Blog#28: Recap after the first few days Trial of the Gods!

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

The first Gods Unchained expansion, Trial of the Gods, is out for five days now. We have seen single players invest thousands of dollars into new cards. I also bought some packs and want to talk about the most metachanging cards so far.

Metachanging cards

There was not much time to create innovative decks with all the new cards, and everyone wanted to make sure to grab the weekend rewards. Therefore, most of the decks were just slightly altered. The card that shines the most right now and is considered broken by almost everyone is called "Jaguar Staff". It's a 5 mana 2/4 weapon with Blitz, that summons a Black Jaguar every time you attack with it. It offers a lot of board control while at the same time expanding your own board. It is a Common card, so lots of people (including me) got the chance to play it already. Black Jaguar itself is a strong card, but the newly added Regen synergies make it even stronger.

JaguarStaffFOrmOfUnity.jpg

Another interesting Card that got played a lot is Form of Unity. It is a cheap card that can do up to 12 face damage under the right circumstances. Magic has several possibilities to fill their board, either by reducing the cost of Portal Wrangler to 0 and summoning copies of it, or with cheap 1 mana cards with Ward like Shadow Scryer and Flying Carpet, OR with the new relic Rod of Rodents. Lots of possibilities there.

A card that I see a lot of potential in is Skull Scepter, a 0/1 death relic that costs 1 mana. It deals 1 damage to your opponent whenever one of your creatures die, and it never loses durability (it hast to be destroyed). Therefore, it is a great addition to death rush decks. Besides these single cards, some old deck types also got great additions and were made playable again. The Chosen One now is much more dangerous than before, because it is easier to get to your hand now.

SkullScepterSelena.jpg

Personal favorites so far

Because new cards aren't minted yet, I had to rely on the cards I could get from packs. From 2 legendary and ~60 rare Packs, I got 5 legendaries (Pallas Wand, Selena, Chiron, and 2x Orfeo). While the legendaries themselves aren't that great, I am happy that I got so many of them. The most interesting of them to me is Selena, because it can be easily integrated in my existing Nature deck. I was sceptic at first, because I thought it would be hard to keep her on the board even for one turn, but most times she was there even longer and dealt significant amounts of damage to enemy creatures. When I occasionally got Selenas Bow from Forage, I noticed its random targeting bothered me a lot. This is why I prefer Selena over her Bow for now.

More to come

Of course this is just the tip of the iceberg. Whenever there is a new interesting deck or card combo, I will post it here. What is your personal favorite so far? Let me know :)