You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Games and their impact on Mental Health

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

I used to be addicted to the most silliest of games... a little MMO called Puzzle Pirates. I would be in it all day, all night, sleep for maybe 2-3 hours, and do it all again. I would fret when I was away from it. I was terrible.

But now that I'm older, I realise that I wasn't addicted to the actual game... I was addicted to the social aspect of the game. I loved the people. As someone who also suffers from anxiety and whatnot, to the stage of being afraid to leave the house at one point, I was addicted to the only friends I thought I had. 🙂

Not even sure how I got out of that... that was a good 15-16years ago now... but I've always been very careful since then.

Sort:  

I was kind of in the same boat with SWTOR. Like I can go back and play it now and I'm perfectly fine. I think in that time of my life I just really needed something to distract me from the outside world and SWTOR fit that role.