Hive Gaming Community - Best Video Game Memories - Street Fighter 2

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

Howdy Hive Gamers

This is my contest entry for Hive Gaming Memories Contest.

SF 2 Logo.gif

SF 2 the world.jpg

Street Fighter 2 is one of the first games I remember playing back in arcades in the early 90s.I was in love with all things martial art,Bruce Lee , Jackie Chan and Jean Claude Van Damme back then,so naturally Street Fighter 2 grabbed my attention right away.

In 1991 when Street Fighter 2 first released I would have been 7 years old.I cant remember exactly the first place I ever saw the game but I do remember being on a cruise ship in either 1991 or 1992 and playing this game alot of the time in the ships arcade.

The original game had a line up of 12 characters...
SF 2 char select 2.jpg

Ryu and Ken Karate Masters
SF GIF 2.gif

E Honda The Sumo Wrestler
E honda gif.gif

Chun Li the kung fu kicking queen

chun li gif 2.gif

Chun li gif 1.gif

Guile The US Airforce bro
Guile gif.gif

Gile sonic boom.gif

Blanka the Brazilian Beast
Blanka gif.gif
Blanka 2.gif

Zangief The Russian Wrestler,
Zan geif 1.gif
Zangeif 2.gif

Dhalsim The Indian Yogi
Dhalsim 1.gif

Balrog the Mike Tyson look alike Boxer

balrog-allhighpunches.gif
balrog-head.gif

Vega the Claw wielding Spanish fighter .
Vega-intro.gif
VEGA.gif

Sagat the Muay Thai Boxer
Sagat 3.gif
Sagat.gif

M Bision The Big Bad end Boss guy

M bison.gif
M bison  2.gif

One of the things I loved most about the game back when I first played it was the bonus stages where you need to destroy a car.Letting loose on the car is still incredibly satisfying today :)...

SF 2 car e honda.gif

My favorite character from the original line up is Ryu.In this walk down memory lane I fired up the game on the MAME emulator and started with Ryu to see how far I can progress with him before checking out the rest of the characters.

SF gif 1.gif

Lets do this :)
(Sorry about the low volume on my commentary,I need to figure out how to lower the volume on MAME )

^^^ In the lets play above I didn't make it past Ken on the second stage.I button bashed with every character trying to beat him.I got close with Blankas electric attack but the difficulty on the MAME version seems real tough.I suppose in the end these games were designed to take quarters of kids.Ill try again on the Super Nintendo version and might do a side by side comparison of the difficulty on MAME vs SNES versions.

Sort:  

It was a very good game, I used to play it a lot as a child when I went to arcade with my family. Although he was not very good at it, but it was a lot of fun and entertaining. Especially if you are playing with a group of friends

wow this game too back then, i do play it, i think tekken mobile or so. it was really interesting

Great post!

I think this was one of the first games that had an international roster. I mean that it had characters from all over the world: Japan, Brazil, USA, India, China, etc. I remember playing with my older brother and older cousin and as I was never very skillful to obtain the special attacks with the combinations I smashed all the buttons like a crazy little monkey and sometimes I beat them hahaha.

Thank you for sharing your memories!

I still bash the buttons like a crazy little monkey....In the lets play above I didn't make it past Ken on the second stage.I button bashed with every character trying to beat him.I got close with Blankas electric attack but the difficulty on the MAME version seems real tough.I suppose in the end these games were designed to take quarters of kids.Ill try again on the Super Nintendo version and might do a side by side comparison of the difficult on MAME vs SNES versions.

Ohh yes on the arcades they game had to be tougher, makes sense because that way they will win more money, while on the console you could replay the game as much as you want. I'm gonna try this game on an emulator soon, but I want to get a controller for my PC.

Awesome game! - Street fighter and Mortal Kombat was two of the games that had a lot of debate on which one was better. While I enjoyed MK better, street fighter was also a very fun game.

I didn't play much of street fighter back then, since it was more of Mortal Kombat for me. But the few times i played street fighter, I really enjoyed every bit of the game especially the KO and combos. :D

Back in day I was a bigger Mortal Kombat fan than I was of Street Fighter.I plan to do a Mortal Kombat an a MKII post fairly soon.Stay tuned for that and thanks for the comment!

OMG! What an awesome game you brought here! I remember to complete almost all the game in my SNES, in that time I was 6 years old, so I didn't knew how to make quick combos, I just pressed all the keys and wait for a miracle lol

Awesome post, brother! I really enjoyed to read it!

PS: My fav char will always be Ryu!

Thanks for taking the time to read the post and comment!

Yeah I went with Street Fighter 2 as I guessed that most of us who are over 30 years old will have fond memories of that game.

I don't think I ever beat the game but I might fire up the SNES version and try beating it with Ryu soon.

Hello friend excellent game, I spent many hours as a child playing Street Fighter 2 with my friends, I liked more than motral kombat.

Los juegos de street fighter son mis favoritos, los jugue mucho durante mi infancia en un nintendo clasico, saludos

Ooh! Street Fighter is the game of my entire childhood in home in the Sega Genesis and the visits to arcades with my older brother.
I still play play Street fighter version on the PS3. I'm not the best en fight games but and don't care I loved it, specially this saga and Tekken. A lot of memories came to me watching the gifs. !!

Este juego es una joya en el mundo de vídeojuegos de batallas, que buenos recuerdos me has traído con este post.

Boosthive's Diablo Immortal boosting service offers several options, such as solo boosting and group boosting. Solo boosting is a great choice for those who want to quickly level up their character and obtain rare items, while group boosting is ideal for players who want to work together to maximize their in-game performance. No matter which option you choose, https://boosthive.eu/diablo-series/immortal experienced, professional players will ensure that your character makes the most out of their in-game experience.

Posted using PALnet