Ni no Kuni: Cross Worlds | Adventures in Mt. Know-How and Dimensional Border Ramblings


6.png

If not for the 300 day celebration event I would have forgotten that there is something called Dimensional Border. Aside from Natrum's Nest my progress for the Dimensional Pass for both Frozen Laboratory and Fiery Mt. Know-How is really pitiful. And what's worse is that even before I have the chance to complete the most basic passes they had this update to further extend the three Dimensional Border dungeons. There are now superior versions of each one. Well, the level requirement is quite steep for these so-called extensions since level 107 is the bare minimum for players to collect the upgraded essences which they referred to as the 'corrupted' versions of each.

CrossWorlds   29_03_2023 1_46_05 pm.png
Volcanord is Fiery Mt. Know-How's boss monster.

I just finished tier 3 of Fiery Mt. Know-How and it's really basic and poses no challenge since my character power is now nearing 2.7 M. The real trial is waiting for the 5-man party to be filled in. Even though the matchmaking is universal ( players can be matched with players of other servers) it's still difficult to find partymates since the game has progressed a lot and the average character now far surpassed the minimum requirements for Fiery Mt. Know-How's tier 3 which is just around 840,000 CP. Thankfully, after at least 15 minutes of waiting time I was finally matched and the raid started. Like I said it's already expected to finish smoothly. Adding that we have someone with more than 4 million character party in our team it was truly an overkill.

CrossWorlds   2023-03-29 14-26-04_Moment.jpg
Why is the aggro with me?

Unlike my waiting time experience in Fiery Mt. Know-How's third tier the next one is faster simply because there are still many players that doesn't reach the required level to enter the upgraded versions of the three dungeons. In this case they have no choice but to pick the best one remaining which is tier 4. In terms of level all dungeons have the same requirement but it's different if it's in terms of character power suggestions. Even before Natrum's Nest is a bit lenient followed by Frozen Laboratory and of course that makes Fiery Mt. Know-How as the strictest one. To compare their tier 4 CP suggestions Natrum's Nest has 904k, Frozen Lab has 1.05 M and Fiery Mt. Know-How has 1.11 M.

Today's Dimensional Border raid

I hate to tell you this but Dimensional Border is one of the most boring aspects of the game. This is one one the reasons why matchmaking took longer time compared to what it used to be. I think that the upgrade they had earlier this year was to address this issue. The maximum border tickets a player can hold is seven. Every reset one ticket is issued to a player until they reached the maximum seven tickets. But in my experience there were weeks even months when I didn't even touch tickets simply because it took alot of time burning them since there are fewer and fewer people doing matchmaking.

CrossWorlds   29_03_2023 2_28_29 pm.png

Their previous adjustments with the mechanic "use all tickets" is really convenient. For one raid a player can multiply his rewards depending on the number of ticket he/she set. To be fair the maximum number of tickets to be used is 5. So, if a player wanted to burn 7 tickets he/she will only have to use 2 attempts instead of 7.

CrossWorlds   29_03_2023 1_46_40 pm.png

Each dungeon of Dimensional Border has their own puzzle sets. It can be bought using essences in the Dimensional Border shop. I believe that each basic puzzle page costs around 50 basic essences. You need to buy them if you want to unlock the pages in the Tetro Puzzle tab. Each piece add different attributes so a plyer can try maximizing the use of certain piece if he/she wants to focus on that attribute. But in my opinion filling in the puzzle pieces is much more important. Individually, the can add tens or hundreds in CP depending on their corresponding stars but a complete puzzle can add some significant CP boost like the example above. The grade of this Volcanord puzzle is just level 2 but it boosted the overall CP by more than 5,000.

I think this will be all for today.
Thank you for visiting.

Sort:  

While I really have enjoyed ni-no-kuni games in the pass there is a reason why I decided to give this one a miss. I realize that they have to always try to evolve the games but this just seemed boring to me.

True there are many aspects of the game that are indeed boring.
The repetitiveness is just on another level.
Aside from that you need a lot of $$$ to stay competitive, over the months it has become a P2W paradise.

oh well that makes me even more happy I never tried it. I can't stand P2W games because I refuse to "P" :)