Coromon!

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

coromonheader.png

A month or so ago, during Steam Next Fest, I tried the demo for Coromon and greatly approved of the experience it offered. So much so that I added it straight to my wishlist and actually bought it the day it was released!

I don't buy many games on release day, but I felt that this one was worth it, and it had the added bonus of being one of those "chill" games that I could play after a day of stressful novel writing. (I'm currently writing a Novel-In-A-Month, it's an immature adult comedy sure to illicit a couple of giggles if you find low-brow humour funny and would like to check it out!)

20220401161137_1.jpg

Because I played the demo I had the option to continue on from that save I made back then. But I didn't. I wanted to experience the game fully, right from the start! 😄

So I made a brand new purple-haired Kaelci and began my adventure.

20220403113511_1.jpg

First of all, I discover that my character is not true to me. She thinks that pineapple on pizza is delicious. I beg to differ. 😋🍕

20220403113659_1.jpg

Choosing to ignore this great blasphemy, I say goodbye to my brother -- who had the audacity to beat my high score in a videogame before I left -- and farewell'd my mother as I proceeded to the train station to begin life anew as a Battle Researcher at the Lux Solis Research Headquarters.

20220403114026_1.jpg

As I sign into the office for my first day, I am prompted to choose my difficulty. A feature that was unavailable during the demo was to choose a CUSTOM difficulty!!! So I zoomed to that and made a mix-and-match of "easy" and "normal".

It's mostly set to normal, except when my guys level up they'll have their health and power points restored. 😉 Sounds fantastic to me!

20220403114325_1.jpg

With my difficulty sorted out, it was time to choose my starter Coromon.

Apparently you can actually get a "potent/perfect" (shiny) starter Coromon if you have the willpower to sit there and reload for a couple of hours, but I don't really care. If I find one out in the wild, that'll be great! But I'm not so obsessed that I'll sit there and reload until I get one.

I chose the fire type. Toruga.

20220403114726_1.jpg

With my new friend tucked into my special gauntlet that holds all of my information and Coromon, I was given a lab coat and glasses and led to a map interface and told what was expected of me. I was to become part of this Titan Taskforce and gather essences of the great Titans as I perform my research out in the field.

I was tasked to go to a nearby town to have an essence gatherer installed in my gauntlet so I could begin my quest.

20220403121952_1.jpg

Before going to the next town, I decided I would rather wander through the bushes and capture some Coromon until I had a full gauntlet, and level them all up to at least 8 before even setting foot in the next town.

20220403121902_1.jpg

Something I really like is how I have the ability to choose some of the stats of my creatures.

Coromon basically have two levelling up bars. The normal level up that auto-upgrades their base stats as per normal in a Pokemon-type game, and the Potential level up which gives you 3 skill points to put wherever you wish!

I really like having this bit of choice here. 😁

20220403122453_1.jpg

As you play the game and complete various achievement-type things called Milestones, you can claim points towards promoting your Battle Researcher and getting rewards for each promotion!

I think that's a cool addition to this type of game too, although I'm disappointed that they haven't implemented the Steam achievements system for this too.

20220403123635_1.jpg

I got three of my Coromon to level 8 before finishing up for the day and took them to the nearby health centre to get them all healed up and ready for tomorrow! 😊 I'm not planning on rushing this game, instead I'm planning on taking my time through it and treating it as I would a normal Pokemon game.

image.png

I'm the type of person who can spend hours and hours just levelling up my creatures until they're the best they can be and I'm excited to see if there are any other systems later on this game. For example, "shows" or "breeding." That'll be cool. Just some extra things to keep you playing for longer in this monster filled world.

If you're interested in Pokemon-like monster-collecting games, you can find more information about Coromon here: on the Steam store.

I haven't gotten very far in it at all, not enough to leave a proper review or first impressions or anything, but I really enjoyed the demo and I'm enjoying this full release so far too! And I'm planning on writing a few more posts about it as I proceed further. 😊

 

Until next time!! 😃🦄

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Coromon.

Sort:  

Coromon also caught my attention while I was browsing the Steam store pages, it does look pretty cute but I feel like I've outgrown the Pokemon formula some time back 😂 Hopefully they'll have new mechanics that'll keep things fresh!

 2 years ago  

So far the battles are pretty much the same as Pokemon, but I do like how they've added multiple difficulty choices, an achievement+reward system, and the ability to assign your own skill points to your monsters! 😁

I also like that I'm not just some kid, going around randomly catching creatures just to battle them for some unknown reason. 😅

I read about the adjusting difficulty system, seems pretty neat and it does seem like they've added in enough stuff to justify themselves as not just another Pokemon clone haha. Not sure how this compares with something like Temtem but hopefully I'll check them out one day!

 2 years ago  

I tried Temtem but couldn't really get into it. 😞 Having a Pokemon type thing in an MMO setting sounded really cool though!! But, at the time, I think I was just wanting proper Pokemon and didn't really give Temtem a proper chance.

What an epic game, I didn't know it, I am a pokemon lover but I am tired of the same pokemon, I would love to play this game.

 2 years ago  

If you love pokemon I think you'll love this too! 😃

 2 years ago  

pokemon with manual allocation of stats. huh.

and the artstyle is cute. huh.

this is nice.

Nintendo Wants to Know Your Location

 2 years ago  

Thankfully genres can't be copyrighted! 😁

Pretty sure if they could, Nintendo would be a lot richer xD

 2 years ago  

Oh man, can you imagine xD they'd have sued the pants off so many people! All the gathering life sim things, platformers, metroidvanias, monster collectors, the RPG genre alone... D: so much would not exist.

And you know what? If they could do it, they 100% would.

I like monster of coromon, they are cool
Design is simple like farm and super Mario game

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!