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.