Ragnarok Origin: What to expect? (and some Ramblings)

1.png
Original Image from Ragnarok Origin Website

Hi!

So, it's been almost a week since Ragnarok Origin launched their SEA servers. There are many versions of Ragnarok online that was released through these years like RO Eternal Love. I played Eternal Love for a few months before quitting. I had spent a considerable time (and some cash) expecting that it would be great after some updates but I was disappointed as it had become another P2W paradise. We get that developers need to earn but it such a shame to ruin the spirit of the game for the power of $$$.

Ragnarok Origin Global 10_04_2023 1_45_59 pm.png

The advertisements have been saying that Ragnarok Origin is the closest thing there is to the original which we played some 20+ years ago. I remember during those times players need to buy some card to load their account. It was 10 Php (0.2$) for every 30 minutes. PC rent was around 20 Php per hour so you have to spend 40 Php (0.8$) if you want to play for an hour. Given that me and most of my classmates didn't have PC's we always went there after class. My daily allowance back then was 30 Php so I only played once in two days. The thing is, those were the only fees players had to invest as there's no such thing as buying in-game items to strengthen the character. People were just literally playing for the service which is a good thing. Every zeny a player earned during those times really have value. Before the rampant botting we used to sell 1 million zeny for 40-60 Php at it's peak.

Ragnarok Origin Global 10_04_2023 2_22_40 pm.png

Times have changed the nature of the game. Botting is now integrated as a core part of most MMORPGs. Idle or auto mode is just another name for it. I'll be direct about it Ragnarok Origin also has an auto mode so if you like to dive in and expect that it will be hard grind like the past I'm sorry to disappoint you. The iconic music is still there which is 25% of the nostalgia in my opinion. The classes are up to 2nd job transcendental currently. I think it's the beauty of the Ragnarok franchise as it's one of those games in mmorpg genre that really popularize the classes. The diversity and complexity of the build path for different characters is one the reasons why it it has become a nostalgic game for most. Anyway here are some of the basic things you need to know about the game.

Stat Points

Ragnarok Origin Global 10_04_2023 2_27_04 pm.png

The character information is not that different from traditional RO. It's a plus that they actually have description or a notice that would pop out once you hover around and click that particular stats. All the information needed to build your character path are there. Although I'm not really a fan of auto build function it will be helpful for newbies (and some lazy people). Another good thing that they didn't really change that much is the effect of each stats. Things like dexterity giving more PATK bonus to long range and minimal boosts to short range is still the same.

Crafting Materials

Ragnarok Origin Global 12_04_2023 2_42_00 pm.png

There are different many ways to get crafting materials the most basic one is buying from trading. It's still great majority of the materials needed to craft weapon and armors can be accumulated through grinding. Players can also make a purchase but due to the game being very new the prices of most materials are sky high. As you can see above materials like Glass Beas and Light Granule are out of stock. This is because these 2 are components of rare weapons. I'm currently farming Glass Bead to craft my preferred bow which is Falken Blitz.

One downside is that there is only limited time to grind for monsters. After the allotted time the character would get fatigued and can't get both experience and drops. There was no such thing in the original RO as players can grind as much as they want.

Pet System

Ragnarok Origin Global 12_04_2023 2_49_42 pm.png

I don't like the pet system to be honest. I think that it's too easy to get really good pet nowadays. Back then even taming items were hard to find and you need to grind for days to even get one. Another catch is that there's always that chance of failure even if you have the taming item. The effort to even get the most basic green apple to tame a poring was no joke. Compared to now you only need to get gacha tickets to draw a pet. I now have 5 A-tier pets which is nice but it's not very satisfying compared to what I experience in the past.

Anyways, let's end this for now.
I'll update you guys if I ever continued playing this.
Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  
 last year  

I'm sorry it's nothing with your post because the written content is very good, but I hate the gravity games on mobile with the theme of the classic Ragnarok, tried to leave the game too cute and attractive to players idle what waste the real potential of Ragnarok Online, I hope one day we have a server for mobile

True. There have been many attempts to revive the classic Ragnarok but all seemingly came out short, at least in my opinion.

odio los p2w xD he tenido demasiadas malas experiencias con eso.
yo creo que un p2w controlado deberia beneficiar a todos pero si lo hace mal es gg
Aunque claro tienen que ganar dinero obvio xD no pueden vivir del amor al arte xD
pero si no es controlado arruina muchas cosas :( Creo que muchos juegos ponen las cosas faciles hoy en dia para que no sean criticados.

I hate p2w xD I've had too many bad experiences with it.
I think that a controlled p2w should benefit everyone but if it does it wrong it's gg
Although of course they have to earn money obviously xD they can't live off the love of art xD
but if it's not controlled it ruins a lot of things :( I think a lot of games make things easy nowadays so they don't get criticized

You're right spending has become a necessity for most games to thrive.
On the other hand too much of everything is akin to poison.
Paying to have fun is not wrong but it should at least be reasonable.
Thanks for stopping by. :D

 last year  

I don't think I've ever played RO, although I had a couple of friends who got really hooked years ago. I always thought it was a single game, I didn't know there had been multiple versions haha 😅.

Honestly I will never find a p2w system good, regardless of whether they have to profit financially, I think there are more ways to do it. The p2w no matter how minimal it is can frustrate many players, which translates into users quitting the game, in my opinion.

The old RO is nostalgia, at least for old guys like us. :D

Paying is not necessarily bad as it's a way for players to support the devs and maintain the quality of the game. What I see wrong in most cases are devs becoming greedy integrating lots of P2W items and services which ruin most games in the long run. Everything should be done in moderation.

Thanks for stopping by. XD