Retro-Replay Challenge! - Splatterhouse - Who wants to win some HIVE Dollars?

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

Hey Hive gamers

I've been messing around with some old retro arcade games on the MAME emulator recently.

splatterhouse.jpg

I have so much free time on my hands due to the corona shutdown I thought why not take a long overdue trip down memory lane and relive some of the golden days of gaming.

As a kid of the 80s and 90s I spent a fair bit of my childhood in arcades.

Back in the days when the Sega Mega Drive (or Genesis if you were in the US )and Super Nintendo ruled the world arcades were a magical place.

With there neon lighting,sticky carpets and often smelling of stale cigarettes these places beckoned us kids like moths to a flame...

arcade1.jpg
arcade2.jpg
arcade3.jpg

The graphics one would find in the arcade games of that era far surpassed what the 16 bit generation was capable of.

This is especially true for games produced by Capcom,Namco,Data East and Neo Geo back then ,many of which still hold up well and retain a high degree of replay-ability to this day.

splat.gif

So today I fired up the MAME emulator and booted up one of my favorite games from back in the day.It is Namco's Splatterhouse from 1988.

I have never completed this one as is the case with most games from this era,they were designed to have us kids pumping money in them all day long.

So for this retro replay challenge I thought this would be a good one to start with.I have only ever made it to the second boss which is a poltergeist.

As a general rule for these retro replays I will start with 3 live's and be allowed one continue.The goal is to get as far as possible and set the bar as high as I can for you HIVE gamers to try and bet me.

For this first round there is a prize of $5 HBD for the first person to make a video beating my progress.Just link your video here in the comments.

I will upvote and reblog your video as soon as it is posted.

The challenge for each game will run for one week but I will likely make a few of these challenges per week to keep things interesting.

All you will need to get involved is the MAME arcade emulator,the Splatterhouse Rom and some screen recording software like Fraps. Any questions just ask.

You have to have commentary on your video to prove it is your gameplay and you need to say your HIVE username at the start of the video.

Here is my first attempt at Splatterhouse.

I started with 3 lives and used one continue so 6 lives in total and I made it to the poltergeist boss which is as far as I have ever been in the game.I figured set the bar fairly low for this first challenge so it is likely someone will beat it.

Sort:  

This is going to be tougher than it looks.

I love this game. I saved up and bought a TurboGrafx-16 back in the day just to get it. By the time I got the console the store didn't have the game anymore and never got it in again. I kept it though because I was a big fan of scrolling shooter and anyone that had that console knows, it had plenty of those.