Hunting at night and completing some side missions | theHunter: Call of the Wild

in Hive Gaming10 months ago

Hello, gamers. Welcome back to my blog.





theHunter: Call of the Wild has left a powerful impression on me, I never liked simulators but this hunting simulator has completely changed my perspective on this genre. Next time when a friend suggests me to play a random simulator, I might give it a try.

Anyways, I have been hunting with Bows and getting good at it. Today, I decided to go back to one of the classic maps, the Laton Lakes. This map is perfect for all deer lovers as you will find Whitetail, Blacktails, Roosevelt Elk and Moose. But for a newbie it can be difficult to hunt in as the entire map is covered with thick vegetation, making it harder to spot animals. And you risk spooking animals with your footsteps even before you can see or hear them.

That was the reason I rarely went back to this map and there are still a lot of campaign missions and many side missions left to do. Well, it's time to take a look at them and see if I can do a couple.


One of the difficult missions was harvesting a Whitetail or Blacktail deer at night. And this has to be done near Cheelah Lake. I had already been to that lake before at nighttime but I didn't have scope or night vision binoculars at that time so I couldn't see sh*t. But now that I have one I can hopefully hunt down a deer.

I reached the lake and heard some animal calls, I knew I was near a small group of deer. I equipped my trusted bow and approach very slowly towards the direction of the calls.


A small doe peaked her head just over the grasses and she was on high alert. So, I had to draw out my weapon and shot her quickly.


I forgot to even switch my arrows and it was an overkill. I missed the lungs, heart and other vital organs but managed to get the Spine which is an instant kill from this overpowered bow and arrow.

Even though I failed to get all the harvest checks on this animal, this completed my mission to harvest a deer at night. I thought it would take much longer time but the deer found me before I found them. xD

I saw an incomplete hunting structure and completed it to stand there and spot animals around the lake.


It was a fairly big lake and bound to have an animal there. Most lakes have drinking zones for animals to drink for a specific period. I was not sure if I will find anyone at this time of the night.


I did find one, a big blacktail male who is travelling away from me. He was all along which is quite rare for this species. I used my night vision binoculars to spot him and while the spotting outline is still there, I quickly switched to my 7mm rifle and took the shot.


A missed the lungs and liver and shot just behind those. I did not compensate for the movement of the deer well. Anyways, this would have been gold had I hit a vital organ but silver is enough. Look at the antlers on this one. Impressive! right?



The next mission I took was from Colton "DOC", he wanted me to head to Balmont Lake and take down an animal from at least 75 meters away. I didn't think it was a challenge.


Baltmore Lake was just 500 meters from where I was, so I sprinted towards it spooking all the animals in my way. I switched back to walking as I was close to the lake so it won't scare off animals.

I used my callers to call in animals, I had three different callers and I used each of them and waited patiently. The weather was foggy so my binoculars were not giving me clear vision but I saw a Blacktail walking towards me.


I quickly took the shot as I had to take the shot from at least 75 meters away and she was coming towards me constantly. I aimed for the heart but missed it by just a fraction. But a lung shot was enough from my powerful rifle.


I went there and harvested my kill which completed this easy mission as well. I could have done it in the day, which would be super easy. But the night does make even the easiest challenges a little difficult.



I travelled back to the outpost and rested there to skip the time. I don't like to hunt in the dark. I woke up to a beautiful morning. Perfect weather to hunt.


I was walking along the edge of a river and looking for deer and Moose. I heard some calls from the distance so rather than going towards it I decided to call them in. I had a "bleet deer caller" which can attract Whitetails, Blacktails and Sika deer from 150 meters away. I patiently waited under a tree hidden from the eyes of my prey.


Soon, there was a small group close to me. The first ones to approach were smaller Does while Bucks were more careful and did not come close. I had a perfect shot.


While she jumped and died in the water, others just ran away. She scared them all and that's when I decided to call it for the day.


There are still many missions left to do in this map and I will complete them slowly but surely. I think this map is very underrated and deserves much more love than it gets.

Thanks for reading...

Until next time...



Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Hive gaming text divider from Raizel posted in Hivegaming Discord Server.
  • Screenshots are from the game, theHunter: Call of the Wild.



I am part of these awesome communities/servers on Hive. Please, feel free to join.


Click on the banner to join


Click on the banner to join

Sort:  

The truth is that the game looks pretty good, I haven't seen a well done simulator for a long time, even more with this topic, I really liked it. I also liked the way you narrate what happened, greetings.

 10 months ago  

I can vouch for this one. If you have a little patience (especially af the start) then you will love this one.
Thanks for the kind words, greetings...brother. 🙏

Greetings and Namaste bhai saheb, I'm glad it's only a game. Varnashrama dharma decries animal slaughter unless you are really hungry or a soldier training for war, like Arjuna. What is your perception of reality where you enjoy killing like this? I struggle to comprehend the concept.

 10 months ago  

Namaste bhai... First of all let me trll you I am a vegetarian So, I fon't enjoy killing animals and earing them in tofays world even when you have all those alternatives.
Secondly, it's just a game...I think you struggle to comprehend the concept of Gaming. We kills ranfom NPCs in game not because we think they are humans but because it's just a game at the end.

Also, how is slaughtering an animal in war and in Yagyas is justified? You must have heard/read abou the Ashwamedh yagyas, where hundreds of animals were killed. How is that justified brother? You can find refernce in both ramayan and mahabharata.

Also, in Mahabharata you will find hunting being performed mearly as a game(Arjuna included). I struggle to comprehend that too.

Anyways, brother...thanks for assuming a lot of things about my personal choice by just a video game.

Namaste 🙏

Namaste dear sir, yes I see from the start that it is a game, so I understand that completely. That's fine. I enjoy gaming, on Hive especially.

As vegetarians we are brothers in spirit. Killing is not justified and no one likes war. However, in my studies of Veda, I have heard that the kshatriyas like Arjuna were allowed to practice archery by shooting animals. I could be wrong though. I am not in a position to find fault with the Vedic culture as I don't know the details. If Krishna spoke it via Vyasadeva, then I accept it.

In Ashwamedha yajna, indeed animals like horses were offered into the fire of sacrifice. However, in previous yuga the priest was able to revive the animal and so it was never meant to be killed. The priests were more powerful and could bring the animal out of the fire in a better body. There was no killing of animals in the original Ashwamedha sacrifice. Forgive me if I came across negatively, I am a humble student of Veda with very little insight.

I respect you highly for your vegetarian lifestyle bhai.
Wishing you all the best.

Good shot dude, I don't know how you take screenshots, but maybe you can share with us a short video of the exact moment you hunt the animals.

 10 months ago  

I tried to record too but my potato PC can hardly run the game. So, I have to make the quality of both game and video super low. That's why I resort to screenshots only.

But I can try again with lower graphics and maybe I can do some commentary along.

(I take pictures using the ingame camera and sometimes with the default steam's screengrab button F12)

But I can try again with lower graphics and maybe I can do some commentary along.

That would be great. Just try it and maybe it works well

Wow, I still remember when I played it a few months ago, hunting at night was terrible, for example I hated it, but the thrill is greater, and the precision has to be accurate, otherwise F.

 10 months ago  

Exactly, not at all easy at night, especially if you don't have night vision scopes.

Have you played more? Maybe I can teach you a few things in an online multiplayer session?