What I'm Playing this Weekend

in Hive Gaminglast year

TLDR: Blocklords and Diablo 4!

Hi all,

I'm taking the weekend off from Gods Unchained to play some other titles. Diablo 4's second open beta is this weekend, so that was a must. Blocklords also released seasonal goals (daily, weekly, and season-long goals) that offer an NFT reward at the end, so I've been working on that, too.

Diablo 4

Server slam event! The idea was to run an open beta for Blizzard to determine how many servers they'd need on release. Seeing as how I never queued, I'm guessing they had enough. Hopefully, that means launch day will be smooth. Also, since they are giving the fanatics the ability to start playing 4 days early (by paying more for the game), that should also help lessen the load on launch day.

In the Server Slam, the level cap is 20, and the stretch goal (for a cosmetic mount reward) is to kill the first world boss Ashava (level 25 world boss). Whelp, I was ready with my level 20 necromancer for the very first spawn!

ashava

source: https://www.polygon.com/diablo-4-guides/23650426/ashava-world-boss-spawn-times-location-et-pt-cest-bst-uk

It was my first time fighting that boss, and it was a nice challenge! I'm honestly not sure our group could have beaten it on Veteran difficulty. Luckily, I had blood mist on my necromancer, and was able to dissolve (and become invincible) for the boss's ultimate: a nearly 360 screen-wide sweep of death.

In the first beta, I tried out the sorceress (my go-to diablo character). In this one, I tried out the Necromancer. I'm glad I tried it out. It was alright, but I won't be going with him for my first character. Based on feedback, the skeletons had been nerfed pretty heavily, but even ignoring that, the play style wasn't quite what I was looking for. I went with a build focused on Bone Spear, and it was still not quite active enough. Honestly, I may try out a Barbarian or Rogue for the first character.

Blocklords

Blocklords is in Beta, and to keep people engaged/playing/testing, they've released seasonal rewards:

image.png

If you can reach 10k XP, you get a Legacy Militia hero. Blocklords is like an Age of Empires-style game (but multiplayer) and a few key pieces of the game (heroes) are actually NFTs. That might not be for everyone, but I love the concept. I actually also like that the NFT component is limited. Not every loaf of bread or grain of wheat requires a wallet transaction. Actually, playing the game day to day you don't need the blockchain at all, which is nice.

I've got all 14 squads recruited (max for beta). I have 2 of every type of squad (woodcutters, stone miners, cooks, etc.), and I've gotten into a pretty self-sustaining loop of producing food, tools, and all the other materials I can sell for gold.

My gaming group realized that the events (of which you need 65) are actually time locked. As in you only get X per hour. This is nice, because they build up while you aren't playing. Then when you log in, you'll get 3-5 quickly.

So far, I'm on pace to reach 10k xp, but we'll see if I can keep that pace up.

Conclusion

It's been a nice change of pace. I've actually not been playing Gods Unchained much at all this week. Maybe 1-3 games a day. It's nice when you have 10 minutes to kill and can play a quick aggro deck and be done.

You don't need my recommendation to try D4. It's a huge game. If you even sort of like ARPGs, you'd better be signed up to play. It's amazing - even just to level 20.

Blocklords may not be everyone's cup of tea. Not everyone likes Age of Empires. Not everyone likes NFTs. With that said, though, I think the game has quite a bit of promise. I'm hoping it will deliver.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I am hoping it will deliver too. I can see that you had fun trying these games out and looking into detailed strategies to use when you are fully initiated into them. I am sure you'll have more fun when unlocking other levels or accumulating XP or fighting the level 25 monster. All the best in your free time gaming.

So many games, impossible to play all of them because time is a limited resource. Do you need to pay to play Blocklords?

Nope. Right now everyone who signs up gets a free hero NFT, which lets you play the beta.

playing games is always fun, and you know very well how to spend your weekend in the best way possible. ;)

I haven't played this game before but the way you describe it is very interesting and how it is played I will try to play it in the next few days and Tell you how I feel.

Thanks for the heads up. Just downloaded and installed Blocklords now. I saw Blocklords still on Polygon, will it move to IMX?

TLDR: Blocklords and Diablo 4!

Thanks for saving me from reading the whole post man :D

Just kidding, of course I read the whole post. I'm sure a lot of people know about Diablo 4, but Blocklords looks like a good NFT game. I like strategy style games. Good luck on your way to 10k XP!

You have a good information how to play this game. Very good.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more