You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rose-tinted memories - are older games really better?

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

I've actually lost interest in more modern games, I think it's mostly the focus on graphics, animations, and strong narratives. If I do play something these days, I find myself picking up older games that actually are quite restricting based on the technology they're built for.

I've had more fun playing Resident Evil 3 (PS1) than I have anything more modern. There's something about the gameplay that feels more immersive and rewarding. Perhaps it's a result of the camera angles and weird janky tank controls. The way it feels slower to perform movements and actions I think makes it more immersive as opposed to analogue sticks being pushed around.

One thing I do know I'm not a big fan of these days is the games-as-a-service notion. I have zero interest in live services when they're designed to keep you in and paying. I even have noticed some ignorance towards really cinematic games with very linear level design and heavy animations towards performing actions.

As @holoz0r said: writing hasn't kept up. Stories these days are a bit too centred around realism and giving players something to relate to, rather than going wild with fictional worlds and characters.

Sort:  

One thing I do know I'm not a big fan of these days is the games-as-a-service notion. I have zero interest in live services when they're designed to keep you in and paying. I even have noticed some ignorance towards really cinematic games with very linear level design and heavy animations towards performing actions.

A complete notion I forgot to mention in my remarks! This is so true, and I was just talking about this with friends on discord.

Games as an attention economy is good, when the game is good, and progression isn't tied to that attention - the original Diablo game, for instance, captivated and held people's attention without any real gimmicks like we see today, where people are rewarded daily with loot boxes, consecutive play bonuses, etc.

The reward should be the game and the pleasure derived from it. Funnily enough, the recent game I've enjoyed for the gameplay for this exact reason is Path of Exile - yes there's a story there, but the gameplay mechanics and challenge of reconciling all the nuance within it is the reward itself.

I'm right with you on the games-as-a-service thing, and the overtly cinematic "movie game". However, there's a great amount of diversity in modern gaming. Particularly, the independent gaming scene is thriving, and some of the storytelling is breaking new ground not just for games, but for fiction (books, movies, comics) in general. I'd highly recommend Return of the Obra Dinn or Outer Wilds, for example.