Diablo 4 Open Beta! ~ First Impressions.

in Hive Gaminglast year

d4header.png

The Diablo 4 open beta started today! Well, for those who pre-ordered the game. There's another beta weekend next week for those who haven't pre-ordered, but for us who did — we have two beta weekends to get shit done! xD

You get a whole lot of goodies for participating in the beta and reaching level 20. Those goodies can be redeemed once the game launches in June, and I'm looking forward to it! Especially the adorable little wolfie my person can carry on her back.

image.png

First of all, the beta download was a whopping 85gb. Which I was very surprised about. I had just enough room but it makes me wonder how large the full game is going to be and what I'm going to have to uninstall to fit it on my main drive. 😅

Guess I'm going to have to finish my Dragon Age Inquisition playthrough, stat, and get it off my drive to make room for new things.

image.png

Next, I was a little concerned when the game literally took five minutes to load on my PC. The first time I opened it and nothing happened, I tried to check task manager to see what was going on and it wouldn't open. Internet pages wouldn't open. Nothing would open. So I thought maybe I'd better restart the computer... I couldn't even restart. So I forced a shutdown and tried again.

It happened again. This time I decided to wait to see if it would just eventually load. And it did, five whole minutes later. Hopefully that's fixed before the June launch, HAHA.

I got popped into a queue, a very large queue, and waited for my time to shine.

image.png

During this first open beta weekend, we have access to the Sorcerer, Barbarian and Rogue, and next weekend we'll also have the Druid and the Necromancer. I decided on the Sorcerer... and maybe I'll dabble in the Necromancer next weekend. We'll see!

My main intent in this is to reach the max beta level of 25 and finish Act 1. I don't want to throw myself into this. It's just a beta. I'm only here for the free goodies for when the game actually releases, and to see how the game plays and prepare myself for the future.

image.png

I was pleased to discover that I could create my own character! The options are a bit lacking, but it's better than anything else on offer for an ARPG as far as I'm aware... well, except Lost Ark, but that's completely different.

To be ideal, for someone like me, there'd need to be more face options and more hair options. Also more hair colours. Why can I have teal hair but not purple? What kind of sorceress has ragged barbarian mohawks? I do like the skin colours, makeup, tattoos and jewellery though. Heaps of choice there.

image.png

At first glance, the talent tree looks just like that — a talent tree!

However, once looking at it a little more deeply, you can see that in the end you still only have a few abilities and how you spec into them is basically how things would've turned out in Diablo 3 anyway.

I'm still selecting an ability, and putting a glyph on it. Basically. Just done in a fancier manner.

That doesn't bother me! I personally didn't mind Diablo 3 but I know others hated the lack of talent choice. I'm just saying that it seems to be much same but with an illusion of choice. There are a few tiny tweaks and whatnot to further improve upon your choice, but that's about it.

image.png

I've decided to go a fire build, naturally. What kind of wizard doesn't want to throw fire around the place, right?

So far it seems just as I thought it would be. You have your 4 abilities bound to 1-4 and you have right and left click. Mana generator and main mana user. Simple and standard. I don't need change and I like this approach.

Screenshot019.jpg

I'm playing on the hardest difficulty it will allow me to — minus the hardcore — and I'm finding it quite easy. The first boss you come across is a big arse guy who summons little guys and will occasionally leap around and clobber you.

Easy to dodge, easy to kill the little guys and get back to killing the main guy, and not much damage is taken at all. It's supposed to be a more challenging mode for people familiar with Diablo and ARPGs... and it doesn't feel challenging at all. I'd hate to see what easy mode is like. One shot everything without merit?

Screenshot028.jpg

Once I reached the town of Act 1, I immediately felt similar vibes to Lost Ark. I feel as though the Diablo devs have drawn quite a bit of inspiration from it.

image.png

The renown per region in particular is what jumped out at me as a direct Lost Ark influence, and just in the manner it's presented.

image.png

And then, of course, the Collections tab where you unlock further things to change up your gameplay. It reminded me a lot of the cards you collect in Lost Ark.

I'm not complaining at all! I really enjoyed Lost Ark and all the little things you could do. It would be amazing if this ends up as in-depth as that, truly.

Screenshot034.jpg

Before doing any main quests, I decided to check out the map and discovered that where I first started from were a few dungeons. Each one seemed to offer a reward for different classes, so I headed for the one that would give me a reward for my Sorcerer, though it seems like when you unlock things it just maaaay be available for all characters you create.

Screenshot036.jpg

On my way to that dungeon, I came across two events which were far more challenging than the first boss I fought. Perhaps that was just "Prologue Difficulty" which makes me a little more confident in the new challenge I'll be able to face.

Screenshot044.jpg

Once I arrived in the dungeon, I indeed faced enemies that were as challenging as I hoped, thankfully! I even died once!

I had to go through the dungeon and kill two special elites that would unlock the way forward, then inside the sanctum I discovered a coffin bound by pillars I needed to activate.

To activate those I needed to explore the area and kill many, many things until I came across some mechanical lockboxes on the ground, which needed to be placed in the pillars which unleashed the boss of the dungeon.

Screenshot050.jpg

Once I killed the boss, I was rewarded with an aspect I can use for my sorcerer.

Screenshot053.jpg

I was thinking that these things might be passive, but I was wrong. In order to use the aspect you've collected, you need to visit an Occultist in the town and imbue an item with the aspect which costs gold and crafting materials.

That's pretty spiffy. I approve.

Screenshot060.jpg

As seems to be typical for my Diablo experience, the very first legendary item that I found is, of course, a helm! Only it's not King Leoric's this time xD.

I've picked up two legendaries as of writing this and both have abilities on them that seem useful. One's to walk unhindered through enemies when I have my flame shield active, and this one screenshotted above allows me a barrier during elite encounters.

Some items allow you to have an ability too, without needing to spec into it. I thought that was pretty snazzy.

Screenshot062.jpg

What's also pretty snazzy is the ability to dash! It's not a "movement skill" you have to spec into, it's just space bar. That's so very helpful.

Screenshot066.jpg

There's a vendor in a couple of the towns who basically serves as Kadala, except you don't have to run rifts or kill bloodshard goblins to get the currency. The currency required seems to drop from the events you come across in the open world, and then you spend them at her to buy a random roll of an item you might like.

I got this cool ring that my partner would've liked since he's on a lightning sorcerer at the moment. Still good for me though, even without using the ability that it would buff.

Screenshot067.jpg

The larger fights I've come across have been fairly interesting. They all seem to have their own mechanics for you to take note of with visual cues for keeping watch on things that could explode and you need to avoid the damage of those things.

Some dude was complaining in chat about the difficulty of one of the fights at the end of one of the dungeons, where you kill a werewolf den mother. He, clearly, wasn't paying attention to the visual cues.

Screenshot074.jpg

The servers are being absolutely throttled today, which is silly because surely they knew how many pre-orders were in the system and how much space to allocate for the mass of people testing the game this weekend.

It makes me cringe in advance for next weekend when the gates open and the servers are flooded with everyone else, also.

Hopefully they've embiggened the servers by that point, but it's doubtful. I'm expecting queues upon queues and plenty of disconnects. I've only been disconnected once today, thankfully, but my partner has suffered through four of the things. You get disconnected back to the character selection screen, but you can't get back into the game. You have to close it, reopen it, then re-sit through the queue again before you can continue where you left off.

Screenshot072.jpg

The story seems interesting enough so far, but in saying that: I've only played Diablo 3, don't know much of the lore and backstory, and I play these games because I find the gameplay loop fun. Yes, I care about story in a lot of games... not so much this type of game. Is it fun to play? Is it fun to grind? Can I play this with my partner? Those are my tickboxes for this type of game.

Overall, so far I'm really enjoying it and am looking forward to diving into it properly come release day. Once I reached level 20 I focused on the Campaign instead of all the other little things around, just so I could finish Act 1. I'm more interested in finding all the smaller details once the game is actually out and I can enjoy it properly.

I'm rather liking the open-world slight-mmo feeling it has to it. It's not so burdensome that there are people everywhere, just a handful. It's pretty cool doing an event and then having some randos pop up to help you complete it in time and then disappear as they go do their own thing. There seems to be many events, dungeons, special high-level areas, and things to work on for a completionist.

I'd be interested to see what they've got planned for end game activities. Diablo 3 had the bounties and greater rifts... but I guess we won't really find out about that until release.

But yeah, overall, from first impressions of Act 1 at least, it seems pretty spiffy... for a filthy pleb like me who didn't play the renowned Diablo 2. For a filthy pleb like me who actually, dare I say it, enjoyed Diablo 3.

Take my opinion with a grain of salt if you're a hardcore Diablo player. xD I'm just a casual. For all I know, "proper players" are screaming in agony while I'm sitting here squealing with glee.

 

Until next time! 🙃😈⚔️

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Diablo 4, open beta.

Sort:  
 last year  

as a diablo 2 enjoyer... HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
I see they are reusing the stat system used diablo 3.

biggest difference between diablo 2 and 3 are gear and monster scaling. in diablo 2. a gear has a fixed stat. in diablo 3 a level 2 sword is better than a level 1 sword.

so... does this game have mercenaries/followers?

Thank you for this article, I am very curious about diablo 4. 😊

 last year  

Ah okay -- in this, gear seems.... I don't know. I've used lower power level gear because the stats were better than higher power level gear. Probably be different once end game hits. Maybe. Lol. We'll have to wait and see xD

Monsters seem to scale with you from what I've noticed, except for in certain areas that were a fixed level. Most were scaled though.

So far I'm not too sure about mercs and companions and I was wondering the same thing. As you go throughout some story areas, a follower tags along... but so far I haven't noticed anything about them joining me and me being able to equip them with gear and give them some helpful talents. From what I was reading in an article a while back, they weren't planning on including followers at launch... that kind of leaves it open for later on though. xD "At launch."

That opening screenshot is epic :).

"I had just enough room but it makes me wonder how large the full game is going to be and what I'm going to have to uninstall to fit it on my main drive. 😅"

I guess I should play Next Gen Witcher 3 a bit more before June,see what I need to see there and get those 90 gigs of hard drive space back. Games are getting insanely huge, Baulders Gate 3s probably going to need its own hard drive.

There's something about the orange text on Legendary items that is super sexy. Is that the highest tier or is there an even sexier color above that?

 last year  

Yeah, I really liked that screenie! 😁

Games certainly are getting massive these days. I really wasn't expecting this to be so large for just Act 1. Unless it's secretly the entire game but they've just locked access to certain areas. Baldur's Gate 3 is coming soooooooooooooon!! I'm sooo looking forward to finally playing it! Not buying into the early access took a lot of willpower. 😅 I'm really going to have to rearrange my SSD.

As for Legendary items in this... I'm hoping they've still got what they call Ancient Legendaries! Which are Legendaries but rolled with slightly higher stats and they have a nice gold border around the orange icon.

image.png

The gold border!!! 😁

Damn thats a sexy ring , gotta love it when an item has some lore attached to it "In the spring her tribe found her frozen corpse a short distance from her camp holding this ring up to the heavens" awesome :)

Sounds like Path of Exile is still the superior game when compared to Diablo 4.

Don't support Blizzard. Support Grinding Gear Games and Path of Exile. It is miles more technical, punishing, entertaining, and enjoyable. The only thing it probably lacks is the presentation, polish, and pompous marketing that Diablo can benefit from.

Path of Exile is also free to play, with only cosmetics (and inventory stash storage) being the only micro transactions.

Why are people continuing to give Blizzard / MS their money when there's a far superior product out there?! :D

 last year  

I have played my fair share of Path of Exile, haha. More than my fair share! And given them more than enough of my money too for various cosmetics and stash storage. I intend to play it some more when the next League is released in a few weeks, too!

image.png

Why not both games? xD

I find Diablo is fantastic for when you want to play an ARPG but don't want to deal with the burden of overcomplexity. Sometimes I just like to phase out and throw fireballs. If I do that in Path of Exile, I'll be dead in two seconds. 😂

This is fair. I have slightly less hours under my belt :D

image.png

Diablo is amazing, I'm impressed that they are now adapting the open world concept in their games, it actually looks beautiful the fucking game lol.

 last year  

The graphics are very nice! I was a bit on the fence with how they were going to implement an active open world into the game, but so far seems good. 🙂

Waiiiittt a minute....

Wtf is this?

Am I so unclued as to what is going on in the gaming world???

Im beyond shocked!! Like dayum!

When js the release date?? 😂😂

Me personally liked Diablo 2 a lot more than I did number three

Release date is 6.6 ;)
Its good so far.
I have played the beta aswell :D

 last year  

Haha!! xD

You are! SO UNCLUED! But it's okay, I'll forgive you. I live under a rock sometimes too. 😅 But yes! June the 6th, this releases, and so far I'm pretty certain it's gonna be great.

My partner didn't like Diablo 3 because, in his words, "It was too colourful, fairy rainbow colours everywhere in a dark gloomy game. And the talents sucked." ~ Diablo 3 was my first Diablo game and I really enjoyed it. I didn't think it was too colourful and overtaking the grittiness of the world, though I do admit the talents were very lite.

Compared to diablo 2 I kind of felt the same way... It felt like a whole different game and I DID give it a go at some point but it just didn't grab my attention at all. Not to mention the fact that the game was supposed to be released and then only released 3 or 4 years later😂 that was the biggest disappointment back then...

But perhaps I should suck it up and do a run through of the game... I think this time around I might enjoy it 😂 looking for something more relaxed to play.

BUT number four looksss frikkin cool though

Lulz, I nevet played 3, now I have to catch up to this whole disaster XD

I don't think number three is worth playing 😂😂

oh heck :( but 4 wont run on my pc no matter what, 3 might XD

Id rather replay number two😂😂. But I am considering giving three a go😂👀

Xd as it weighs 85gb, I was crazy, and I have not played the diablo saga, but I've heard a lot of it, and I think it's an incredible idea that they are going to release a new version with open world, I hope to play it, and also pray that the PC works JAKSKSJ

Great to see you jumped into this one as well. I am so tired. Whish they gave us a couple more days. At least we are only waiting till Friday for open beta!

 last year  

Yeah, I was surprised that it was the weekend only. But it was long enough to get to level 25 and finish Act 1 at least and get the beta goodies :D I'm looking forward to next weekend to check out the Necromancer, but other than that, happy waiting for full release. Hoping they patch a few things before then like server issues and the abysmal loading time of the game itself which soft-locked mine and my partner's entire PCs.

I love how it looks but I hate how the servers are flood even before the total launch, this is insane, how a big game like Diablo can allow something like that happening? It is crazy...

 last year  

Yeah, I'm hoping they fix the servers, haha! Blizzard are known for having terrible launches because of their servers, so it would be nice if when this actually launches in June they've learnt from past mistakes.

Unlikely, haha, but hopefully!

Blizzard is still blizzard, nothing to do there, they gonna do a terrible launch xD

I hope there will be no problems when the rest of the players can access it, the game looks pretty good.

 last year  

Hopefully they'll have ironed out the issues! 😊 From what little I experienced, it was pretty good. Looking forward to playing it when it actually releases!

I want to play it too hahaha enjoy it.