Kentzz review/thoughts | F1 2020 Official Videogame | [ENG]

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Source: The screenshot is taken from the internet

I've been enjoying playing the F1 series since 2015, so I'd say I've played it a lot :P I really like watching Formula One as the highest class of international auto racing. Also, there's a really good Netflix documentary series, produced by Netflix and Formula One to give a behind-the-scenes look at the drivers and races of the Formula One World Championship. Currently, I've watched 2 out of the 3 seasons and I say it's really enjoyable to watch, so my recommendation for that. Codemasters' F1 series continues to accumulate miles, the rivalry, expanding the F2 series, and adding the My Team mode for the first time in the game series.

image.png Source: The screenshot is taken by me, from Netflix

The Austrian Grand Prix demonstrated how thrilling and chaotic F1 can be and also set a precedent for the F1 2020 game to follow. Since Sumo Digital's releases F1 2009 for the Wii, the F1 franchise has come a long way to up and very enjoyable every year with updates, driver movements and etc. Codemaster's new is the company's largest and most extensive recreation of the sport, as well as its finest yet. F1 2020 also pays homage to this year's 70th anniversary of the F1 Championship, the game is available on PC, PS4, and Xbox One, I'm playing it on PC with the Logitech G29 racing wheel. F1 2020 comes in two editions: the Seventy Edition and the Deluxe Schumacher Edition.

Over the last few years, Codemasters has gradually expanded its F1 game portfolio. It has refined Career mode, added classic cars, which returns with a slew of Michael Schumacher attempts, enhanced its AI drivers. Also introduced new modes in the completely approved F2 series, which now feels like a permanent fixture of the racing landscape. I've chosen Aston Martin Red Bull Racing (yep, on F1 2020 was with that name, now as a 2021 season, it's called Red Bull Racing Honda) as my team and journey to the F1 2020 game season (started from F2).

20210410162202_1.jpg Source: The screenshot is taken by me

With racing styles in Standard and Casual, a plethora of driving aids can help those looking to (literally) get to grips with the game. The former is designed for experienced racers and helps them to activate or deactivate assist functions. By removing the more advanced systems and replacing them with assisted steering, Casual provides the most approachable F1 experience. While racing has a simulation component (although ERS has been simplified), it lacks the realism of iRacing. Disable all of the aides (in this case, I'd say I'm not that compatible to disable all of the aides :P).

The AI Driving has been improved a lot. Higher levels of difficulty, They're more likely to give it a shot to overtake you. The AI hounds your gearbox at Master difficulty and above, dive-bombing the inside line or toughing it out on the outside. Overtakes aren't a parade because they're more alert and aggressive to cover their track sides. As a result, I've been sliding the difficulty race after race to make a comfortable for me to be as much competitive as I can. OF course, when you feel yourself a racing expert you can try Master, Legend, and Ultimate difficulties.

Also, Career Mode has been extended so that you can begin your career with a full season in the F2 (junior) category and work your way up to F1 or use the new My Team mode - There you can create your F1 team and sign your own drivers, first from the youth categories, power units, design your own team livery and etc. Grant cash/resource points to build your dream F1 racing car to be competitive for the top of the top F1 teams.


Source: The screenshot is taken by me


Source: The screenshot is taken by me


Source: The screenshot is taken by me

Source: The screenshot is taken by me

20210410162202_1.jpg Source: The screenshot is taken by me

Also in the F1 2020 game, there's a dedicated section for F1 eSports as well, as we know the F1 eSports getting huge boost during the lockdowns. I haven't had much time to try out the multiplayer, but the run-up to a race I think is similar to a race weekend, with practicing and qualification to get your starting spot. On race days, if no one else is in the lobby, you can compete against AI bots.

Now you may ask, is it worth do buy? F1 2020 is unquestionably a must-have for any F1 racing enthusiast. With revamped AI, it's the most detailed and authentic perspective on the sport yet, and the My Squad mode offers a convincing opportunity to lead a budding team to championship glory.

Codemasters iterated on the core and improved it with a plethora of modes and connectivity. The Schumacher Deluxe version is the icing on the cake for Schumacher enthusiasts trying to get their hands on some of his most iconic drives. F1 2020 is now one of the best single-player racing experiences. I truly hope it will stay like that and goes for an even better year, by year. As we know EA bought Codemaster's for $1.2 billion by outbidding Take-Two. And now I seriously hope they don't f*ck up the racing game franchise.

Thank you for reading and all the best!
@kentzz001

Sort:  

Great to see that you're back on track. I'm not all that into racing games myself. Not since the days of Need for Speed: Underground 1/2 or Most Wanted. I've browsed past that series on Netflix a couple of times though and thought it looked interesting. Might give it a go.

Thank you for the comment! Yeah, everyone has a different taste :) NFS is also a good franchise, back in time, I remember playing Underground 2 on my PS2 for so long that the game disk just literally wore off: P Yep, that Netflix series is what I recommend you to watch.