Fantasy Blacksmith -- an unplayable sword-crafting simulator

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

Simulator? I'm not even sure what genre this game would fall under... but whatever it is, it came to me in a Humble Bundle after I had looked at it a couple of times on the Steam store.

It seemed interesting -- I liked the idea of being a medieval blacksmith; designing and forging my own swords to sell to the brave knights of the realm, and it just seemed like a different type of game, unique, pretty cool, mostly positive reviews, what could go wrong?

A lot, apparently.

header.png

Take my very harsh write-up with a grain of salt because I couldn't stand to have this "game" open for longer than 5 minutes.

In my opinion it was so bad that when I closed it I immediately uninstalled it -- something I very rarely do: usually I'll have those meh type of games just sit in my library until I need to free up some disk space.

.......then I realised that I needed to re-download the stupid thing so I could take a couple of screenshots so I could write up a post and bitch about it.

1.png

My very first impression was, "Damn, this looks like it's still in a very early alpha." -- Which it is not. It's a fully released game.

The start-screen design looks like it came out of the late 90's. Not something that'll normally turn me off a game, so I continued on, but slightly more cautious now.

3.png

Only to realise that the game is so dark you can barely see a thing until you walk right up close to it. Apparently sconces aren't actually light sources.

2.png

Through a tutorial book sitting on the table, the game tells you how to interact with things! Then the buttons don't work when you try to interact with those things.

If you can actually interact with the piece of paper that allows you to buy things from the nearby village in order to start your blacksmith business, the UI is unusable, unintuitive, and doesn't allow you to actually BUY the things -- add the things to your cart -- you need until you open and close it approximately 5 million times.

It's god-awful.

wut.png

So the game has a rating of MOSTLY POSITIVE! on the Steam Store. I only skimmed them last time, but now with my 5 minute experience fresh and alive I decided to actually read the reviews.

Reviews speak of a clunky game with controls that only work half the time. These reviews are positive. They talk about having to reload the game several times in order to get things to work. These reviews are still positive! "This game has bugs detrimental to the player experience." Guess what? That quote was written in yet another positive review! "Can't see shit in this game." ... ... you guessed it, from another positive review.

If I had actually bought this game, I would've refunded it.
Luckily, it came to me in a Humble Bundle pack alongside far superior games.

Do not recommend.

Wish people wouldn't rate a broken, janky, clunky control shithouse of a game "positive" when it's clearly a big fat negative.

I'm not usually so negative! I don't like being so negative.
But. Ugh. This thing is horrible.

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by. 🔥

 


 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from an abysmal "game" called: Fantasy Blacksmith

Sort:  

Oh pity, it looks like a good concept!

 3 years ago  

It really is a good concept! It's just executed so poorly. I'd love it if they manage to fix all these terrible bugs and UI glitches and maybe tidy it up a bit, or if someone else decides to try their hand at making their own version of it. The idea is great!

I had similar experiences with some of the tavern keeper news. Interesting, but oh so clunky!

Well shit, I had seen this in my Humble and thought it looked promising! I was going to download it in the next week or two finally and give it a go. Glad I didn't, as now I can save myself frustration over wasting what little spare time I have to game on this POS.

Thanks for the warning away from this hot mess!

 3 years ago  

No worries -- could always give it a shot though! You might have a different experience, but mine was pretty shite, haha.

It's disappointing. This game had a unique concept and sounded like it could be pretty spiffy, and the store screenshots were great. It might be playable after a few bug fixes and a bit of a cleanup and whatnot, but, ugh.

Hi @kaelci,
Going through this game review, I can imagine how you felt with the game. Maybe the creators of the game need to fix up a few things to bring up the standard of the game.

Cheers. Enjoy your weekend.

Yours, Piotr

 3 years ago  

They definitely do need to fix up a few things -- hopefully one day they will! 🙂

Hope you've had a lovely weekend also. 🙂