Mindblast Battle Report : Sniping is good

in Hive Gaming6 months ago

3RTd4iuWD6NUeJEn5AVrJUoyatFqBqfcCJi1N7UixR4g2KPKN7w8NpZL7qrJ4ETeGdj5C8fSCmkKo5pw71D1JJLfGNJwZhARkmZ85wVTj2uXHMh8DgKUf5QpVBT4VB86ddZqP5F4BcBRntKnKHfNXXeCHgBikEBzgmgqW2xFA7igea.png

It's another great day to promote our Battle Reports to many players who love tactics and strategy sharing. It's awesome to have some of these challenges as it gives players both new and old, passion about how the game should be played. Many players do have different strategies and it is likely great to share them with other players as well so that they would be able to adapt them and use them in their battles. With today's challenge, it is time to acknowledge again both ranged and magic attack-type monsters as they can be very dangerous on the battlefield if they are used to their advantage.

With the ruleset Target Practice, we know that both ranged and magic attack-type monsters acquire Snipe skill which is really a big boost to their current capability in battles. Those that are magic, range, or no attack opponents cannot hide with their tanks since Snipe's ability is active and they are vulnerable to such massive attacks. Usually both magic and ranged don't have the tanking capability, unlike the melee kind of units, so succeeding in hitting streaks to them would likely be hurtful to them if not protected or something that could definitely allow them to minimize such kind of damage.

With no more safe placement when Snipe skill is active, I guess players should take their time to think of a strategy that could possibly help divert most attacks to vulnerable units they possess. They should always be keen in every ruleset that is active in a battle so advantage would be on your side and winning chances would be much higher. But do not think about putting all of your units to magic and ranged even though they are at their advantage it is still a drawback since they too can be vulnerable too. So a good speed boost would potentially be a good option in such kind of battle since hitting at first could possibly deliver a good hit to opponents and might eliminate one or two in just the first round, who knows what would be the outcome but think always that offense might be a great option rather than putting yourself into defensive.

Most ranged and magic attack-type monsters usually don't have armor so I think attacking is their best option. I consider them threats to my opponent team, which is why I always equip some of them in a battle to balance out especially thinking that the Target practice ruleset is active on the battlefield.

Anyway, below is my battle report for this week's challenge.

RULESET

NameDescriptionImage
ActiveWaterimage.png
Mana Cap26image.png
Going the DistanceOnly monsters with ranged attack by be used in battlesimg_combat-rule_going-the-distance_150.png
Target PraticeAll Ranged and Magic attack monsters have the Snipe ability
UnprotectedMonsters do not have any armor and do not get armor from abilities or summoner buffs

In this battle, we can see that only the water element is available and that there are a variety of additional rulesets. With a mana cap of 26 to select from I think it is enough to build a good team underwater element since there are better low-cost monsters until my disposal. We have seen that the Going the Distance is active also in the battle which keeps away all melee and magic attack monsters into the selection screen, which lowers the number of monsters that are possible to select as rosters in my team.

Anyway, there are still good ranged monsters until water with the availability of my cards and I think I can manage to take adjustments out of it. I know that my counterpart will have difficulty also in this situation but we know both that we need to overcome this situation in order for us to stay competitive during our battle. Another added rule in the challenge for this week is Target Practice in which ranged attackers will be throwing their arrows anywhere in the battle, targeting their counterparts. This battle will be the battle of ranged monsters and this will be the indicator and measurement of which ranged monsters will prevail in the battle.

Another one is Unprotected in which armors are not applicable in this battle. And we all know that there are fewer ranged monsters that do have armors and I think it doesn't matter anymore for me unless there will be a dual type of monster with two attack types. Anyway, I will just skip on those Summoners that have the ability to give armor if possible but still, I need to understand if that secondary skill of his is still worthy even though the ranged boosts attack is unless in this battle.

MATCHUP

image.png

In our match, we both used Kelya Frendul which is a good choice in such kind of battle even if he has a useless armor boost. What matters best is the potential speed-up of attacks from monsters especially since its a battle of ranged attack-type monsters. There will be no mercy inside the battle and that covering from a tank or something will not be an option since all are vulnerable based on the ruleset.

As we checked on the level side, I got only level 3 while my opponent has level 6 which is a mismatch, due to monsters that he will able to select. There would be a quite difference between our monsters even though it would be the same because of the monster level and their changes of statistics either in speed, attack, health, or skill.

Now, just find out inside the battlefield which of these identical Summoner can manage to survive the onslaught of ranged attack monsters.

LINEUP : MINE

SummonerActive Skill in BattleImage
Kelya Frendul+1 Speed, +1 Armor
MonstersActive Skill in BattleImage
Wave BroodTaunt, Close Range
Venari MarksratMartyr
Angelic Mandarin
Naga WindmasterHeadwinds
Xenith Archer
Igor Darkspear

Based on my lineup, I think choosing Kelya Frendul is my best option since some of my ranged attack monsters don't have skills, and that boosting their attack speed could a bit change the way they do their attack manually. In my first position, I took the opportunity to choose a ranged-type monster that could handle enough damage while attacking the front. The taunt ability of Wave Brood could be a potential defensive stance and help protect teammates who are vulnerable too. Thankfully, he just does not do the tanking task instead he can attack too with its Close Range ability which is a good point for this monster.

On the second position, I have selected Venari Marksrat since it has a good skill which is Martyr which can be a good asset to support its friendly units even though it is already eliminated in battle. Next is Angelic Mandarin which has no skill but has a good attack speed which can help this monster do its thing most of the time.

Another one is Naga Windmaster which has a good ability Headswind which is a good advantage towards ranged monsters. With its decent attack and speed, I think it could provide the best outcome of this battle. Next is Xenith Archer who has a low attack as well and in my last position is Igor Darkspear who also has a low attack but better speed and health.

Let's just see how the team goes whenever they combine its capability and performance.

LINEUP : OPPONENT

SummonerActive Skill in BattleImage
Kelya Frendul+1 Speed, +1 Armor
MonsterActive Skill in BattleImage
Wave BroodTaunt, Close Range
Swamp SpitterRepair, Giant Killer
Gargoya DevilFlying, Close Range, Deathblow

On my opponent's lineup, he is also using Kelya Frendul due to its amazing set of skills. I am sure that most players preferred this Summoner in battle because of its attack speed advantage. Now, looking into its lineup we see that he is using also Wave Brood which serves as a protection for its back army. And last to its position is a Swamp Spitter which has a Repair armor ability I don't think that it would be efficient in this battle but we will just see. Another this is that this monster has a Giant Killer ability which is kinda of ruthless but still I don't think that it is quite effective in our battle since I have chosen monsters whose mana cost only 3 and below.

And lastly, its middle one is Gargoya Devil which will serve as a secondary protector since it has a close range and can still attack in the first position. It has Deathblow ability which is kinda of dangerous if so happens I will have only one unit left. But we shall see who will take the glory in the battle. We see that I have the most monsters while my opponent does have 3 only but has better skill capability that could possibly change the outcome of the battle.

BATTLE ROUNDS

image.png

At the start of our battle, both our summoners take their chances to support their attack speed and after that, my Naga Windmaster debuffs all enemy ranged attack monsters which makes their maxed attack to 2. Now, with that skill I managed to balance the attack power of all monsters on the battlefield but luckily for me I have more monsters than my opponent.

My Angelic Mandarin, Igor Darkspear, and Naga Windmaster take their chance to attack the enemy tank, where it deals a good amount of damage which helps it decrease down to 6 in round 1. While on my side, my Wave Brood has much health due to only 3 monsters attacking it.

image.png

At the start of round 2, all monster's lineups are still intact but an overwhelming attack on my side manages to slain its Wave Brood first. Now, my ranged attack type monster is changing its attacks to its remaining two monsters. My ranged monsters are still safe as long as my Wave Brood still tanks up wherein it still survives until round 3.

Even though my tank fell at round 4, my other ranged attack monster took their revenge and slain the very last monster opponent which resulted in my win on the battlefield.

ANALYSIS

Based on our lineup, I have the advantage even though he has a better level than me because I got Naga Windmaster which decreases the opponent's ranged attack. With that effect, I have now the advantage in terms of numbers which resulted in my victory until the very end.

FULL BATTLE

Full Battle can be seen here: https://splinterlands.com/?p=battle&id=sl_8c3f835bbfa7d271de1647a6b21f5b62

CREDITS

  • Images are taken from Splinterlands / Steemmonsters
  • Some of this images are being edited in Photoshop
  • Thank you Splinterlands for letting us use images for our post and other promotions for the game.
Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

!PIZZA !PGM

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@cashheaven(3/5) tipped @mindblast