You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts about the newest Humble Drop and Historical Listing (up to November 2022)

in Hive Gaminglast year

Kingdoms of Amalur was a spectacular and expensive failure... there was so much money thrown at this game and development studio... and despite coming out with something decent, it eventually caved. So, the epic series wasn't quite finished... but what was produced was quite promising. The remastered edition will be a keeper for me... I never played the original despite hearing about it all the time (probably that is why the studio crashed... people like me...). So, here is my chance to play the updated version to see if it was all it was cracked up to be!

Kingdoms of Amalur was a good game, though misadvertised. The only reason I bought it was because some videogame reviewers were talking about how it was "just like an Elder Scrolls game!!! OMG!!!" so I bought it thinking it was like an Elder Scrolls game. It is nothing like an Elder Scrolls game.

So, I never really gave it a chance because of that. I got halfway through it and just... stopped playing. It wasn't what I wanted. It was good. But not what I wanted. xD

I bought Re-Reckoning when it was released because the new studio that had taken it over also promised to finish the game and do an expansion (which they did!) but haven't gotten around to playing it yet although two friends tell me that it's worthwhile. I plan to jump in and go on a full adventure at some point, this time knowing that this game is nothing like an Elder Scrolls game. Haha! 😅

Sort:  

Ah... so, I should really give a go then! Perhaps it will be a good fit for the Steam Deck to take on work trips! It is more like an ARPG than a real RPG?