Trying out Dwarf Fortress Adventure Mode [Beta]

in Hive Gaming10 days ago


20240418224456_1.jpg

It's Time For Adventure!

Actually, it has been time for adventure for a few days - this mode arrived on the Beta branch on the 17th, but I've just been busy and haven't had time to sit down and write about my gaming.

This is a hotly anticipated mode, which rounds out the Fortress and Legends modes already in the game, and provides us the ability to drill down and take control of a single character or a party of characters.

When you select Adventure mode, you begin an adventure in an existing world and you're greeted with a character creation screen.

Our first step is to choose our species:
20240418214804_1.jpg

Of course, we can pick any of the normal expected species (dwarf, elf, goblin, human), but we also get the option to pick a huge range of intelligent creatures like Leopard Men, Lion Men, Elephant Men, Moose Men... it's a pretty huge list!

For my first character, I thought I'd tinker around with a Dwarf, since I'm totally new to this mode.

Here, I'm picking the culture he's a part of:

20240418215338_1.jpg

With our choice of The Bolt of Shadow, we now have to pick an actual home-town, occupation, and our beliefs:

20240418215505_1.jpg

We pick a Hunter so that we have a few combat-specific skills given to us.

20240418215621_1.jpg

And, then it's on to our Stats - because I picked the easiest mode, I've got quite a lot of skill points to assign.

20240418215827_1.jpg

Disease Resistance is pretty important, as is strength... so I spend a lot of my points on abilities that will help in combat and adventure (you can see Abilities on the Left section of the screenshot above). I then pick a handful of skills to drop some points into (on the Right side of the screenshot).

One notable skill you'll want to snag is Reading. If you plan to read anything at any time as an adventurer, you have to put at least one tick into that skill, because if you start being unable to read, there's no way to learn that skill.

Most other skills can be learned naturally, but reading is NOT one of them. So, keep that in mind.

Now it's time to pick our appearance, which is super cool because this beta branch now includes Portraits!

20240418220434_1.jpg

We also can tweak our personality, to help make it easier to fulfill our characters needs and wants:

Default:
20240418220437_1.jpg

Reroll 1:

20240418220623_1.jpg

Reroll 2:

20240418220843_1.jpg

And with all that, it's time to adventure!

20240418221906_1.jpg

We begin in our home, ready to set off into the wide world.

20240418221911_1.jpg

A lot of adventure mode is just walking around and checking stuff out:
20240418223622_1.jpg

But there are ways to move more quickly over the map through Travel mode:

20240418223933_1.jpg

I haven't gotten very far yet, but I've experimented with both a dwarf and a goblin, and I'm really enjoying the experience so far.

20240423163101_1.jpg

It's neat to be able to walk around and talk to folks and pick stuff up... learn about stuff happening in the world and head off to adventures.

I've yet to get into any fights, so I'm hoping to do that soon. I want to record a bit of this so folks get a better idea how it actually plays, as screenshots don't really give you an accurate representation.

So far it's very fun!

image.png

image.png
Join the Worldbuilding Community!

Sort:  

I downloaded the game but I've never had the courage to start playing it, seems veeery complicated.
By the way have you heard about the bug that make the cats die on the bars? It explains how complex is the game indeed😅😅😅

It is, yes... But it's also the most fun I've had while dying and failing in ages. I learn something new with every fortress, and am able to try new things as I get more familiar with the game.

I forgot I bought the game on Steam and then never played it because it's so complicated lol

It does take a bit of getting used to... But shit man, you deep dive on how crazy complex shit works all the time. Compared to some of the stuff you've looked at, DF is a walk in the park! 😂

 9 days ago  

Looks like an interesting title. I will read more about it. Thank you for sharing!

It's a very fun and in depth city builder/colony sim... Now with adventure mode! :D

 10 days ago  

I had seen this video game once but I had never paid attention to it, it really looks fun and has a little style that I like, I'll see how this game is.

I really like it, it's complex but a lot of fun

when you're a miner, there's nothing that's finer.. 😉😊🎶🎵