Back and Forth Between Trade Hubs - EVE Online Roleplay Diary #02

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

My name is Aphiel Nightwood, and I'm a New Eden Capsuleer. Sit down and let's drink a cold Quafe while I tell you my story!

This is a roleplaying post as a character from the game EVE Online, a sci-fi/space MMORPG in which several thousands players play on a single-shard server and can choose their own in-game path, including PvP, PvE, Mining, Exploration, Industry, Hauling and Trading.
If you want to start playing, use my Invite-a-Friend Link to receive 1 million skillpoints instantly (2 real-life months of skill training).

I Now HATE Mining Modules!

As I've said before, I ended up manufacturing an absurd amount of some very specific Mining Modules. I heard that the New Eden economy would be booming in the next few months and that there would be a huge demand for those.

But the truth is that there was no economic boom, and I was stuck with several thousands of those.

I tried moving them slowly in Jita, the largest trading station in the galaxy. But every time I setup my orders, another industrialist would undercut my price. Goddamit, I should be the only one that's desperate to sell!

After a week, I barely had sold 5% of my whole inventory.

I decided to cut the losses and move on: a very rich merchant put a huge Buy Order for several billions of ISK in a large array of mining modules, including the ones I had. The price he was paying was under my costs, unfortunately. But, even then, I decided to sell everything to him: at least I was able to free up the invested money to be able to manufacture other stuff.

The Huge Vastness of Space

That merchant told me he was from a group that lived inside Wormholes! Can you imagine that? Those people are crazy enough to permanently live on unstable regions of the space in which you can only access by jumping into rifts in space that only exist for a short period of time and, then, randomly collapse!

Source: EVE Valkyrie

I heard that these areas are incredibly wealthy in resources, and that one that's lucky enough to come back alive can become rich in a single trip.

Source: EVE University

Also, he said that he was going to transport all my equipment using huge industrial Capital Ships! I can only dream the day I will be able to have one of those in my Hangar, they're way larger and safer than the Tayra I fly!

Not only those Capital Ships are prohibitively expensive, but they also require years and years of training to be able to actually fly them. These ships are so large that sometimes they're bigger than stations themselves!

Maybe he was able to afford those because he was brave enough to adventure inside Wormholes. But I'm neither courageous or rich, so better start paying attention to manufacturing again!

Back and Forth Between Trade Hubs

Shortly after doing my Fire Sale and calculating my losses, I was able to find a light at the end of the tunnel!

Some colleagues that I've knew from the School of Applied Knowledge set up their operations in some nearby solar systems, like Perimeter or New Caldari.

After negotiating with them, we were able to reach an excellent agreement: I would represent their interests in Jita, and in exchange they would represent me in their respective stations.

Source: EVE University

I could now manage more production lines and optimize my costs, manufacturing in different stations depending on the fees charged and the price of the raw material!

The truth is that this agreement was my salvation: from the comfort and safety of Jita, I managed an entire research and manufacturing operation at several stations at the same time. This, along with the public transportation contracts that I used to move cargo back and forth, gave me great flexibility to expand operations without even leaving the station!

Source: Pixabay

Within days, I was producing several small space modules: weapons, ammunition, shields, batteries, sensors. The profit was not great on any of them, but I could easily sell them with a small profit margin.

When my cousin, Luizeba Athens, returned from another of her adventures in Nullsec, I had already managed to recover most of the loss. I made up some excuses that the missing money had been used to pay "special industrialist fees", "one-time development costs" and "large-scale industry operating licenses". I think she ended up believing my lie, otherwise I would be dead right now.

I need Money, and need it Fast!

Despite this small victory, I am still running at a loss and I need, urgently, to find some way to make some good money!

Source: Pexels

On her next visit to Jita, my cousin is sure to be less understanding and demand the profits I promised her! So I better be ready and with pockets full of money!

Thanks for reading this roleplaying post, and until next time!

Unless stated otherwise, all images are 1) created and owned by me, or 2) from the game featured in the post.

Sort:  

Love the character building in this. I've seen pen and paper RPGs based on EVE, and space in general, but I've never read much space fiction. Cool!

I'm enjoying a lot to think about the in-game mechanics (skills, market, etc) in terms of roleplay. People usually rush MMOs just to reach the "end-game" but don't experience the whole journey and what's going on around them; so I'm trying to do the exact opposite!

Love it! A lot of the MMOs these days cater to that rushed gamestyle themselves. Yes, I'm looking at WoW.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @luizeba! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

PIZZA!
@luizeba! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thanks for the support @PizzaBot <3

You’re welcome, luizeba!