Metropolis Street Racer, one of the best of the year 2000

in Hive Gaminglast month

image.png
Source

 

This game promised to be one of the best of its kind when it made its appearance and although it revolutionised games of its genre it lacked that extra something to transcend, although it was considered by many to be one of the top three games of that year.

Personally I played it a few times and found it interesting, with many innovations for the time.

Metropolis Street Racer, also known as MSR, is a racing game developed by Bizarre Creations and released in 2000 exclusively for the Sega Dreamcast console.

image.png
Source

 

Set in various real-world cities, such as London, Tokyo and San Francisco, the game allows you to compete in exciting street races as you try to become the best racer in town.

An interesting feature of MSR is its real-time system, which records and stores your race times so you can then compete against ‘ghosts’ of other players.

There is also a dynamic weather system that affects the track conditions, which I suppose could add a bit of excitement.

The game offers a wide variety of cars to choose from, each with their own characteristics and performance attributes.

You can customise and upgrade your vehicle to increase your chances of winning races.

One of the things that stands out in MSR is its focus on the realistic driving experience, the game attempts to capture the feeling of actually being behind the wheel, with precise controls and convincing driving physics.

However, despite its attempts to be an exciting and realistic game, MSR lacks the depth and innovation found in other racing titles.

The gameplay can quickly become repetitive, and the lack of additional game modes or distinctive features makes it feel a little dull.

Sort:  

I had not heard of this game, in all my life the only racing game I've played is need for speed, but I see from what you say that this is a game of the Sega console, it's a pretty old game but I like how it looks.

I've never been able to make a good driving with a first person view, it's hard for me to drive that way and I crash the car with everything hahaha.

I am a bad driver just like you, this is an interesting game and I advise you to try it.

Ohh, I remember this one! Such a goldie! Brings back so much nostalgia :)

It was a very good proposal for the time and very well done, something different.