My Genshin Impact and Tears of Themis Experience. Is It Worth It?

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

I never thought I would be one of those people who would play on their phones for hours. I mean sure I had been using my phone longer than required for a day ever since I discovered Wattpad and found out that there is free anime on Youtube, but games had never been a thing for me. As far as I could remember, the only cellphone games I really liked back then were Snake and Space Impact from the old Nokia 3310 (ah~ those were the days). Then Tetris and Candy Crush appeared but they never really appealed to me. There were also Street Fighter and Pacman but they weren’t mobile games back then.

In 2020, I saw by chance an ad regarding a mobile game, Genshin Impact to be exact. I immediately fell in love with the graphics of the game. It was so anime-like (and I’m obsessed with anime)! And the Japanese VAs also finalized my decision. Hahaha!


Screenshot_2022-10-27-14-25-54-07_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817 - Copy.jpg

(Paimon, the Traveler, and Yae Miko on the night of the Parade of a Hundred Demons during Version 2.5)

Genshin Impact is an open-world action role-playing game developed by miHoYo (“Tech Otakus Save the World” is their quote, or is it motto?). The entire game (and its stories) revolves around the nations in the vast world of Teyvat. There are seven nations in total (only four are currently available unfortunately), each ruled by an Archon (they’re basically elemental gods). The game uses an action-based battle system using elemental abilities and character switching from a party of four. As of the moment, there are seven elements available in the game; Anemo (wind), Geo (earth), Pyro (fire), Electro (electricity), Dendro (plants), Hydro (water), and Cryo (ice). Each element has a representing Archon and what they’re gods of. Source: Wikipedia


Source: bbs.mihoyo.com
(The symbols for each element; [from left to right] Geo, Pyro, Hydro, Anemo, Cryo, Electro and Dendro)

The game is free to play fortunately. I actually spent the first six months playing without buying anything from its shops, no matter how seductive those were (but Ningguang and Keqing's outfits are really pretty!!!). But then again, the game is also monetized through gacha game mechanics where players can obtain new characters and weapons in a manner of banner wishing. One can definitely play for free if they so desired, but I think this will only apply to people with really stretchable patience and a very strong will. I am obviously not one of those people.


Screenshot_2022-10-27-13-47-20-58_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

(Photo taken in-game using my account. Current possible weapons to be obtained at version 3.1!)

Unfortunately, when I discovered the game, I was still jobless, and my phone was not exactly well-equipped to have such a heavy and big game installed (it’s currently at 13GB mind you). As time went by, it slipped my mind, and I focused on applying for a job instead. But then when I received my first pay, I immediately bought my current phone! A Realme 8 with 8GB RAM and 128 GB Internal Storage (no, I’m not advertising the phone). I spent a few hours in the mall just to fully download the game since the internet was much stronger in the city than in my hometown in the countryside.


Screenshot_2022-10-26-19-53-27-50_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

(The scene that greets any players of the game.)

And finally! I had the game downloaded! All 10GB the first time I had it!


Screenshot_2022-10-26-19-53-32-76_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

(The door! I waited for hours just to get to this door!)

I logged into the game sometime in November 2021 and had been playing the game every day since then! Well except for that time when Typhoon Odette hit our town in December. We had no electricity for three days and the network signal went down as well so I had no other choice.

I really enjoyed the stories in the game, whether it’s from the main story quest, an archon quest, or even just a world quest. Some NPCs also have interesting stories that I can’t help but just look forward to the game! After finishing one story I always wish I can write as well as the ones behind the stories in the games. It has always been my goal to create such heartwarming (or heartbreaking) stories in my career as a writer. Maybe in the future.

Anyway, my Adventurer Rank reached 55 sometime in May 2022 and I recently just reached AR57, but I’m pushing through (fingers crossed for AR60).

Other than the stories, I also liked the freedom of the game. I can climb (on cliffs or roofs hahaha!), I can glide from high places, can go swimming, and even mine for ores and minerals! The landscapes are also breathtaking I see them even in my dreams (sometimes)! Then there are the characters.


Screenshot_2022-10-26-20-01-56-69_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

(The view of Sumeru from one of the branches somewhere in the region's rainforest.)

Yes, the characters!

Their background stories are always interesting and if you level them up in the right places, then they’ll surely be useful and strong in any battles (the collection of leveling and ascension materials is a pain though). As of the moment, my most favorite character would be the Traveler (the Main Character) itself (I chose Lumine by the way). Her past is a mystery, and she’s got this mysterious and hot twin brother named Aether who might actually be the last boss during her journey in Teyvat (those who chose Aether will have Lumine as the antagonist). She’s currently one of my strongest characters at Level 90 and is always present in my party formations. I like her Dendro abilities so I have her as a Dendro Traveler.


Screenshot_2022-10-26-19-57-58-16_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

(My Dendro Traveler.)

Other than the Traveler, I also really like Xiao. He’s a character from the nation of Liyue who bears an Anemo Vision and is a polearm user. He is an adeptus under the name of Alatus. He is one of the region’s protectors and is the last surviving Yaksha! His appearance is that of a very handsome young man (aka otherworldly). The players got to know more about his past during the 2.7 version’s Main Story Quest. I actually shed a lot of tears during that story. Unfortunately, I don’t have him on my roster of playable characters yet. I do hope to get him when his banner is available again.


Screenshot_2022-10-27-14-27-14-80_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

(Xiao during the ending scene of Version 2.7 Main Story Quest. The photo is a screenshot of the video I took via screen recording during the gameplay.)

Speaking of being in my roster of playable characters, the one I really like in my collection is Yae Miko. She’s the chief priestess of the Narukami Shrine in Inazuma and bears an Electro Vision. She’s a catalyst bearer and I really like using her during my plays. She’s also a very mysterious character who’s the editor-in-chief of the Yae Publishing House and enjoys reading light novels (like myself). I really liked her Archon Quest story, especially during the scene of the Parade of a Hundred Demons. It’s supposedly a scary story from Japan but that one scene actually made me cry.

Other than those three, Genshin Impact has a lot of variety when it comes to characters. There’s the Anemo Archon Barbatos who goes around Teyvat as a bard named Venti, the genius alchemist of the Knights of Favonius in Mondstat; Albedo, the friendly and energetic bomb-lover Klee, the owner of the Jade Chamber and the leader of the Liyue Qixing; Ningguang, the famous Head Chef of Wanmin Restaurant; Xiangling, the famous Kamisato siblings of Inazuma; Ayaka and Ayato, the wandering swordsman Kaedehara Kazuha, the bubbly yet very dangerous member of the Fatui; Childe, the serious and intimidating General Mahamatra of the Akademiya; Cyno, and many more!

My favorite party formation would be Kaedehara Kazuha (Anemo), the Dendro Traveler, Yae Miko, and Sangonomiya Kokomi (Hydro). The first two are sword users while the last two are catalyst users. My damage dealer is always Kazuha and I usually use the combined effects of Dendro, Electro, and Hydro during my plays, and the Anemo element strengthens it even more. Plus, Kokomi is a healer so she’s a must at my party.


Screenshot_2022-10-26-19-59-01-31_e80eb31669cc7edfbce1531f4d25a535.jpg

As of the moment, I am waiting for the 3.2 version update. In this version, Nahida (the Dendro Archon) will finally be a playable character and I can finally access her story! Well, there are many more things to look forward to in the game (Scaramouch) and I can’t wait to reach the endgame!

Other than Genshin Impact, I’ve recently (I’ve been playing it for two weeks now) been hooked up to another miHoYo developed and published game; Tears of Themis. Now this one I saw while scrolling Hoyolab (the online community for the players of miHoYo games).


Source: finalweapon.net

(Starring the Main Characters; [from left to right] Luke Pearce, Marius von Hagen, Female MC, Artem Wing and Vyn Ritcher)

Unlike Genshin Impact, Tears of Themis is a detective adventure of love and wits. The main story is delivered in a visual novel format (like Gal Games). The main character is a lawyer so the stories revolve around investigating cases, searching crime scenes and interrogating NPCs who are involved. Each chapter ends with a trial in a court in which the player must present evidence that will prove their defendant innocent and win the case. In this game, I really have to pay attention to the evidence I’ve gathered throughout the chapter.

Other than the stories, debates are the only way to battle in the game. The debates play out in card battle format using the cards collected in the gacha system (yes, this one is still monetized but just like Genshin Impact, the player can be really patient to not spend money on it). Each card has an attribute; Logic, Empathy, and Intuition. Source: Wikipedia


Untitled design (3).png

(Cropped photos taken in-game from my account but it was collaged in Canva.com)

The cards can be leveled up to increase attribute stats, or have their skills’ levels increased by gathering the materials needed. The cards also gain experience when being used during debates.

The romance side of the gameplay is shown through side stories. The MC is involved with four male leads; Vyn, Artem, Luke, and Marius. In the main storyline, they usually show up as partners in each case and it’s their cards that are needed to face a debate.


Untitled design (4).png

(Few of the cards available for debates and the male leads. Also collaged in Canva.)

For Tears of Themis, I haven’t gotten far with the story yet actually. I’m still at Level 31 and I really need to level up my cards and/or gain more if I want to win my debates and lawsuits. Now, why did I decide to download this game despite my busy schedule and maybe crashing my phone? Simple, the Japanese VAs.

I really love this specific Japanese voice actor, Kaji Yuki. I’ve known him since Attack on Titan (he voiced the Japanese dub for Eren Yaeger) and Seven Deadly Sins (as Meliodas). He’s also in Magi (Alibaba) and My Hero Academia (Todoroki Shoto). They’re all some of my favorite anime. When I found out he’s in Tears of Themis (the Japanese VA of Luke Pearce), I immediately went and downloaded the game! Other than him, the game’s line-up of male lead VAs is some of my favorites! Jun Fukuyama (Assassination Classroom’s Koro-sensei) voices Dr. Vyn Ritcher, Junichi Suwabe (Jujutsu Kaisen’s Ryomen Sukuna) voices Artem Wing, and Kaito Ishikawa (Haikyuu!’s Kageyama Tobio) voices Marius von Hagen.

At first, I was in for the VAs, but then I found out the game is actually also really good and engaging. My level 1 detective skills are definitely gaining some experience (hahaha!). I’m very satisfied at the moment.

For me these two games are definitely worth it!

Playing games is not bad per se. In my circumstances, it’s my stress reliever and enjoyment in those short moments of free time. I’m not saying “Go, you should play games!” or something. No. All I’m saying is that one should find the proper time to play. Time management is also important you know? So perhaps, in your busy schedule, you can find time to relax and play.

How about you? Are there any mobile games you like?

Note: The rest of the pics with no sources are mine.

Sort:  

Wow! I thought you were only a bookworm! Never thought you are a gamer as well. I think the characters of this game is something I would be drawn to try it out.

I was really surprised when I really liked the game miss @indayclara. I never thought I'd be someone who will be obsessed with it at the same level as novels and anime. 😅😅🤣🤣

I'm not into mobile gaming but this one arouse my interest to try some other time. Aside from the elements (Genshin Impact) are somewhat like in the literature, the gods and goddesses and their power, it can also make you relax, entertain and learn at the same time.

Yes @missleray ! The stories and legends within the game are definitely worthwhile! As a fan of literature I definitely really love it!!!

After reading this, I realized how advanced now when it comes to gaming. Before in my teenage years, I used to be a fan of the Snake game on a keypad phone🤣 This game is a lot more complicated however it is more engaging and entertaining though.

I guess your gaming ability is superb to be able to master every complex detail of the game. You are something, I believe you have an above-average level of intellect.

Lastly, I commend you @nichebezarius for managing your time despite your busy schedule.

Thank you @ciadanmea . I did not expect it as well since I never really liked video games in my younger years. Well that and I never understood it. But I guess its patience and lots of guidance from Guide Videos from Youtube. 🤣🤣🤣

Not a gamer nor an anime lover but the compelling way of describing this game is amazing! You did a great job @nichebezarius! Thank you for this. See you around.

Thank you @itsmetim . I also agree that you don't need to be a gamer or to like anime to appreciate stuff like this too.

I couldn't agree more! Actually, thinking of giving it a try.☺

Ooh! Please do! Whether you like something or not, it's good to give it a try first!

Haha yes Lumine's twin brother is very hot 😆

I use Kazuha in basically all my Genshin Impact teams, definitely one of my beloved characters. I have Yae as well, her character design is my favourite in the game so far 🤩

Very interesting reading about your experience on Genshin Impact. Goodluck on Xiao's banner! Hopefully his rerun comes asap 🤞

Thank you very much! Kazuha is actually good for both as support and main damage because of the nature of his vision. I heard Yae Miko's banner will return for the Phase 2 of the version 3.2, I hope I can finally C6 her by then. 😅😅😅

Yes, everyone likes games when we are young, but as we get older we get bored.

It depends to be honest @ahleap , but I can see your point. 😅

Mhmm, for the record I don't watch anime nor play anime games, but there's something on this post that lets me read the story. 😊 I am curious about the characters, and how the creator of this game arrived at this amazing background of the characters. and the visuals! 🧐 I think this is a good pastime given that one should have a cellphone with Huge Volume Storage and of course strong and stable internet connection. 😊

Thanks for letting us see a glimpse of your world @nichebezarius.😊

The story itself is actually really interesting and well written @callmesmile . As an aspiring writer, I want to pull off something like that. 🤣🤣🤣

Congratulations @nichebezarius! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Take the Keychain Survey and get your Future Shaper badge
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-10 - Winners List
Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

My daughter wants to play this game but its 13gmb its too big.

The storage can be a hassle @dehai and the phones also have to be high performance so there will be no problems when playing.

Yooo I've also been playing Genshin alot lately, I started when it was launched in my country but wasn't really active until around Feb this year. So far i only bought 1 welkin so mostly free to play!
Though i mostly play on pc because my phone gets really hot when playing Genshin haha
My uid is 804857183, if youre on asia server feel free to add me and we can play together sometime!

Oh my gosh! Another Genshin player! I'd love to add you as a friend in the game! My UID is in the screenshots and my username is Niche! I look forward to doing Co-Ops with you!