First Impressions on 'VA-11 Hall-A: Cyberpunk Bartender Action'

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Screenshot 2022-09-23 224906.png

Six years ago I was writing for entertainment media back when freelance journalism was something you could actually get paid for. I was heavily engaged with the cyberpunk genre and loved all forms of media that explored it. A group of equally interested individuals I knew at the time were to release their own visual novel type of cyberpunk game, but with a twist: from the perspective of a bartender. I was familiar with the writer of the game, as well as the main developer due to our shared interests. This game would release with a rather successful launch, but ultimately came to be appreciated and enjoyed long after its release as more discovered it. Shortened, its title became known as VA-11 Hall-A.

I obtained the game upon its release, but shortly after I ended up going through some changes and leaving the world of journalism and video games and pursuing the film industry. That is to say that I never actually played it to completion. In fact, I remembered very little of the game. Recently, with the rise in good cyberpunk entries that I have enjoyed, I have found myself feeling that passion for the cyberpunk genre returning. Finding myself deep within the complex themes that come from a life lived in low standards with high technology; and the many stories of ordinary people that fall within the struggles of such a strange and engaging society. While I intend to give the Cyberpunk 2077 game a chance at a later date -- with little expectations from it -- I decided to revisit VA-11 Hall-A, given its significantly shorter playtime and immersive nature alongside the promotion of relaxation.

I have two saves of VA-11 Hall-A, with a significant portion coming from my PlayStation Vita (yes I both own and still use one of those) due to the portable comfort the device brings, playing mostly from the comfort of dimly lit rooms with warm drinks and a small screen. Thus far, I would definitely say that the game is best when played on a portable device, one that carries little weight with a small screen and allows for maximum comfort and immersion, rather than sitting at a desk with a large screen. I recommend doing the same if it is an option.

VA-11 Hall-A

Screenshot 2022-09-23 225748.png

I have never been a big fan of visual novels and the style of them, particularly ones of a more anime nature. I have played a few, but I definitely would not say I am a big fan of the genre. VA-11 Hall-A is a game that does not really feel quite like a visual novel, perhaps due to its current elements that allow for pacing between the many moments of dialogue as days are split up and stories are widely unique. I really enjoy this, having characters return and appear and slowly getting to know them as I prepare some strange concoction for them to consume and escape their struggles and concerns of everyday life in a world we see so little of but hear so much of. It enforces this wild imagination within you to picture the scenes described both from the dialogue and from the character art that adds to the context of the world. It is a really creative idea and certainly surprising to see so few have taken the genre to this level. Reminding me much of the extremely fun point-and-click titles of the prior decades. Rich in narrative and world building while slow in gameplay that promotes immersion and relaxation.

The game places us into the perspective of a bartender within this cyberpunk world rather rapidly, providing us with some little context regarding it and the way it works. The bare foundations to a cyberpunk narrative. I like that it is done in this way and allows for the characters provide the rest to us as the player. Especially when the characters offer a wide range of personalities and backgrounds which are written well and don't feel similar to each other at all, there is weight to each character which is done through that good writing and it is very evident. I don't find myself finding any of the story or its characters boring or remotely uninteresting. Quite the opposite, in fact. It is a really nice and refreshing return to the genre of cyberpunk and video games themselves having taken yet another long break from them in the recent months.

I like how the story is unfolding, particularly alongside the art which is dark and appealing again promoting the more relaxed notion of the game. I have been playing the scanlines on for increased comfort and adding to the CRT look you would have found in games in a few decades ago, I think it makes everything look a bit more fun, though that is something you can turn off whenever you would like if it doesn't suit you. The same can be said for the music which contains songs you can obtain and play under your own playlists for background noise as you read through the lines of dialogue and prepare drinks for the many guests that come your way. Though some of the narrative contains references to cryptocurrency given the creators were somewhat into the relatively earlier days of it, and there's certainly some slight annoying and cringeworthy references to it that are a bit dated and do not quite fit much purpose other than to have promoted the idea of cryptocurrency in reality.

In terms of gameplay, preparing the drinks can be fun at times, but it is how you prepare them and then the consequences that come as characters drink more and more and begin to reveal more regarding themselves and the world that makes it more fun. You can intentionally get them to drink a little too much which can have impacts on how events unfold and how it impacts you and the other characters. Especially in regards to how much money you make yourself each night alongside the costs of living; funnily they added the idea of rent into the game so you are forced to ensure you don't screw things up too much. It makes the world a bit more immersive too, to see that the money you earn from the job you play does actually have some weight and contributes to something outside of the dialogue and stories told when working. There is a nice mixture of events to do outside of the job as your phone holds a series of additional features that add to things to do; including a newspaper that you can read for information on the world which again serves as some nice immersion and world building.

Still early impressions

Screenshot 2022-09-23 230836.png

Screenshots were taken from a new save I have on the desktop version, but I think I will start over again and try to consider all elements of the game and its story for a review at a later date. The game is really fun despite its simplicity. It shows that good art and writing are really all that is needed for a game to be good and engaging. There is so much I am still yet to discover in the game; especially since over the years I have seen how others attempts runs to perfect things or achieve full completion. I don't think I will be the type to do that since it just does not interest me, but as a simple game to enjoy some cyberpunk themes and relax, it is really good.

I have tried to avoid writing much about the characters themselves and the story as to avoid any spoilers beind shared here. I wouldn't want to write too much in a little first impressions post that might ruin things for others or perhaps make the game seem less appealing to them. For me, the game is great so far, and if cyberpunk themes and anime art styles are your thing, you'll definitely enjoy this game. Especially if you have a history of enjoying visual novels to begin with. This game is a bit faster and more engaging than most visual novels, so that is also worth considering if you're going to jump into it. For the price, it's worth it. Though there is also the upcoming Halloween sales that might result in it being added and reduced. Keep that in mind too.