Outriders - An Initial Review!

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Outriders Playthrough and Review


Hey there Gamers! Normally you see me blogging about Valheim, although I have the material for another post, I wanted to go over "Outriders" as I've recently acquired it with some influence from a friend.

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_08_13 PM.png

Screenshot By Me


Whats the Setting?

Hey there Gamers! Normally you see me blogging about Valheim, although I have a the material for another post, I wanted to go over "Outriders" as I've recently acquired it, with some influence from a friend. Outriders is a something like a post-apocalyptic game. Earth is on the verge of destruction, so some were selected to enter space for some time and travel to Enoch, the last planet of hope. When you land, everything isn't as it seemed from the data probes that were sent ahead of time. There is a force called the "Anomaly", a storm of sorts, that wreaks havoc on electrical equipment and fragments human bodies. So much for Utopia...

Character Creation



Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_11_04 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

At the character selection screen you have the option of being male or female. I don't normally play females characters, but I thought for this I would try something new, especially because of the class I was going to play - The Pyromancer. You have some basic options of face types with a couple options for different races, basically, for example; White, Black, and Asian. You can also choose from about ten or so options for hair style with the ability to modify its color. You can also choose whether to have "markings", which are basically scars, piercings, and makeup. Above is my final layout of my characters attributes.

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_12_55 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

This is what my character looked like starting the game. Keep in mind that the intro you look like this, but once shit goes down after you land on Enoch you are in your skivvies.

Enter Enoch

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_17_08 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

You land on Enoch, after some introduction cutscenes, somewhere around the year 2186 I think. You're part of a group of badasses known as "The Outriders". Basically you're a hired gun, and good at it as that's how you were able to get on the ship to leave earth. It looks somewhat how I'd expect earth to look except it's not as it seems.

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_35_31 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

Here you can see some of the environment around the base camp you set up initially. If you look closely to the top right quadrant, you'll see some of the herd wildlife, massive beasts that are presumably "vegetarian" as one of the characters points out aka herbivores. The plant life is a bit intriguing if you look closely.


Boss Fights!

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 7_46_41 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

This is the first boss I fought. I believe his name is Gauss. From what I have seen, at least early on, most of the boss fights have been against those who are called "Altered". This is also what you become after you run into the storm your first time and where you finally choose your "class". However, you don't physically change such as some of these bosses you face. This guy kicked my ass a couple times before I figured out how to play against him. He is a controls lightning and prefers to fight from range.

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 10_53_33 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

This is another boss I faced. I can't remember his name though. He carries a massive machine gun and is heavily armored. I believe he also has a charge he does.

Gear!

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_16_2021 1_12_30 AM.png

Screenshot By Me

Here was my loadout before I logged off. I played for maybe 4 hours or so. I can't remember, but I made it to level 9. This game is reminiscent of "The Division" in its play style and gameplay. I have myself a full set of Blue gear (minus a sidearm, but I don't really use it anyway). Blue rarity opens up class skill enhancements of the abilities. There are plenty of options for firearms from pistols to shotguns to sniper rifles. Each class has a preference for weapon type and playstyle, but all classes can use any weapon.


All in all a fun game so far. Like I stated earlier, it's similar to "The Division" so if you liked that game, you'll probably find this one fun as well. I did notice some minor annoyances through, such as choppy cut scenes. It's possible this is due to my internet, but I haven't had that problem on other games. Also the voice acting is pretty good as well. I will say that the story is pretty intriguing if you read the journal entries you find and watch the cutscenes. If you like story in your games, this has so far been pretty good.

Thanks for reading and I'll be posting some more screenshots of the gameplay below. 😀

More Screenshots For Your Viewing Pleasure

Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 5_41_24 PM.png

Screenshot By Me


Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_16_2021 12_05_25 AM.png

Screenshot By Me


Outriders (64-bit, PCD3D_SM5)   4_15_2021 11_47_02 PM.png

Screenshot By Me

Sort:  

The game actually looks like a lot of fun. Maybe a little heaving on the grinding side I wish there was some more depth to it but otherwise one of the cooler games to come out this year so far.

Yea I agree it is a bit grindy. It's also obvious when you will run into enemies. I think it could be better if they add more content and perhaps a raid like system for endgame.

I am having a lot of fun with this game. Great write up. That first boss was pretty hard and I don’t know how many times I died against him when I was using the devastator class. I had to drop my world tier down like 3 levels to be able to beat him.

Drop world tier down 3 levels.... I'm still playing on 2! I tried 3 and was getting my ass kicked all of a sudden but 2 isn't super difficult. Maybe I'll try 3 again since I've had some practice haha

Congratulations @leveluplifestyle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD
You distributed more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.
You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!