Deep Rock Galactic a roguelite FPS

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

Are you ready for some cave explorin, dwarf bondin, bug and alien killin well look no further we got you covered in Deep Rock Galactic

What is it????

It is a rougelite co-op FPS which boasts procedurally generated caves, digging and looting like minecraft, left 4 dead 2 enemy massacres mixed with 4 available classes that play different roles. While not the best looking game, it glows with contrast between the dark ambience of the caves and the shine of crystals lava and other atmospheres. I personally want to talk about one of the greatest features of deep rock. I have played quite a bit and dived into a few caves and some how some way I keep on finding new layouts to the level design. Sometimes caves will be small little corridors that you have to run away from hordes other times the levels will be sprawling with no ceiling in sight and you have to use your skills to traverse the pits.


Onto the meat and bones of the game

Classes

Engineer.


The engineer is equipped with a shotgun and turrets just like a certain class of tf2. Much like that other game you can place turrets down and shotgun your way to victory. This class is a defensive class. It forces you to be near your turrets if you want to keep shooting. It goes through ammo which you can reload into the turrets. You almost can place it anywhere. You could even dig a hole under the turret and make a floating turret. Another cool thing about the engineer in this game is the fact that he has a handy tool called a platform gun. You can shoot this thing and it creates a platform in the most highest places in the game which allows another class to usually get up there. I mean you can dig in there if you want. He also has a grenade launcher which can destroy mobs of enemies.

Gunner


The gunner is a strong arm warrior of the dwarves suited with a minigun much like the heavy of tf2. You as a gunner are on the front lines of the battle with the rest of the dwarves trailing behind. Your minigun revs up and you are ready to let loose of lead upon dozens of enemies. When your using a minigun you slow down a bit which is a balance for the heavy machinery you possess. With the gunner as well you get a pistol and a zipline. The zipline is good to cross over pits.

Driller


The Driller is the I need to get through the rocks kinda guy. Equipped with a flamethrower, pistol, and drill hands. While not the best distance wise this guy goes hand in hand with the gunner. Sometimes he goes ahead of everyone and you protect him as well. The main goal is to dig for rocks and gems or whatever the objective on the run could be. All of the classes have pickaxes but they take forever to get through the dust. This guy goes and can clear walls in seconds. He can drill vertically and any direction you choose to. This guy always helps out at the end. Usually it goes like this you do your objectives get it all done and then you return back home the path is the way you came as. With the driller in tow you can make quick shortcuts for an easy return.

Scout


My favorite of the classes
The Scout is the speedy one of the bunch he has a faster speed than all other dwarves, machine gun shotgun and a nifty hookshot. He is my favorite because I love to reach all the hard to reach spaces and to move fast. Throw a platform up grab the loot and jump down. Hey its pretty cool that as I am coming down from an extreme height I can use the hook shot safely. It also makes it easy to move around to places. Just hookshot back up and join the rest. Another great thing about the scout is he lights up the area for a temporary time the game gets really dark without this dwarve.

What does everyone have?


Every class has armors which can have some buffs but they are tiny. Mostly cosmetic. Dwarves also have another thing that reminds me of TF2. Looks like something that comes out of a demoman gun. This lights up a tinier area than the flare gun the scout has. Grenades which can freeze poison be a shield slow enemies in and a bunch of other effects. A scanner which shows where players are and can notify other players where goodies are. A little robot buddy who you can call over to you and you can put loot you find in the caves into it.

Endgame?

So If you focus on one dwarf for a long time you can earn ranks, you do missions to unlock weapons, perks, cosmetics, harder difficulties. Once you get to level 25 you can promote yourself and with that you can grind out different missions to unlock overclocks in your weapons which gives you a bunch more content to try to achieve. You can even find unlockables in your runs. Might find a rare cube that unlocks a skin or overclock. You can also find rare minerals that allow you to trade the gems you collect to trade in for rewards. All free though.

All in all if this sounds good to you then I suggest you get this game it can be an absolute joy to play online with people. Alot of the joy is working together as one team to complete the goals asked of you in your mining run.

With that I will give you a trailer if you are interested. I believe that all of the systems have the game so you can play it anyway you want!

Well with that I think I am done here for now. Sorry its been a while since I did one of these I will try to do a bit more. Been kinda busy but if you would like to see me play this it might pop up on twitch.tv/moonkehh

I will leave you with a nice rock and stone brother for you to enjoy on your way out. Also thank you for reading this. Goodbye!

Sort:  

Ofcourse i come by to upvote but this gaming and all is so abracadabra for me, but you are appreciated

Thank you. I appreciate you too. And whats wrong with being a magician I think you could do it too it might cure those mondays for you. They make my mondays better for sure

Lolll... This post just reminded me of my gaming days but I would have to admit that I never played games to this level.

I only explored games that could be played on my phone and I enjoyed every bit of the thrill and action that comes with it.

I'm sure anyone that have a gadget that can support this particular game will have fun while playing around with it

There is always a chance to come back right. I love gaming and I do not think i could ever seperate from it. Haha im not one with phone games unless they are past titles or emulation but as long asd you have fun. Yes this game is something else can have alot of fun with it! 😀

Hey I forgot to add is there a discord for hive gaming here I can connect with??? Thank you