Hunting Bisons with a Handgun in beautiful Hirschfeldon reserve | theHunter: Call of the Wild

in Hive Gaming11 months ago

Hello, gamers. Welcome back to my blog.





I am getting back to regularly playing theHunter: Call of the Wild. It is one of the best hunting simulation games I have ever played. The game comes with a lot of additional reserves in the form of DLCs and each one of them lets you experience a unique part of the part with its unique set of species and landscapes to explore.

I don't own a lot of DLC maps but one of the most beautiful reserves in the game is Hirschfleden and I do own this reserve. When I saw the trailer video of this, I knew I am getting it. This looks so beautiful and has a lot of variety of animals to hunt here. However, the population of those animals is rather sparse especially when it comes to deer and some parts of the maps are difficult to hunt in, considering the fact a large part of the reserve is covered with dense forest. This makes hunting more challenging and fun at the same time.


Anyways, when I logged into my game I saw an interesting side mission given by Mr. Bhandari, who is closely researching about the local Bison population here. He had a unique mission for us.

We have to go to the Bridge of Ernsdorf and hunt a Bison in this specific area with a handgun.

There are many constraints here, like the area is relatively small and you have to be inside this area while you hunt and harvest the Bison. But downing it with a mere Handgun is going to be the most challenging.

You see, I had never shot an animal with a Handgun before. Maybe a rabbit once but nothing else. I am exclusively using rifles to shoot everything. Perhaps this is a good excuse to learn to shoot with a Handgun.


I bought the .44 Wildcat Magnum as the most powerful one the Rhino 454 was locked and to unlock I need a Handgun score of more than 3200. This is going to take a lot of hunting from handguns before I can unlock this. Maybe one day.

It was a bright afternoon and I left my outpost to find that Bridge. I was hoping I will get the chance to use this on an animal on my way.


Suddenly, the weather completely changed and it became cloudy and with clouds came fog and rain. I found a good hunting spot and there was an unfinished hunting structure so I spent some money and built it. It gave a much better view of that meadow but there was no animal in sight.


I heard a Red Deer's call as I was close to the Bridge. It was travelling and I wanted to use my handgun only so I had to get much closer. I could have easily taken the shot from 110 meters but I didn't want to take a risk with the handgun. There was no scope on that and it gets difficult to take shots on moving targets.


Turned out I was late and the deer vanished behind those trees. I looked around for tracks but they were going to the right and my destination was up ahead. I gave up and went to the Bridge.

This was a tall drystone bridge.


I heard the Bison calls coming from the bank of the river. I slowly came down to the base of the river while making sure not to startle those. It was a big herd of Bisons drinking water and my presence alerted them.


The wind was blowing towards them which would have given my location away so I applied the scent eliminator. They do seem to work but not so much which is more realistic I guess.

When I felt I was close enough I took the shot. I hit one of the smaller females in the hope of taking her down easily. But when I checked the blood splatter I only hit a non-vital organ. This should mean I have to track the animal down over a long distance.


I followed the blood trail. I didn't bring my bloodhound with me to avoid spooking animals unnecessarily. I found the carcass and harvested it. But this didn't complete my mission. As I was out of the area marked on the map.


I went back to the Bridge, and this time I captured a nice shot of the bridge. It is a tall structure and looks beautiful.


I waited for the animals to return back to the river to drink water. This was a test of my patience. After some time I saw a small female Roe deer who came to drink water. I was not taking any chances this time and used my 7 mm magnum rifle.


I tried to hit the heart shot but missed it. Even though I missed the vital organ, I didn't have to track it down for long to harvest it.


While I was just getting back to that bridge to get a better view of the surrounding area. A Bison came charging at me. He was pissed and aggressive. This was a golden opportunity for me and I used my handgun and fired many shots one after another. The Bison managed to hit me a couple of times and my health meter was at half. This Bison was not running away so I got multiple shots and finally it dropped dead.


I hit many shots and one of them hit the Liver which did most of the damage finally I managed to complete this difficult mission given by Mr Bhandari. That guy's mission is getting harder and harder.


I still need to do a lot of practice with Handguns. I should try to hunt rabbits and other small animals first and try to improve the handgun score so I can unlock some handgun sights and more powerful guns. In any case, I am enjoying every session of this well-made game.

Thanks for reading...

Until next time...



Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Hive gaming text divider from Raizel posted in Hivegaming Discord Server.
  • Screenshots are from the game, theHunter: Call of the Wild.



I am part of these awesome communities/servers on Hive. Please, feel free to join.


Click on the banner to join


Click on the banner to join

Sort:  

Everytime I watch a gameplay or read a blog about this post with full of screenshots like yours, the graphics of this game amaze me.

Is this vision for your to understand which part you should shoot for a confirm kill? And that pink area is the liver part that you damaged, right? It looks like the Bison ate a whole jackfruit or something like that haha.

Do you see your character in this game?

 11 months ago (edited) 

Hi, you can change it to this vision after you harvest the dead animal. This can be seen only on the harvest screen and not while you hunt.

Yes, this tells you where the bullet hit the animal and which organ was hit.

And that pink area is the liver part that you damaged, right?
Yes Liver and stomach as well. Since Liver is considered a vital organ so the animal will die if you hit liver. (heart, lungs liver, brains, neck bone are the most lethal shots) I try to hit the lungs almost everytime, they are big and not too hard to hit.

Do you see your character in this game?
No, can't see my character like this. This screen can be seen after the animal is dead and you harvest it only.

Look at the anatomy of Roe Deer. I missed my shot (tried to shoot the lungs) but hit the back leg. Since this shot didn't deal a lot of damage I had to track this deer for almost 500 meters by following the blood trails.

I love the graphics as well. Thanks for checking out my post. Cheers!

Thanks for the reply. Sounds interesting. Cheers.

It is one of the best hunting simulation games I have ever played.

And it is one of the best hunting simulation games I have ever witnessed.

Congrats for getting that Bison down and yes I also think you need to practice more.

So, welcome back in playing theHunter regularly.

@tipu curate 10

 11 months ago  

Thank you so much for the support and appreciation. I play other games as well. But I love this one... once you launch it you don't want to end haha.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 6.41% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

Congratulations @pravesh0! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List