You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Games and their impact during Covid | Los videojuegos y su impacto durante el Covid | Eng-Esp

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Gaming has really taken off in the last 10 years. I feel like the idea of gaming only being for geeks changed around the time that Facebook started out. I phones ( or more to the point smart phones) were the icing on the cake and soon everyone was connecting via social media and playing games with their friends.

Then throw Covid into the mix 10 years years later and and all of a sudden the only way for many people to connect is on line. It is no surprise that we are spending more time playing online games and games with our kids as we need something to fill our spare time and a way to stay connected with others.

Another thing that has really taken off is online shopping, at least it has in our area. The need to Isolate has helped drive up adoption of online grocery shopping. Many people were already buying things on line anyways. But now groceries which people had still preferred to go out and buy in person are now being bought online. I feel like the more people use online shopping the less shop fronts we will start to see. After all rent is a large cost for especially small business. If it is easier for them to trade online I believe more will do so and businesses will stop renting shopfronts.

Anyways Great Post, Have a great day!

opg.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you! And I know what you mean. I grew up in a mess up time (I'm 24) but when I started going to school, and pretty much right up until I was in around 7th grade, I was always looked at as a nerd or geek (hence the username) then it just seemed like overnight it became more normal to play games and that!