I just Spent 100 HIVE in Rising Star

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

A little earlier I came across this post: https://peakd.com/hive-126009/@idiosyncratic1/digital-investments-or-non-fungible-tokens-nfts#@mikepm74/re-idiosyncratic1-qdjf3q by @idiosyncratic1 about NFT cards. Of course most all of us know about Splinterlands, and now there is an art community creating the Hive NFT Market, but something I learned about from this post was a newer game on the blockchain, Rising Star.

The idea of the Game is that you are a struggling artist trying to make their way to the big time. You collect fans and game coin by doing missions. Starting from Illegal Busking, and getting right up to being a Mega Star.

image.png

Along the way you earn or buy cards that represent members of your band, or instruments, vehicles, and even booster items like cups of coffee and cold pizza.

image.png

I'm not entirely sure how the game plays out, but it looks like it has some good development behind it, and I didn't understand Splinterlands when it was released and I bought up all the cards I could manage. That bet has worked out, so maybe this one will work out for me as well.

Now, you have to make some progress before you can utilize some of the cards I purchased, but I have them in my back pocket ready to go when I get to the right level.

I started out by buying some Fans. It seems like it is all about collecting all the fams you can get, so I thought starting off with 50 die hard fans wouldn't hurt. Then I added 50 Skill points, because, well if I want to keep those fans I had better have some skill in playing my chosen instrument.

I rounded out my collection with a collection of different band members and instruments, I bought a Touring Coach to get around in, and My First Rehearsal Study (AKA a Storage Facility Garage).

These cards can be re-sold, and hopefully will only increase in value as more people discover the game and look to get an advantage. Back in the days of valuable STEEM and not so common Steem Monster Cards I sold two cards for $900 worth of STEEM. I'll take that trade off any day of the week.

My Collection So Far....
image.png

Of course every game has a referral program. So if you like what I have shown you here, please feel free to visit my referral link at: https://www.risingstargame.com?referrer=mikepm74

Here's the rub. The game is considered in Alpha, and they reserve the right to wipe out everything we do in the Alpha edition, so I might lose all of these cards. I hope that is not the case, but it's just one of those risks you take to be on the front end of a new release.

Sort:  

Thank you for supporting Rising Star!

The alpha is progressing well and most of the base level code is complete and has been tested for a couple of months now. You will not lose your cards as they are now in your possession. The only reason for the caveat about being in alpha is that if someone found a major bug and managed to give everyone a million Starbits then we would obviously not be able to honour that! However the current balances in everyone's accounts are valid and will not be taken away in the event of a bug being exploited.

I hope that puts your mind at rest.

One other thing I'd like to mention is that Rising Star is not being developed as a business that has to make a certain amount of money to survive. It is in fact a hobby for me and the costs are minimal so we will be around for a very long time indeed!
It's all about having fun and hopefully everyone can earn a little crypto in the process!

Upvoted by HGC!