Vintage NES Hardware Cabinet

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

image.png

Hey everyone! So this is my first time posting in the gaming community of Hive. Although I am not much of a gamer, I still appreciate a great game. Most of you may know me from my cannabis content,and TBH posting the same thing gets boring. I really need to mix things up with different content. Especially since we got my son a Nintendo Switch.***

One of the games I made sure to get was a Mario game. The one I picked out was Super Mario Bros. U. It really brought back some memories. It is amazing how far Mario has come! Such a fun game, and being to play together with my son is very enjoyable. They also have the original Nintendo games, like the very first Mario, and even 2, and 3! But it had to be Mike Tyson's Punchout that gave me a bad case of Nostalgia. Perfect timing too.....

I recently came across this vintage Nintendo NES hardware cabinet.

The top drawer has compartments built in for two controllers, and 1 Zapper.

This is the Zapper that was made after the original one. They had to make it orange because of the new lawpassed in 1988 that required all toy guns to have an orange tip

Just seeing this color scheme makes something in my brain click. Nintendo really was, and still is a top notch company. Sure they have their shortcomings, and had many flops. But overall it is easy to see why they are still leaders in the gaming world

The bottom drawer holds 12 your NES cartridges. Did you know the reason why these cartridges are so bulky, is because Nintendo wanted the NES to have more of a VCR fell, then a game system fell? Which is why you load the games through the front. This is because the Great Video Game Crash of 1983. People where reluctant to buy a new game system, so Nintendo rebranded there Famicon to the Nintendo Entertainment System to make it fell less like a gaming system.

Now that I have half a system, I need to find an actual console. They have newer 8-bit systems that play the old cartridges, but I would rather find an original. Please tell me in the comments, do you remember the NES? If so what was your favorite game? I am sure there are many Sega fans out there, but I would put $$ you went from the NES to the Genesis. There really isn't any 8-bit system you can compare to the NES is there?

Sort:  

NES rules! :D
i still have 2-3 consoles and a some fav. cartridges :)
we loved many of the games like for example: NBA, looney tunes, Contra and all marios of course... we played a lot with my brother in the 90s :) especially one japanese football game with special abilities and magic tricks :D

lots of fun man :D

Contra is so awesome! Wasn’t it called something different in Europe? It could be Germany though, instead of marines, you play with robots lol

it was the original one :) we used to play with the chinese consoles & cartridges :D

That’s cool! I hear the Japanese version was the best. It had live action scenes between each level that where cool. Then the graphics where better .

I used to play this old hockey game on my console. Good times

Cool! I think I remember playing a hockey one too. Remember Tecno Bowl?

Sadly don't remember techno bowl

It was a football game. I just thought of it when I started to think of the hockey game. The game you are talking about may be on the library of old games on the Switch. I will look later tonight.

Image

Was this the hockey game?

no it doesn't look like it